We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Key Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Key Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 411: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were booked from Saturday to Saturday but after getting married on Sunday couldn't make it till Tuesday because of circumstances and our only regret is we missed out on those days! We requested well in advance a balcony unit facing the beach and we got exactly what we ordered. The setup of the unit was wonderful with a small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bryce804
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. Eivins! Our VSA Resorts’ team thrives on delivering excellent customer service, especially Nancy. We are glad she was able to make a positive difference during your weekend and we look forward to your next stay at the Ocean Key Resort, and thank you for sharing your honeymoon vacation experience. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

On our first day, there was a cockroach that ran from the sink to the counter top. I was not pleased with this. Had I seen another, I would definitely had complained. Thankfully, the guy was alone. The room was small for the four of us, but we made it work. Our two sons had to sleep on the pull-out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Although we have sound proofing between the units but it sounds like it was not effective for your stay and although “quiet hours” are between 10pm and 7am, the agents should have offered to make a call for you – definitely a training opportunity and I appreciate your sharing it.... More 

Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property is disgustingly dirty. Hair on the floor in the bathroom and it was never addressed. Did not stay the full time we booked. The management was good about refunding all the $ we were charged. The patrons were smoking in the rooms in a non smoking facility.

Helpful?
Thank GJto3
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and by your feedback, we fell short in delivering our promises to you. I assure you that your experience was not to our standards, which warranted a full refund. More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We own here. Bought to use for trade 10 years ago. First time staying here. May be the last. But it trades well. Good - Short walk to the beach, Shopping opportunities galore. Check-in & all staff were very pleasant. Bad- Ended up in a handicap room, overlooking a parking lot and a building wall. Bedroom, bathroom, kitchen cabinets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee I
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback! Although your stay did not meet your expectations, we appreciate your ownership with us. I would like the opportunity to improve on your future vacations and hope you are willing to give me that opportunity. I will call you personally to discuss your suggestions for specific improvement. Although we are not renewing our... More 

Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed at the Ocean Key Resort for a night with our granddaughter. We had a suite - the living room had a tv and sofa (which delighted our granddaughter -- her "own room" to sleep in with a TV!) The bedroom was large and roomy and everything was very clean -- my #1 issue! The only problem we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barb R
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you selecting VSA Resorts for your Virginia Beach vacation destination and appreciate your feedback regarding our clean and spacious suites. I apologize for the refrigerator malfunction – we identified it during your post departure inspection and am glad that it did not impact your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with the Ocean Key... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I really like it It's clean Worth the money I really enjoy it Not classy But it works Fine No ocean view but it's 2 minutes walking to the beach The suite was clean when we came in But didn't check or came by to clean on the second day The bed sofa was ok

Helpful?
Thank Abd b
Matthew A, Assistant General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We at the Ocean Key Resort are happy you have stayed with us despite some of the accommodations and our proximity to the beach, for example, have not met your expectations. We still welcome you back next year to VSA Resorts as your vacation destination! In the spirit of hospitality, Matthew A. Assistant... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2016

My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at the Ocean Key Resort! We originally had a room without a balcony. However, when we walked into our room and realized it hadn't been cleaned a friendly maintenance guy nearby got us upgraded to a room with a marina view and a balcony! The room had a small kitchen with utensils... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
Matthew A, Assistant General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the gracious feedback! Although your stay did not begin quite as expected, we are certainly happy that our staff made you feel right at home and turned the circumstance around to make it right. We welcome you back to VSA Resorts as your vacation destination! In the spirit of hospitality, Matthew A. Assistant General Manager More 

New Hope, Pa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We always like to go away after Labor Day when things are quieting down. This is our 3rd time at Ocean Key. We have a one bedroom unit with living room and small narrow kitchen. There is only one window in the whole unit but it has sufficient lighting to make it bright. In previous stays there were insufficient lamps... More 

Helpful?
Thank LydNH
Matthew A, Assistant General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We here at the Ocean Key Resort are elated you had such an amazing stay and are glad that the improvements we have made are to your delight! We welcome you back to VSA Resorts as your vacation destination!   Thank you,   Matthew Allgood Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I lived in Va. Beach many many years ago, and have returned regularly through the past 35 years. However, in the last several years I have been staying at the Ocean Key Resort... GREAT place. I see that a large percentage of guests appear to be families, presumably for the 2-BR condo units. I believe it is an all-condo facility.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Matthew A, Assistant General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

Here at the Ocean Key Resort, we are very delighted to hear you had such an exceptional stay with us and will certainly share these words with our team! It is our duty to ensure your needs are met and expectations are exceeded and we welcome you back to VSA Resorts as your vacation destination! In the spirit of hospitality,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We requested 2 ajoining rooms, for our family. and they were not given to us, requested and paid extra for balcony, again, was not given too us... Activites were fun! Pool VERY dirty! also the hot tub! After the pool is closed, go up to the 3rd floor and you can see the layer of dirt in the pool and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paige L
Matthew A, Assistant General Manager at Ocean Key Resort, responded to this review

  I am sincerely apologetic that you experienced these uncomfortable situations during your stay and your experience did not meet our standards.  Thank you for your feedback, I would have personally addressed your concerns during your stay had I been aware of them.    In the spirit of hospitality,   Matthew Allgood Assistant General Manager   More 

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (31)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.0 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 108 in Virginia Beach
316 reviews
3.3 km away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 108 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#12 of 108 in Virginia Beach
884 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
292 reviews
2.3 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 108 in Virginia Beach
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Key Resort is located at the serene south end of Virginia Beach, the 142 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with beach accents and soft colors. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Activities Center & Gaming Room• Party Deck & Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Key Resort

Address: 424 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: RM384 - RM2,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Key Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Virginia Beach
Ocean Key Resort Virginia Beach Virginia
Ocean Key Resort Va Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Key Resort staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Key Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles GJto3, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors mean better views.”
 of 5 bubbles bwompbwomp, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“away from elevator”
 of 5 bubbles MaryBee_21, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face another hotel on one side and the indoor pool on the other side, sorry.”
 of 5 bubbles lgideon25, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“higher floors keep you away from traffic noise best”
 of 5 bubbles 557lindat, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay