We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 319: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have traveled all over the world and by far this was the worst hotel I ever stayed. Room cleaning only M-T, clean towels? go get them or wash it yourself, hair dryer? somewhere in the room, smoking? move to different room but still cant smoke, wanna quiet time? what till the bar is closed

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank leulm
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. It did not meet our expectations either. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights to do the Shamrock Marathon and Half-Marathon. The reservation site that we booked the rooms with didn't transfer it, and the receptionist tried for a while to figure out what was going on. Then she just gave us a room without that reservation and promised to get to the bottom of this -...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan A
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Our staff is trained to give superb customer service and will resolve any discrepancies as quickly as possible. We are glad that our accommodations and location suited your needs for the big race. Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you for the next marathon.

Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is our favorite place for relaxation and recreation. The bed, full kitchen, full bath--great. The staff is wonderful and very responsive. The fitness center is available whenever I want to use it (instead of having restricted operation times). The beach--awesome! (Clean and beautiful) In-unit beach view--the best. Restaurants, shopping, and other activities are close by and convenient. This resort...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ezra L
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that our great location, variety of amenities, and amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the cleanliness of the resort as we strive to keep it as clean as you would your own home. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this...

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Ocean Sands in February 2014. The weather was warm, the beach was beautiful and there were few people around. We ate at a couple of delicious local restaurants, grocery shopped at Whole Foods and Trader Joe's. The resort staff were very welcoming. They answered my questions with a smile. They had many activities each day we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JULIE C
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

It gives us great pleasure to know how much you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of all our great amenities, activities, and everything that the Virginia Beach area has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this excellent review and we look...

South Hill, Virginia
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at ocean sands this sat night and it was wonderful! The beds are very comfortable, and the kitchenette is well stocked! Showers were great with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Will stay here again. Great view too!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert R
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Our modern amenities along with the great view of the Atlantic Ocean really enhance the overall vacation experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this great review and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Ocean Sands is run by an excellent staff. It is located in the middle of the boardwalk and is a perfect location at the beach. Rooms are nice and have a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. TWO THUMBS UP!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lance021771
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that our great location and our inviting staff made your stay with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

London, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were here for our anniversary and wanted a nice cozy place. Well, we didn't get that. I don't require immaculate rooms when I go somewhere, just clean! We ended up having 3 different rooms. After being switched to the 3rd room we realized that it probably wouldn't matter which other room we were moved to as all would have...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank TimKris2003
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that after several attempts we were unable to come to an acceptable resolution and that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It did not meet our expectations either. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve.

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Dylan Goodrich was our driver to this van trip provided by the resort. He was very nice, professional, accommodating and friendly. He did an excellent job for my whole family. He is an asset to your company. His attitude towards his job is rare. I wish you have more Dylan in your organization. Dylan, please continue what you are doing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnM1988
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Dylan and the great work he does. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the activities and van excursions that our resort offers. We really appreciate this great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Park Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our first trip to the Atlantic Coast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It felt like home from the time we arrived. The view of the Atlantic from the room is awesome. We watched the dolphins swim by almost every morning. The indoor heated pool is actually warm. The kitchen had a full refrigerator/freezer, four burner flat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa A
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your first visit to the Atlantic Coast. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our variety of amenities and great location in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very nice. Every thing was lovely. I enjoyed my time here. Every one was very happy with their stay. Customer service was very nice and welcoming. Smiles were beautiful and heart warming. Stayed here the past three years to bring in New Years. Plan to continue to do that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerieharvey
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

We are honored to hear that you choose us annually to celebrate the new year. Our staff goes out of their way to make everyone who walks through the door feel welcome and right at home and we thank you for taking the time to acknowledge their efforts. We really appreciate your excellent feedback and look forward to seeing you...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 km away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
928 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
687 reviews
0.3 km away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
602 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
321 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Johnny Mananas
Johnny Mananas
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, American, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: RM549 - RM1,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Baltimore, Maryland
2 months ago
Champaign, IL
1 month ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the higher the floor the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles pillsbury609, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They are both full beds. Also check the air system before running it. We opted out not to use it for health reasons but we had good weather that week.”
 of 5 bubbles MacrenaM, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room the better to spot the dolphins!”
 of 5 bubbles clns0426, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This resort is ideal for families and fun.”
 of 5 bubbles tass127, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“6th floor has laundry and pool”
 of 5 bubbles murphysmom22016, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5