We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,693: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
 Click to rate
Easton, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter and I got to spend a great weekend getaway here. The staff was awesome the hotel was nice and the location was great! We got to enjoy the beach did a little site seeing. The aquarium is 5 minutes away. Great location. Would recommend staying here to all. Thank you for the awesome stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
Easton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is great, very nice lobby and beautiful view!! The rooms were fairly nice, but walls were thin and noise traveled easily. We did not get a good night's sleep because of this.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie_hanes
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

First and foremost allow me to apologize for the noise you experienced while you were with us. That is actually very unusual around here because we are a family owned and operated hotel and typically have very quiet guests. I hope you will still consider returning in the future. I can assure you that won't happen again. Please feel free...

Virginia Beach
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Locals staying for the shamrock marathon. Staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was great for a hotel. There are some areas of the building which could use updating but nothing to make our stay unenjoyable. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis F
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your thoughts about your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle in Virginia Beach. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time your plans bring...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel...oceanfront rooms, great breakfast and wonderful lounge! I would highly recommend this hotel for all events..family, friends, business travel! Great service from all hotel employes! Caring and professional!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 676debraa
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, my staff and I greatly appreciate it. I was so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time your plans bring you to Virginia Beach so that I might have the opportunity to personally assist you. I would also like...

Gloversville, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a new place for us. We've walked past it dozens of times and have watched, over the last few years as it seems to have been getting a face-lift. First impressions were good all around. We were greeted pleasantly and given directions to parking, which was the attached garage. We had a pleasant room, not overly large; but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillP1215
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, my staff and I greatly appreciate it. I was so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time your plans bring you to Virginia Beach so that I might have the opportunity to personally assist you. I would also like...

Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a perfect location. The Hotel was very clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The breakfast was wonderful, plenty of food items to choose from. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

And we can't wait for you to return. Thank you for such a kind review, my staff and I truly appreciate it. I was so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with. Please feel free to contact me before you plan on returning so that I might have the opportunity to assist you. Have a great day. Yours...

richland wa, Armenia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

well used and dated facility, nice bed, very poor breakfast compared to the other BW hotels I stay at. staff was outstanding and very helpful, odd layout of floors, only stairs to reach 1st floor from lobby, again only stars from parking assess on 2nd floor to 1st floor, was a strain for me as I was traveling alone and...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waynep676
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about your recent trip to Virginia Beach and The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I was sorry to hear that we didn't exceed your expectations. We do have a older building but as you mentioned we have a wonderful staff and clean comfortable rooms. Most guests seem...

Waldorf, MD
Reviewed 1 week ago

There was a hole in the wall behind the TV. I mean a pretty big hole. The door to the balcony did not close all the way and my daughter ended up sick the first morning we were there. Rooms were spacious, furniture wasn't bad at all. We were missing wash cloths after they cleaned the room. But, really not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 599tag
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about your most recent trip to The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I think you enjoyed your stay but it's hard to tell. Please feel free to contact me via email or by phone if you would like to discuss and discrepancies with your stay. Yours in...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very professional and courteous staff always happy and smiling! We got in early after a 6 hour drive and the lobby staff allowed us to check in early. Our entire experience was wonderful and the breakfast was much better than expected. I will definitely be staying here every visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mebrown1981
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about your most recent trip to Virginia Beach and The Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We sure do have a nice hotel here where we firmly believe in treating our guests like family. Please...

thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We saw a very reasonable rate so we decided to visit VB and stayed at this hotel on spur of the moment. We had an ocean front room that afforded an excellent view of the sunrise as well as of the full moon. The room itself was just typical of Best Western but it was the hotel location and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asiacentury2000
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your thoughts about your most recent stay with us here at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle in Virginia Beach. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time your plans bring...

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (82)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
King Room (19)
Viewed
Oceanfront Double Queen (20)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Sun Deck (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
565 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,269 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.8 km away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: RM474 - RM1,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the staff directly and request it. Upper level rooms oceanside have a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles trytoairplane, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The view is fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles TPARKS66, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were oceanfront!”
 of 5 bubbles bagpiper2016, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try get room with kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Vmoonlight, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra for the ocean view.... with the location right near the fishing pier, the view is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles 183tinak, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5