We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 399: English reviews
Start your review of Fort Magruder Hotel
 Click to rate
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel shows 3 stars. After staying for 2 nights April 12 and 13, I would give it 2 stars. I avoid 2 star hotels. The hotel is being renovated which it dearly needs - not that I saw any improvements just a lot of glue and paint smells. We could not check in until 4:30 because our room wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwhaynes
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cwhaynes, Thank you staying with us a Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered while staying with us. I want to let you know that I have spoken to our housekeeping department about the issues you mentioned and they will be making the improvements to ensure that it dose...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our tour was set up to stop here for dinner. Went into one of the ballrooms and we were served a nice buffet style pasta meal ...was nice to actually have silverware, plates and glasses… When touring with the school group we are on a budget. Employees we encounter were very pleasant and patient dealing with all of our kids.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DISNEYCHICKS
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DISNEYCHICKS, Thank you so much for visiting us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center! The entire team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner accommodations with us while visiting the Williamsburg area. I will pass along your thoughtful comments about the food and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Madison, Virginia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had another wonderful long weekend here from beginning to end. Check-in was pleasant and information shared about local places to eat since the restaurant is currently under renovation and not available. It is always a pleasure to re-connect with Kim and the rest of the front desk staff. By the way, Kim always goes above and beyond to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StitcherinVirginia
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StitcherinVirginia, Thank you so much for returning to stay with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. Your review means so much to myself and the entire staff here. I am glad that you where able to come in contact with Kim, Angela & Ann during your stay. I will make sure that they are aware of your...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The only reason to rate it as high as I did was the friendliness of the staff. The place is under construction and quite a mess. The lobby, bar and restaurant were closed off. Check in was in one of the rooms. The guest rooms are still old and tired. We had a conference booked there several years ago and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rick23113
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rick23113, Thank you very much for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I am very sorry to hear that you where not made aware of the outlets at the hotel that are still currently being renovated. Please rest assured that we are working as quickly as possible to have those mentioned outlets open so that...

Reviewed 23 February 2017

Great hotel in a fabulous location. Minutes from colonial Williamsburg and short drive to Jamestown. Hotel was being renovated but stay was great. Staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Rooms are being updated so not fair to ding them. Large clean rooms with refrigerator and laundry on first floor. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie T, Thank you very much for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I want to personally thank you for a very thoughtful and kind review about our property and staff. I am glad you found our location convenient to the local areas and attractions. I am also pleased that the staff made you feel...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

There were approximately 250 attendees there for a convention. Our room was on the 4th floor which meant there was walking involved to the meeting room. The hallways were well lit and we never felt unsafe when walking back and forth. And a little walking doesn't hurt anyone. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our group was provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra K, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center and thank you very much for such a kind a thoughtful review about our property & staff! We are glad that we could host your convention this past weekend as it provided excitement and great team work from our staff the make sure the...

Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference. Thank goodness it was only overnight. The beds are small, uncomfortable and so are the pillows. There was some sort of bug in our bathtub. The conference rooms were nice, but there was only wifi in the main conference room, not any of the others. The conferences were held in the extreme opposite wings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center during your conference. I am very saddened to hear about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. As you are aware, we are currently making massive improvements to our property to better service our guest. Those improvements will soon be complete and guest...

Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Don't be misled- renovations aren't the only issue here. And it is clear that they are many, many months, if not years, away from completing the renovations. The place is absolutely huge with many long hallways...and virtually no guests. We were located so far from the makeshift check-in desk that I truly felt unsafe. I was not surprised to read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhiggins5
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jhiggins5, Thank you very much for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I would like to sincerely apologize for the experiences you encountered during your stay with us. As you have seen, we are currently renovating the property to give our guest the best experience possible when they travel to the Williamsburg area. Please bare...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. Nice salt water swimming pool and hot tub. There was some renovation going on in one section of the hotel that started my respiratory allergy. Nasal spray

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deniseskis
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. We really appreciate the feedback you provided about your guest room and the pool & hot tub. I will make sure our staff is aware of your kind words! As you already know, we are currently in renovation making drastic changes to our...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

My wife tells me I make friends everywhere I go. I found this little one in my bed last night. Needless to say, I checked out and won't be back. I have spent all day Sunday hot water washing everything I had in the room with me. Hopefully, none of my clothes, shoes or bags are ruined.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cole W
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cole W, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I am very sorry to hear about your experience in your guest room. Please give me a call directly at 757-220-2250 so that we can discuss this further. Again, thank you very much for your feedback.

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
1.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 74 in Williamsburg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
2.0 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#52 of 74 in Williamsburg
486 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#45 of 74 in Williamsburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: RM401 - RM779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Magruder Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for at least a 4 star hotel on Trip Advisor”
cwhaynes, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there”
rick23113, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had good views.”
Lady8577, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you are looking for privacy...don't worry...no other guests are in the hotel.”
PaulCKelly, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for mold in the shower before unpacking and secure your valuables”
566ziggyw, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5