We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Hotel

Hotels.comUS$80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$111*
US$80*
US$111*
US$80*
US$111*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of Clarion Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I give the Clarion good marks for our group's field trip. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times to my group. Our room was comfortable, kept well and was clean. I really didn't see any of the exagerrated conditions from other reviewers. No, it's not a resort, not some fancy place and has some signs of wear and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bear W
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bear W Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that you and your group had a great experience with our Clarion Hotel. We are still ramping up our refurbishing of the hotel, and hope your next visit will be excellent. Thank you

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First off I'm writing this because I want to give a honest review and to let future guest know what my honest opinion on this hotel. This hotel was some what decent I've definitely stayed in better hotels then this but for the price per night of the clarion hotel is honestly a fair and reasonable amount for the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew; Thank you for your candid review. As we move forward with our renovations and upgrades of this hotel,we hope that in your next visit to our inn we will be able to provide you with an excellent service and experience. Thank you for your patronage of our Inn.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So, myself and my fellow high school students were on a band festival trip. We first read the reviews on the long bus ride here and didn't believe them. We were greeted at the front desk by the creepy pedofile manager who refused to meet any of our needs. We got to the rooms and however they were not that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biannuzzi20
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear biannuzzi20 Thank you for your recent review of your experience with our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience with us. Your comments will be reviewed with our entire staff, and will make sure this experience does not occur again.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel, inside and out, is in need of capital improvements and updating. It was quiet and for our peaceful rest we are thankful. Our shower had leftover soap stuck to the tub. The photos are of the continental breakfast, which ran out of coffee. For a pet-friendly hotel I thought there would be a dog walking area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFamily007
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelinFamily007 Thank you for the recent review of your experience with our hotel. I am deeply sorry that we fell short during your visit at our hotel. We are still in the process of upgrading the hotel and hope you will give us another chance in the near future.

Sturgis, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business and they are currently renovating and changing over from Holiday Inn to Clarion brand. The wifi only worked in certain rooms. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was told it was my computer. However I could walk out down the hallway and connect but when I returned to the room I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hockeyphotog
GMwbg, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hockeyphotog; I would like to deeply thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that you had difficulties connecting to the hotel WiFi. We will be looking into it with our technical support to make sure it is rectified immediately. Thank you for staying for us, and hope to see you again enjoying our renovated hotel...

Waldorf, United States
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Booked with this hotel in connection with a conference months in advance. Had confirmation number, called 5 days prior to confirm all was OK. Day of arrival was told no rooms available since some people had decided to stay longer and "their stuff was already in the room". When asked what they could do to help, promised to call me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calvin B
Anonymous
Reviewed 3 March 2017

This was the worst hotel experience I have had in decades. Our group came to the hotel for a conference after having booked the rooms ahead of time. Half of our group had to leave and find another place to stay as the hotel was massively overbooked. Not just a room or two, but several rooms were double-booked and had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jctraveler1227
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jctraveler1227 I would like to first thank for sharing your experience while staying with us this past weekend. Let me assure you that we are addressing all your concerns. We are currently under a major renovation of the hotel. Certain areas and rooms were closed off , during your visit, that were expected to be completed prior to your...

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We checked in this past weekend , the hotel was sold out with 2 large groups.The front desk staff handled the crowds great and was very friendly to us when we checked in. The breakfast was very good... The name has changed, its now called Colonial Plaza Hotel. The staff was wonderful and I was very happy with the cleanliness...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caitlynnelizabeth
GMwbg, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear caitlynnelizabeth; Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are currently in the process of renovating and rebranding our hotel and glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please come and visit us again and witness the changes coming to our Hotel. Thank you

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The halls smells like cigarettes.the pool is dirty.The carts for getting our stuff in the room makes weird noises.The breakfast is standard and their are very little choices at breakfast.their was a hole in my room covers with some weird paper thing.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Former Holiday Inn in pitiful shape. In really bad need of TLC. The breakfast is mediocre and the oops are in terrible condition. Every corner seems to being cut. I would never stay here again as I could not decifer any hope for improvement.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank charlesjt

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#53 of 74 in Williamsburg
123 reviews
6.6 km away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#62 of 74 in Williamsburg
404 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#54 of 74 in Williamsburg
490 reviews
6.0 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
3.1 km away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Full service hotel and Conference center located on the main dining and shopping district in Williamsburg. All rooms have new beds and bedding. Newly renovated indoor and outdoor pools. State of the art Fitness room, with all new equipment. 11,000 SQF of meeting space, and full service catering for your events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3032 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2001 (Formerly Colonial Plaza Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: RM361 - RM533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Patriot (Old Williamsburg) Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is mold- there are no good rooms.”
jctraveler1227, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best to pick a different hotel.”
gatzdon, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I understand 4th floor has been somewhat renovated,,,,,,but not completely sure!!”
RitaBAhoskie_NC, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Convient to all attractions”
goodolmrwilson, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay at this hotel”
106chetk, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$80
Orbitz.comUS$80
ElvolineUS$111
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates