We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
US$98
View deal
Expedia.com
US$98
View deal
Tapestry
US$96
View deal
PricelineUS$98
StayForLong
Lol.travelUS$121
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (547)
Room & Suite (371)
Dining (107)

About

#41 of 117 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Patio
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Waterslide
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Bulgarian and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1769Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 805
  • 428
  • 243
  • 150
  • 143
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Beverly A wrote a review 10 Nov
Celebration, FL9 contributions2 helpful votes
This venue needs to improve its facility maintenance and staffing! The meager staff on-site is unable to keep up with the amount of events that are booked. The facility resembled a post-party frat house throughout the weekend that the wedding we attended was held - drink glasses and trash all over the public areas and it smelled like wet dog after the dog show that was hosted there a day before the wedding. We had to help bus our tables at the wedding reception since a number of the staff walked out due to an over-scheduled day of events. We were the last wedding of the day (there had been 2 others) and I overheard other wedding guests complaining about feeling rushed so that all the events could be accommodated. And to top it off, when we requested housekeeping service, we were handed a stack of bed linens.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
BeverlyA179, We are sorry that the trash was not cleaned up timely after our events. We had a lot of social events that weekend and we wanted everyone to have a great time and we should have done a better cleaning up. Of course it would be ideal if guests cleaned up after themselves, but ultimately it is our responsibility. We always have our entire hotel professionally cleaned after we host a dog show so you were smelling the clean carpet which takes a day to dry. The entire property was deep cleaned and ready for our social groups to enjoy the weekend. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
13Rugrats wrote a review Aug 2021
Cowden, Illinois12 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The hotel was nice. The buffet in the restaurant was great for breakfast and lunch. These were included in the conference we attended so I can’t comment on the cost for these. My only complaint was the hot tub wasn’t opened and the outdoor pool closed at dusk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 10 Aug 2021
13Rugrats, Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing your feedback with us. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Esther M wrote a review 6 Nov
1 contribution
We have booked the New Years Eve Gala twice before, and tried to do so again this year. We called in October and we called this month.. both times the person answering the phone was entirely unaware of the advertised Event. Did not know how to make our reservations nor had any idea who did. We were told that we would receive a call back- never did! Two days ago I called to make reservations for the Thanksgiving Dinner as advertised. Again, a clueless employee answered without the first idea of the event or how to make reservations! She left me on hold to get a manager. After waiting on the line for 7 plus minutes I hung up and we made other arrangements. Despite our better judgment, yesterday we decided to just book a Dinner for two on Years Eve and forgo the Gala. And what do you think? The employee answering the phone, again had no idea what I was asking about. No idea what The Founders Inn advertises online, nor the first idea how to make reservations. I’m shocked at the level of seriously unprofessional/uninformed staff. Are they not made aware at all of the events? And Customer Service over the phone? Or are the persons who answer the phones just utterly untrained & therefore simply incapable of answering questions and providing Customer Service? I’m sorry, but this is beyond unsatisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
L7111TGestherm, We honestly are not sure what happened here. We rolled out all of our holiday events to our staff and even have the information posted at every phone to the hotel. It is possible that your call was pick up by Hilton Central Reservations department and they would not be aware of on property events. Your feedback has lead to a lot of meetings and training sessions so we are taking this very seriously. We would love for you to still join us for one of our many events and I would be happy to assist you with making a reservation or answer any questions you might have. Please let me know how I can make this right and better assist you. Melissa Georges melissa.georges@foundersinn.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie K wrote a review 4 Nov
Bowling Green, Ohio, USA10 contributions1 helpful vote
We were here for a week for the English Setter National dog show. The rooms were huge, there was plenty of open space for crates, etc. perfect for traveling with pets. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen so many staff at a hotel keeping things clean and responding to needs. The large fenced dog yards were great for exercising the dogs. The only negatives were that the Swan Terrace only offered a buffet for all meals. The little snack area has the same food every day. I asked if it had Mayo on the wrap and she emphasized it did not, but it did.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Angie K, Thank you for sharing this feedback with us regarding your recent stay during the dog show. We really enjoyed hosting your group and we thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deanna G wrote a review Sep 2022
Stafford, Virginia3 contributions
+1
My husband had a business trip and I accompanied him. This is a lovely older property. The staff is kind and receptive to needs. The property itself is beautiful. The pools are well kept and the garden is peaceful and lovely. It’s a wonderful place to stay within a thirty minute drive of the beachfront.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Parking is free and easy and the location is easy to get to off of the interstate
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 Oct 2022
745deannag, We are so glad that you were able to join your husband for his business trip and enjoyed your time with us. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dal147 wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York16 contributions9 helpful votes
Room was horrible - dirty bathroom, lampshades were at least 30+ years old - stained and filthy, furniture was like something that sat in someone's attic for years, No bellhops to help with luggage - had to drag luggage out the back door and over a brick walk to get to the building where my horrible room was. The spa was nice - but not overly accommodating. Staff was rude and inept.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 26 Sep 2022
Dal147, Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. Over half of our rooms are completely renovated, but it appears that you were in one that has not been updated yet. We are planning on having all of our 245 rooms renovated by the end of the year so they will all have new furniture and be very impressive. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tatiana L wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions
I stay at many Hilton hotels due to my line of work and my loyalty to the brand, but I rarely ever feel this welcomed by hotel personnel. My special interaction began with Judith’s help in finding tea on property. She directed me to her coworker in the restaurant, Christa, who opened a neatly, organized tea box with at least 10 teas to choose from. Both greeted me with a warm smile and made me feel at home. This was all in addition to my spotless room and lovely experience in the salt water pool and spa. Founders went above and beyond in cleanliness, but overall FRIENDLINESS <3 Thanks ladies. Without knowing my Diamond Status, they treated me like Diamond.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 25 Sep 2022
Wyagirl, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always our goal to have our staff assist guest with anything they need during their stay. We are so glad to hear that we were able to get your tea. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room. We have a dedicated housekeeping team who works hard every day to make sure our room are clean. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Town wrote a review Sep 2022
11 contributions2 helpful votes
I wanted to like this hotel as it claims to be a Hilton managed property but sadly the quality and customer service are severely lacking. We had two rooms reserved and called to see if we could get an early check-in for one to drop bags and food, which normally can be done easily through the app, but was told it was impossible to know the night before. Luckily one of the rooms was ready early but was told we'd get texted when the second was ready. No texts, no communications, went back to the front desk at 4:30pm inquiring why we still couldn't get in. No apologies for their delays. In the meantime, the door of the other room broke and we couldn't get in. We made reservations for the shuttle for Friday, confirmed with multiple people and were left a voicemail that they were no longer able to provide us the shuttle. The manager dodge the calls and anytime we visited the front desk. Don't make a commitment to your guests if you aren't going to follow-through with them. Lastly, asked a few days in advance for a late checkout for the room we had a late check-in to and was told we'd need to ask the morning of. Called first thing in the morning and to confirm this was still possible and no help was given and ultimately was hung up on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 19 Sep 2022
Carena T, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are only able to accommodate early check-ins and late check-outs if we have the rooms available. We always try our best, but when the hotel is busy we are not always able to accommodate these requests. We should have apologized for the delay and inconvenience that we caused you so I am apologizing for that. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie Michele wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I can't emphasize enough how disappointing my stay was. It was my ONE night to relax and recharge away from my children after giving birth to twins in 2021 (I have 3 kids, ages 3 and under). My husband was treating me to spa and stay. What a slap in the face to be given the **absolute worst** room in the entire place. I will NEVER recommend this hotel to friends of family. As a military spouse I will NOT recommend this place to host our upcoming Christmas party for the squadron. I hope you use this as a teachable moment to staff; treat guests the way you would want to be treated if you were having your first vacation since 2018. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Z6473HBangelas, Every Mom in my hotel is trying to figure out how to get in touch with you. We are so sorry that your visit was not what you deserved. We want to speak with you and make it up to you. So many of us are tired mom's (some with twins) and we know the importance of time away and just recharging for a night. This review does not provide us with your name so please email me directly at melissa.georges@foundersinn.com. We promise to do better next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kegtho G wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
As a diamond Hilton Honors member, I rate this hotel below average. No upgrade available, no late check out available, no bottle water at check in, no reserved Diamond parking spots… the shuttle does one trip to the beach per day. They will not make a special trip for a group of people although the shuttles are just sitting all day outisde the hotel. The breakfast is a joke and overpriced. The pool was nice, but they don’t offer towels, you will have to bring your own. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. The lobby is usually busy because there is always a wedding going on. When I go to other Hilton owned hotels, I feel welcomed. In this hotel, they don’t try to go the extra mile to please anyone. I filled out the door hanger to get fresh towels for the next day. I was told they usually don’t check them. This hotel is good if you just need to sleep and walk around the beautiful garden. Other than this, I think it is overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the $30 breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 Sep 2022
I want to personally thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and I apologize that you were not recognized while you were on property. You did visit us on a Holiday weekend so that does limit our upgrades and check out times because we are so busy. Please know that we upgrade our Hilton Honors guests whenever possible. We did have a lot of weddings and events over the weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed the gardens, but it appears we fell short on the breakfast and towels. Your feedback has personally been shared with the Department Heads and they will be researching your feedback. We do not want to disappoint any guest while they stay with us and we are sorry that we fell short on service during your time with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the founders hotel virginia beach, founders hotel virginia beach
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FOUNDERS INN AND SPA, TAPESTRY COLLECTION BY HILTON: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,239 Photos (Virginia Beach) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.4 km) and GameOn Gaming Center (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Papa's Greek Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have airport transportation?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.