We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Show Prices
#10 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 398: English reviews
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 9:15pm on a Saturday to find every parking place taken, with many cars parked on curbs and in grassy areas. After parking across the street, we found the check-in desk to be quite friendly and apologetic for the inconvenience. Room was standard Holiday Inn.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings Bryan M, Thank you for your honest review. We admit that there are times when our hotel is full to capacity and parking can be a bit snug when we have large events however we appreciate your patience with us and are pleased to hear that our staff welcomed you warmly and took care of you during your stay... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Stayed here with my wife during a visit to Roanoke and enjoyed this hotel. Check in was easy and fast. Our room was fully equipped with fridge & microwave and was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. The view of mountains from our window was enjoyable. The Elephant Walk restaurant offered an excellent breakfast with choice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dwtilford
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings Dwtilford, Thank you for your generous review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was thoroughly enjoyed while in Roanoke. We welcome your positive review and your feedback about our restaurant. You will be pleased to know that our hotel has plans for renovations coming up in the next year and we are excited to invite you back... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I almost wanted to hug and kiss the two handsome young men at check-in. I had just been creeped out at a different hotel and booked this room literally from the parking lot of the creepy hotel (see earlier review). First things first: major props for whomever is responsible for staffing. I felt incredibly welcomed - as if they were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CoolYule
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings CoolYule, Thank you so much for your thorough and generous review. We are thrilled to hear that our front desk staff made you feel welcome and safe when you arrived. Here at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood each guest is like a family member and we strive to make sure each guest feels at home here. Our staff also take... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We were here for an associations annual event. The hotel staff was excellent in providing what was needed to make the event successful. The weather was rainy the entire time so all guests were wandering the hotel and they couldn't have been more gracious. One thing that kept me from eating higher was the meal served at our banquet. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana M
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings Diana M, Than you for your rave review. We certainly enjoyed having your group here with us even though the weather wasn't ideal. We appreciate your review of our staff and of our hotel. In regards to the meal quality, your feedback is certainly valued and will be discussed with our team. We welcome you back as our guest... More 

Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I have been staying at this hotel for about 6-7 mos, 1 time per month, and find there is not enough handicapped parking, especially at the front entrance. I have previously complained and it fell on deaf ears. I shattered my ankle several years ago and have trouble walking distances, especially with carrying luggage. I don't think the General Manager,... More 

Helpful?
Thank pfb1952
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings pfb1952, Thank you for your thorough review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve in service. According to ADA requirements we are in compliance with the number of handicap parking spaces required per entrance. We apologize that all of our handicap spaces were filled during your stay and that you had to... More 

Dobbs Ferry, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The hotel is clean and well situated, but it is the extraordinary staff that makes this a special place. From booking to checkout, everyone went the extra mile to help and be courteous, especially Amber, who works behind the front desk.

Helpful?
Thank bawolfson
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings bawolfson, Thank you for your generous review. We appreciate you taking the time to not only review your experience but to recognize our staff, in particular, Amber. We take pride in providing exceptional service to each and every guest. We know that you have many choices when staying in Roanoke but we hope our staff, service, and great location... More 

Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Had many phone conversations with Ginger Stepp.. She was so helpful and pleasant to help us run soomthy. Our guests came from many different states...The front desk was a helpful over the weekend with our guests/ 29 rooms and hospitality room!! My husband and I stood at this hotel went visiting the area and will again.. The restaurant staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisa592
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings Elisa592, Thank you very much for your rave review. We are so thrilled that you not only enjoyed your stay during the wedding weekend but that our staff was accommodating every step of the way. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and welcome you back anytime as our guest here in Roanoke. Sincerely, Jamie Misztalski Front Office Manager More 

Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Our group has used this hotel and its facilities for the past few years to host a large conference. Workshop/Training rooms, though a little on the smaller side, are decorated nicely and accommodate approximately 80 people in each (total of 4 rooms). The ballroom is very large and clean. The staff is always extremely professional, friendly, and extremely accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank DHRamsey
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings DHRamsey, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that our meeting/banquet facilities meet your needs and your loyalty does not go unnoticed. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help you set up your next event. Sincerely, Jamie Misztalski Front Office Manager More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood on a business trip. The check in was completed quickly and efficiently. The person who checked up in was pleasant and friendly. The lobby was very clean and inviting with comfortable chairs grouped together which made talking with my co-workers easy. The room was very large and comfortable. The beds, bedding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings Linda C, Thank you for your stellar review! We appreciate you taking the time to thoroughly rate our rooms and amenities. We are thrilled that your stay met and exceeded your expectations. Please let us know the next time you are in Roanoke as we would love another opportunity to have you as our guest. Sincerely, Jamie Misztalski Front... More 

Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Beds were somewhat comfortable. Sheets worn looking. Carpet worn looking. Bathroom dirty. Dust all along baseboard tiles. Front of tub on outside of tub dirty. Hair on and inside of tub. Wallpaper coming away from wall. Lampshade on night stand had holes in it. While on 1st floor. Worn carpet, wallpaper coming away from the walls. Staff was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank CindySG429
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review

Greetings CindySG429, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We are disappointed that you did not feel comfortable with the condition of our hotel and the cleanliness of the room. With feedback like yours it helps to know what is important to our guests and what... More 

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
14.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.7 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.7 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range: RM413 - RM560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staff is extremely nice.”
 of 5 bubbles F7955EKjackl, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the front of the hotel offer great views.”
 of 5 bubbles Dwtilford, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are walking challenged, ask for a room near the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles pfb1952, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“5th floor quiet. King beds awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles markcannell184, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we haven't had any bad room in this property. it is also pet friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles NicoleR182, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay