We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Grundy, Virginia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In town for a family event at the Roanoke Civic Center . Top notch Hotel and Staff. Perfect for Civic Center activities. Breakfast was wonderful. We had two rooms, our requests were honored. and we would Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwgfsp
Reviewed 1 week ago

The heating system in the room was hard to adjust. We ended up turning on the air conditioning to the lowest setting and high fan. It did cool down after that but left on heat it was sweltering. The room was ok, nothing fancy. Location isn't the best and I wouldn't walk from here to downtown at night. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you were having problems with you air conditioner. We have never had any problems with walking downtown, guests do it all the time, it's just a short 20 minute walk to get there. Our hotel is centrally located in Roanoke, it makes it very easy to...

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was one of the more pleasant hotel stays we have had. Immediately upon arriving we were greeted by friendly hotel staff who asked us if we needed help finding anything in the area. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good as far as free continental breakfasts go. The attendant kept up with the food and kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheWellnessWife
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We love to treat our guests like you are home when you stay with us, and it looks like it shows. Please do come back to visit soon and check out all the Roanoke Valley has to offer. Happy Holidays, Crystal H

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked into this hotel and the staff were very friendly and professional, one of the staff was new and she advised us which would clear up any confusion on our part, the other staff member was very knowledgeable, and familiar with the area. Breakfast was what we expected but convenient for travelling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh N
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you went downtown, such a great place to visit and so many restaurants to choose from. Please do come back to visit us soon, we will have those chocolate chip cookies waiting. Sincerely, Crystal H

Greensboro
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ice machine leaking on 2nd floor. Also the hallway was very smoky. Very close to the civic center and breakfast was good. Staff members were pretty friendly. The price was decent, but definitely needs some repairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellac21
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review. The ice machine leaking was not a good day, someone had tampered with it and had water just pouring out. Thank goodness we were able to fix it. Please don't let this stop you from coming back to visit us, we take great pride in treating our guests like you are at...

Lewisville, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to Roanoke for weekend get away, decided to stay at his hotel since it was close to the center of town. Overall the stay was good, the staff was very nice and attentive. Very disappointed in the lobby area, not very inviting to meet with our friends before leaving or coming back from dinner. The breakfast area could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Crystal...

Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean and comfortable. Staff was was extremely friendly and helpful. We went for a concert at the Berglund Center which was right around the corner, so this was a nice convenient location. Price was right and their breakfast was a nice way to start the day. We would definitely stay here again if we come to see another show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 403emilep
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review. We take great pride in the comfort of our guests while you are staying with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Don't you just love how close we are to the Berglund Center, just a short 7 to 10 minute walk and your there. Please do...

Southern u.s
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was clean. The staff was very helpful. We asked for directions and was given a map and brochure. The location is ideal, just off the interstate. Breakfast was your standard fare but was statifying. I would recommend this hotel as a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nana23
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and do hope you come back to visit soon. Please make sure to check out what our Roanoke Valley has to offer, so many things to do. Sincerely, Crystal H Assistant Manager

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Walked up to the desk and was offered fresh baked cookies and a bottle of water. The rest of our time there was just as great as the first few minutes. As usual friendly people, clean room, comfortable bed and good selection of food ready for a traveler to grab a bite and go. So now we have 2 stops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make you feel like your at home when you are staying with us. Don't you just love Black Dog Salvage, they are such great guys. We do hope you come back to visit soon, we will have those chocolate...

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean room, Stayed Friday night after an event at Bergland. 5 minutes to Civic Center, 5 minutes to downtown market, shops and restaurants. Convenient location right off 581, good breakfast, really nice staff and night security. 5 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlewis3838
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much for your kind words. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Don't you just love how close we are to everything. Please do come back to visit soon, we will have those chocolate chip cookies waiting. Sincerely, Crystal H Assistant Manager

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.9 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
694 reviews
8.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 13.3% Tax rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd NW, Roanoke, VA 24016-1409
Region: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Price Range: RM426 - RM594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a king room with a whirlpool tub, located on the first floor, front side of the hotel. It was quiet both nights we were there.”
 of 5 bubbles math48teach, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No issues that we are aware of.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC117, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the back of the hotel, it's really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles katz4catz, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back are quieter and away from the main highway.”
 of 5 bubbles 520joanh, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe that all the rooms have A/C. Our room was in the front area and it was quiet to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles sparkylynnen, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay