We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Frederick House

Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Frederick House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Frederick House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 280: English reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Staff was rude and always seemed pit out if you asked them for any help. Owners always acted as though they would be more interested in doing anything but helping you with anything else. A half-hearted attempt to be a nice B&B

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apasseyfam
hopkinsetc, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

We have requested information from this person about when they were here. We do not have enough information in this review to respond adequately. We are not aware pf anyone staying af Frederick House being treated in a rude or unfriendly manner or receiving poor service.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 18 September 2011

"We would appreciate it if you don't bring your children to breakfast." This is what we were told by the owners of this hotel not moments after one of the owner "shushed" our child and gave him a dirty look. Yes we had children with us, however they were amazingly well behaved. True they didn't whisper at breakfast, but neither...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Eric S
hopkinsetc, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

These Frederick House guests made an online reservation for two people. One person checked in for this reservation. I took this person his room and showed him where to park his car for convenient unloading. He declined my offer to assist with his luggage. The next morning we were suprised when four adults and four children appeared for breakfast from...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I like old Inns, that are a little bit chipped around the edges, but Frederick House seems to have gone a bit too far in that direction. I've heard good things about the place in years past, and I can tell that it was very nice fairly recently. Nothing I can put my finger on, but it just seems like...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SANDJ52
hopkinsetc, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review

We have owned Frederick House for 28 years and are proud of our record of being open for guests every day for 28 years. We greet our guests when they register and serve breakfast to them each morning. Evy prepares and plates all of our breakfasts. Our enthusiasm for our business has not waned. Frederick House is not for sale....

Arlington, MA
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our son's wedding was in Harrisonburg and we hosted our California family at Frederick House. It was an incredible experience. There were 23 of us. We took over Cochran and Patrick House and used the living room in Cochran house for nightly gathering place. We had a terrific time.! The rooms were wonderful as was the maid service. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisCN1
Harrisburg, NC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Maine. i found this place from my GPS search of local hotels in Staunton. We were very pleasantly surprised to find this lovely inn. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spacious, clean, had plenty of towels, free wifi and extremely comfortable. The breakfast, included in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank metrochik
MOORE, SC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

They upgraded me from Young 23 to a Womack suite at no extra charge. Room was spacious, luxurious, quiet, with pillowtop bed. Plenty of hot water and location ideal for walking around Staunton, with historic district just a block away. Even on Sunday, excellent restaurants are open. The breakfast was gourmet, plentiful and delicious. Handy free parking. Joe and Evy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TRAVELTIME78
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Very neat and clean family run place 15 min from end of skyline drive. A couple really nice modern places to eat around the corner. So glad we came here and didnt settle for a motel by the highway. Great!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BethlehemPaUSA
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We spent 2 days here recently and will recommend it to everyone! The room was great, the breakfasts superb, and Joe and Evy were gracious and fun to talk with. They can give you lots of tips on things to do while in Staunton and are a very interesting couple. I wasn't aware that I could package tickets for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crouses1
Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We arrived into Staunton mid-day, hot and tired. We were so surprised and pleased to learn that we were allowed to check in early. The room was like a haven after having been to a number of so-so inns and B&B's on our trip. Very very sparkly clean and comfortable. Very obvious they take that very seriously. Service was great,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea A
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I booked a Shakespear Show Package with the Frederick House, which includes a night stay, free breakfasts, and two tickests of Macbeth at the Blackfriars Playhouse. Everything went very well and I will highly recommend the Frederick House to all my friends. First of all, Frederick House has a very good location and offers free parking to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pixie_PA

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 km away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
4.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
191 reviews
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
760 reviews
0.3 km away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Price Range: RM748 - RM796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frederick House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Frederick House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth it to get the second tier rooms - much more space and only $10 more per night”
530edh, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't miss the breakfast. Depending on which building you're in you may need to walk to it but it is definitely worth it!”
97lynq, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a suite in the Patrick house if available.”
sncathome, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The Inn's website gives a pretty good description of the rooms so there's a good choice to accommodate your taste.”
RicVafoodie, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Patrick House was great. Room 35 has nice windows.”
jess65456, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates