We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

This by far was the worst place I have ever booked. Pictures were very very deceiving. Please do not book this place for families or friends. Place was very worn and smelled odorous. West wing hotel room we booked was really a basement. Very shabby and very overpriced. Overall less then a 1 star.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

We offer clean, safe, comfortable, family accommodations in the Heart of the Virginia Beach across the street from the award winning Boardwalk and the Mighty Atlantic Ocean. We offer with the West Wing two Bedrooms that will accommodate a family seeking homelike amenities on a Budget. The West Wing opens to a Private Garden with a Personal Bar-B- Que and...

Hague, Virginia
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Its ok. Nice location. Ocean is right across the street. Bus stop is out front & Dunkin Doughnuts is nearby for a quick breakfast in the mornings. Parking is difficult due to very small parking areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nannamry1966
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your consideration and the time taken to write your review of our little Cutty Sark. It makes us very Happy to know we have pleased. We have tried to keep everthing as close to original as we can. We look forward to seeing you again soon..Most Cordially

Chesapeake, Va
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Loved my one night stay at this clean, authentic and funky little vintage motel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to my last minute reservation. They gave me a great price too! Conveniently located but on the edge of the heart of the strip but everything you need (music, bars, etc.) still within easy walking distance. I love all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MIMIZ H
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I can't tell you how much I appreciate your review of our little Hotel here in the Heart of the Beautiful Virginia Beach Resort City. We have tried to keep it as authentic as possible. We love that we pleased. Do come again and often...Kindest regards

virginia
Reviewed 12 September 2014

I've stayed here before. I have never had a bad experience. The owner and staff are always friendly. They could make money training staff at other motels how to act. I stayed at one of the cottages for the first time. Loved it. Hit the pool, ride the bike, or sit on the screened in porch and watch the waves....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank natlite
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words...your visit was just like family coming back. We look forward to seeing you soon again. Stay well

NoHo Ma
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in "The Studio" in the historic cottages part of the hotel. If you go in understanding what this hotel is you will not be disappointed. This is a different hotel experience. If you are looking for resort level amenities go elsewhere. I can only compare it to staying at Grandma's summer cottage. The decor is dated. The furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Trystelle
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Your review was very accurate, I thought. We are old but we do try to keep the unit clean and in good repair. Thank you for the opportunity to serve. We hope you will come again soon. Most Cordially

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay was a real pleasure! "Mr Jim's" was small yet very clean, quiet, and just across the street from the beach and boardwalk. More than enough to do within walking distance. The beautifully landscaped yard served as parking while also allowing space to relax and prepare meals on the public charcoal grill. Kudos to Mrs Cook and her lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kb210704
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Most Cordially

Toronto
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Cutty Sark recently, and unfortunately it was a disappointing experience. We had stayed there 3 years ago, and had no issues - perfect location, like supporting the smaller motel operations, clean, quiet, etc. This time, however, we had issues with cleanliness & noise. There were stray hairs left in the bathtub from previous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1973
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disturbed by a loud neighbors. We live on premise in Season and I am usually the first one to hear a disturbance and put a stop to it. Again I apologize for the inconsiderate neighbor.. The car alarm., that was beyond our control in another parking lot. I hope you will give us another...

Mt. Juliet, TN
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great but had some issues with the air conditioning and the toliet got clogged up. Other than that staff is great and the location is amazing loved the heated pool. Parking isnt to great though. Ask for more towels and they'll come warm. Good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alannaceleste
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Your review, I thought was very accurate,. We are not suited to every one. We are old, but we do our very best to keep our Cottages clean,comfortable and in good repair. Thank you for finding the time to write your review .We look forward to having you with us again soon. Most Cordially

Hudson, Canada
Reviewed 5 July 2014

June 22 to June 30 was our third stay at the Cutty Sark in as many years, so you know we love it! Not fancy, but we can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location is perfect and the kitchenette provided allows us the freedom to get up early or sleep in without worrying about making it out to a restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WendyZT
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

We love that we have pleased. Our High volume of repeat guest that keeps us in Business We get such pleasure seeing you over and over.

Cumberland Gap, TN
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed June 23-27. The hotel was an average one but it definitely had some great qualities. First, price! By just moving back one street from the ocean, we saved 50% on our stay. And honestly it takes no time to get to the ocean, which you can still see from your room. The rooms were small but had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee B
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of our Little Hotel. We will take your compliments to heart . Your other comments we will work on to make our Little Hotel even better. Kindest regards

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#5 of 108 in Virginia Beach
445 reviews
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 108 in Virginia Beach
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
#41 of 108 in Virginia Beach
443 reviews
Ocean Cove Motel
#16 of 16 in Virginia Beach
6 reviews
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#71 of 108 in Virginia Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cutty Sark Motel is located in the exclusive, quite North End of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and directly across the street from the Ocean. Balconies have wonderful view of the Ocean and the Dolphins who live there. We are only Five (5) minutes from the convention center. Free entertainment nightly at Neptune Park. A great way to start the evening. Shopping, fine dining and live entertainment are but a stroll away. Each guest room has a full equipped efficiency with everything a family of four(4) needs to prepare light meals. Our Historic Cottages will accommodate up to eight (8) persons. Refrigerator, microwave, stove toaster as well as coffee and tea service. Dinette, sleep sofa, color, cable TV with HBO, air conditioning and free wifi. Most rooms have balconies with memorable views of the Ocean. The Cutty Sark is convenient to the Virginia Beach Convention Center( 5 Minutes ) The Cutty Sark is 3 mi from Edgar Cayce/ARE Center, 4 mi from the Virginia Aquarium, 7mi from Oceana Naval Air Station, 1 mi from Old Cape Henry Lighthouse and 13 mi from Norfolk International Airport.Golf, Tennis, Fishing and Boating are close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Address: 3614 Atlantic Ave, Across the Street From the Ocean, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2707
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: RM501 - RM1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
17 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view w/ balcony”
 of 5 bubbles kristih44, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles a25556, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony. It gives you a bit more space.”
 of 5 bubbles samtinch, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ocean view, choose rooms 32,33,34. Ask for Jerry!”
 of 5 bubbles kerryo141, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The front rooms have balconies and are located on Atlantic avenue. Rooms on the north side of the building have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles mimizh_12, 11 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay