We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Save
Share
1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
US$143
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$139
View deal
FindHotel
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/22
Expedia.comUS$139
Hotels.comUS$139
PricelineUS$139
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (370)
Room & Suite (167)
Pool & Beach (27)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 25/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Updated 25/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 117 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fun is everywhere at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Our beachfront hotel is just steps from the Atlantic Ocean, so you can splash in the waves, lie on the beach or stroll down the boardwalk to the fishing pier. We're also a short walk from the convention center for conferences, while educational fun at the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center is 2 miles away. After a day of learning or leisure, settle into our spacious rooms and suites featuring free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and private balconies with breathtaking views. Following a relaxing night on our plush bedding, fuel up at our free breakfast buffet. During downtime, you can get in a workout any time thanks to our 24-hour fitness center, then enjoy a soothing dip in our indoor pool showcasing views of the shore. At Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, you’re our #1 priority. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee™, where we promise you'll be satisfied or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bowling offsite
Kids stay free
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Tennis court offsite
Salon
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
863Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 389
  • 294
  • 110
  • 43
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anita J wrote a review 20 Sep
21 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel last year it was ok. The oceanfront view is what brought us back along with other family members that stayed there under my recommendation. Unfortunately, it was not a good suggestion. I made my reservation back in June for the September stay my mom being disabled I requested a handicapped room. Ten days before our arrival, I received an e mail that there were no handicapped rooms available. I called the hotel and they pretty much told me not their problem. I had to purchase removable hand rails so I would be able to give my mom a shower which did work but that is beside the point. The room was not as clean as you would expect, I did take my own cleaning supplies at which time I cleaned the room before my mom entered. There was half of a cigarette in the rail where the sliding door was. I did not touch it ( no one knows where it was last). The comforter was stained yellow. The parking is another issue. There were only 4 handicapped spots available, most days I had to double park, take my mom upstairs and come back down to park. It is a sketchy part of town and I did not feel comfortable walking the garage alone. I drove around and waited until someone moved closer so I would not be put in a situation. The staff at the hotel is not friendly, they seem to have tthe attitude like they dont want to be there. Next year we will NOT be staying here we will go to the Hampton Inn in north beach. Parking looks a lot better and so do the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the view is the only good thing about this hotel there are other hotels with the same view but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 4 days ago
Anita J, We are so sorry your stay was less than memorable during your stay here. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. I will ensure we share your review with our staff and housekeeping leadership team. When an accessible room is booked our team does recieve a notification to review the request to ensure we are able to accomodate. At the time our team did respond to work out options and hope to find alternative accomodations to meet the needs requested. Please accept my sincere apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
florenceyall39 wrote a review Jun 2022
Erlanger, Kentucky286 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
After checking rates & rooms on TripAdvisor for our annual Virginia Beach trip, we settled on a room at Fairfield Inn & suites. Since we were staying 7 nights, we were given the long stay discount which was very helpful. We reserved a king bed / suite. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Olga at the front desk. She was delightful. Very friendly & personable. We were assigned room 605. We were very pleased with our room. I'll attach pictures. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and Boardwalk. The balcony is a bit small but doable. My only complaint on the balcony is, I wish they had a little table to sit out there between the two provided chairs. Also note there is no daily maid service however if you need maid service on any given day, all you have to do is call the front desk and arrange it. Any soiled linens or towels can be placed in a provided laundry basket and set outside your door. The housekeepers will come by and replace the basket with a sanitized basket & needed linens . Continental breakfast is provided here & served every morning from 6:30 to 10 am. Pretty much standard fare, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, make your own waffle, bagels, yogurt, boiled eggs, coffee , tea, hot chocolate, milk and assorted juices. This was very helpful in saving us money for food. There's also a washer and dryer here for guests to do laundry if they choose to. It's located on the 2nd floor. It costs $1.50 to wash and $1 to dry however you will most likely need to spend $2 to get your clothes completely dry. You can bring your own laundry detergent with you or you may purchase it at the front desk. You can also get quarters at the front desk if needed. There is also a small workout room located across from the Indoor pool and hot tub. During our stay we encountered several polite friendly employees. All except for one petite older bald man who I tried to engage in conversation a couple of times & he wanted nothing to do with me. That's a shame. Other than that, everyone was very nice and friendly. The employees worked hard daily to keep the place clean and tidy except for the elevators. I never saw anyone cleaning the elevators during our stay. They do need it. