We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rimba Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rimba Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I've been to Rimba a few times and absolutely love it! All my friends and I earned our SSI certifications and look forward to recruiting new divers just so that we have an excuse to venture back again and again... I think, to date, there's been at least a couple dozen of my friends that earned their certs at Rimba....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FUNFISHSTEPHANIE
Dubai
Reviewed 24 September 2009

we have been to Rimba and Sea Gypsy during the last few months. Firstly Rimba seem to have sorted out their previous transport problems having just bought a new mini-bus. The snorkelling at Rimba is excellent (however the tide is out half of the day making it impossible to swim). We even managed to see Black tip sharks. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Inselaffen
New York
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Rimba Resort is a simple, but nice resort. Rooms were clean and staff relatively friendly. Food was good, but not much variety. Transportation arranged by hotel was terrible. On the way to the resort from Singapore the van was late for more than 1 hour, had NO air conditioner and NO seat belts. Our driver was also stopped in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2NO-mad
singapore
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We spent one week end in Sibu island coming from Singapore. On Friday ,after 4h30 of transport ( the cab booked by the resort was late...), we reached Rimba resort. Our bungalow was quite basic but good enough for us. The only missing thing was the hot water in the shower... Hard when you have small kid and need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxijer
Offenbach, Germany
Reviewed 30 April 2009

according to the other reviews we also live in Singapore and spent a weekend there. Its got all you need for one week of total relaxing. If you need clubbing you are definetly at the wrong place. There were only one choice for each meal but it was excelent always. Mind the Long Island Ice Teas at the bar ;-))

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver E
from France + UK
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Probably our 5th visit to Rimba Resort on Sibu ! We live in Singapore which makes it easier...2.5 hour drive + 20 mns boat trip ! But dont miss it if you are travelling around Asia... Rimba Resort is definitely a place to recommend: - it is a little paradise in the middle of nowhere...the perfect place to relax !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Costagirl007
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We spent a weekend at the Rimba Resort here as a getaway from Singapore and it was a perfect respite from our urban lives. Rimba Resort is a beautiful getaway on the northeast tip of Sibu Island a twenty-minute boat ride off the coast of Malaysia (after about a 2-hour drive NE of Johor Bahru). It’s 20 or so thatched...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank steffania

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (351)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
127 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mersing
35 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 13 in Mersing
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 13 in Mersing
129 reviews
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
159 reviews
8.5 km away
TAd Marine Resort
TAd Marine Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Tinggi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rimba Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rimba Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms near bar are noisier but closer to the bar? all rooms have sea view, furthest have 100yd walk?”
 of 5 bubbles 720barrym, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite & Family Chalet are the only huts with hot bath water so pick those if having a hot bath is important.”
 of 5 bubbles bittenbytheTbugz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a young family or just want peace and quiet make sure they don't give you a room near the outdoor bar.”
 of 5 bubbles Angeo39, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get the 'wedding suite' if you want hot water ;)”
 of 5 bubbles stephaneoertel, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a beach hut with a sea view. Lovely to wake up to.”
 of 5 bubbles austinbyrne007, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5