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel and our accommodations so I would definitely stay here again next time we visit Virginia Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Note that parking is limited to one vehicle per room regardless of how many people are staying in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dave W wrote a review 17 Sep
Stafford, Virginia30 contributions29 helpful votes
Great location to the Sports Center and easy access to the beach front. No issues with the room. We had a high floor and gave us a great view. Breakfast wasn’t bad, although they weren’t ready with food until after 6:30am which put us behind a little.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking for anything bigger the a midsize suv will be difficult
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna wrote a review 15 Sep
1 contribution
My fiancee and I had such a great time during our first trip to Virginia Beach we're already in talks to come back. The location and amenities were ideal. After seeing a glimpse of their small kitchen I'm blown away by the qualities and quantities they were able to turn out. I did have to speak with management because of a small problem but she kindly and surely made sure all was well. The staff were so friendly and helpful during every interaction, they really did make us feel welcomed. Especially Lena, she was so helpful at check-in and remained eager to assist us with any possible questions or issues. We're already planning to come here again, just not sure if we can wait all the way until next summer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 4 days ago
annatravels86, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! We look forward to your return next summer!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie wrote a review 8 Sep
1 contribution
No soap in the bathrooms in the lobby and surrounding areas. Management was notified but not change still in the morning. They had hand wipes out to use but no soap or hand sanitizer. Oceanfront but not your usual Mariott standards. Hallways were very warm. It felt like there was no air conditioning on. Room air conditioner worked well. Hotel staff was friendly
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
melbelsa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so sorry the soap machine in the womens bathroom was acting up. After much trouble shooting we had to place an order for new machines. The vendor was unable to overnight machines and in turn we did go out and purchase pump bottles. We do have hand sanitizer machines thoughout the facility as well as wipes. Athough we had a few challenges, we appreciate the kind words on behalf of the staff. We're committed to total guest satisfaction.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travels_on_belly wrote a review 8 Sep
New Orleans, LA134 contributions52 helpful votes
We rented a suite for labor day weekend. Room was pretty nice. Had fantastic floor-ceiling windows overlooking beach and boardwalk. (Every room has a ocean view, I believe.) Great sunrises. Hotel is on the tourist strip, so there were lots of people around and the beaches were pretty crowded. Lots of food and drink options nearby. While the window was amazing, the morning sun got pretty hot and we'd have to close the curtains then and leave them closed until after noon. Also, there is a restaurant/bar right next door (our room was on the end of hotel) and their music played loudly into the night. Overall, we liked the room and hotel and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PSUMarkDC wrote a review 7 Sep
Fairfax County, Virginia9 contributions
Front desk staff here openly lie to Marriott Bonvoy members, misrepresenting their categorization as a “resort” hotel in an attempt to avoid delivering on guaranteed benefits like late checkout for Platinum and Titanium members. It wasn’t until escalating to Marriott corporate, taking time out of our vacation, that we were able to get them to reluctantly provide what should have been available to us in the first place, and without so much as an apology or an attempt to make things right in any way whatsoever. I’m unclear how the management of this property is able to get away with so flagrantly violating Marriott’s terms and conditions, but we’ll be taking our business elsewhere the next time we visit the Virginia Beach area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 2 weeks ago
PSUMarkDC, Thank you for taking the time to review our customer your stay in regard to your recent late check out request. We do our very best to honor as many requests as possible. Although we are not a resort hotel we are a select service limited service hotel located in a resort area of Virginia Beach and is a highly sought after tourist destination. During the 100 days of summer our hotel stays sold out daily. During these times it is extremely challenging to ensure all membership requests are guaranteed. Cleaning and turning our rooms, and ensuring we are still following the proper sanitization post pandemic we are ensuring we are following Marriott’s standards. We do our best to ensure we can guarantee 4pm check ins for all valued members as well. As well as trying our very best to honor early arrival checkins for our valued members, I am so happy our team was able to get you in so early at 10:49am on your arrival day. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding during this challenging time and we are sorry for the frustration and inconvenience this may have caused. It was not our intention to make you feel less than valued.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Udhay P wrote a review 5 Sep
11 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is close to the pier and is on beach front, which is definitely convenient. But this property requires some upgrades. If you are very sensitive to smell (musty) or sound, then you may want to rethink. Because it is long weekend, the hotel is not well sound proofed and the neighboring place has a bar, there is good chance you will hear music late into night. I'm not for having carpets in beach front properties, which will eventually stink. Apart from that, the room size and layout was good. Good view the balcony. Food and ice cream shops around. Buffet break fast - nothing spectacular.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Patrícia P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Extremely clean place, reception, buffet, pool, corridors and room. I was surprised by the maintenance, cleanliness and pleasant environments always clean and fragrant. Another happy surprise was the comfortable king bed! We went with our 6 month old baby and we were offered a crib and had the crib changed quickly upon request. We had our sheets changed quickly and we received an extra blanket as soon as we asked for it always with all the very helpful and smiling staff. Everything we requested or needed during our stay was very well attended to and that surprised us and made us very satisfied. A wonderful experience! All the staff were very polite and always very happy and willing to help. The breakfast is very complete and delicious! We had an impeccable stay and couldn't be happier!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 19 Aug 2022
268patr_ciap, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with the team. We hope that on your next travels to Virginia Beach to be your hotel of choice.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A M wrote a review Aug 2022
Rockaway, New Jersey1 contribution
The only reason for the 1 star is for the front desk woman who helped me get milk for my kid when only soda and water was available. Check in- park in garage. bring bags to lobby.. down 2 flights of steps. With luggage and small kids. Front desk woman asks for id and credit card. Takes it, says rooms not ready and they’ll call. They have nowhere for bags so back to the car they go. Up steps. With luggage. And small kids for the second time. They don’t call. I call back. Rooms ready. Back to lobby. They need the card and ID again. Why? They already took it. Back to car again for bags. Back to lobby. The hotel has no AC on the floors so you sweat to death lugging your bags to your room. The 1 bedroom suites will set you back abt $500 per night and only have an AC vent in the bedroom so the person sleeping on the sofa bed again, sweats to death. Sofa bed- tiniest ever. Twin size and they don’t have sheets for twin size, so they supply full size. Imagine how that clumped up mess of a bed is. The mini fridge- doesn’t stay on. You can press the “2hr cool” button and it cools for - you guessed it, 2 hours. Then it goes back to Luke warm. The noise. This is the loudest place I have ever stayed, and I stayed on the strip in Vegas and on Collins Ave in Miami. There is music blasting all day and night directly outside the hotel. Not normal music either. Heavy hard I don’t even know what music. We are on the 7th floor and it feels like we’re inside the guys speaker. That’s not the hotels fault but having not known this, I figured I’d let other parents know since I’m traveling with a 2 year old and a high grade sound machine and still hear this music like it’s in my room. The pool is small and smells like garbage. The floor of the pool was covered in wet sand - inside the actual pool and around it. For $500, I expected something a step up from this for sure. I wouldn’t come back here if it was free, and I will definitely rethink Marriott from now on. Stay clear.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joy Mason, Other at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Ama7261983, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your time to share your most sincere feedback. The Fairfield Inn and Suites Oceanfront sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Rest assure, your comments have been shared with our team to ensure the proper guidelines are being followed and all areas are being properly maintained.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairfield inn & suites virginia beach oceanfront hotel virginia beach, fairfield inn and suites virginia beach oceanfront, fairfield inn virginia beach, fairfield virginia beach, virginia beach fairfield inn
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Which popular attractions are close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Nearby attractions include Virginia Beach Boardwalk (0.2 km), Virginia Beach Fishing Pier (0.4 km), and Flipper McCoys (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Repeal Bourbons and Burgers, Tautog's Restaurant, and Doc Taylor's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Virginia Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edgar Cayce's A.R.E. Association for Research and Enlightenment (5.2 km) and Virginia Beach Law Enforcement Memorial (1.8 km).
Does Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.