We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canterbury Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Canterbury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Canterbury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Each room/unit is owned separately so decorated individually which is really nice, you can browse thru all the rooms and pick which one you like. It was just for one night so we chose a room that did have a fridge but no real kitchen, had a little sitting area and a nice beach theme to the decoration, more like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee4848
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you booking with us and providing feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the unique room and your stay. We hope you will be back again!

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I had a really nice room with a balcony facing the ocean and kitchenette. Its was perfect for my needs. They go all out so your dog can be comfortable in the room with you. They give you a blanket for the bed, dog towels and a dog treat. It was lovely!!! Nice trail to the beach. Lots of friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judadams7
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate the detailed feedback about your stay! We have been trying hard to make sure all our guests (even the four legged ones) have a great experience. We look forward to having you back again sometime and appreciate you booking with us!

Poulsbo, Washington
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We got a 3rd floor studio as we like to eat in most nights. The 3rd floor is the only floor that gives you an unobstructed view of the surf/sunset! Since the bed is next to the balcony, we left the balcony door open so we heard surf all night, and took in the fresh air. The staff was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom m
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed feedback! We just this week had a major WiFi upgrade and it is now protected. Unfortunately Centurylink in our area doesn't offer the speeds major metro areas have but we do now have the max our area offers. We hope you will come back again and will notice the difference!

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The Canterbury Inn consists of individually owned apartments and bedsit rooms, so each apartment is furnished and styled by their owners. This gives it a lovely, homely feel unlike most hotels. We stayed on the 3rd floor with views across the wetlands to the ocean from living room and bedroom. Our apartment had a full kitchen, complete with cooktop, oven,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SqueakerD
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you booking with us and are glad to hear that you were able to unwind and relax. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; we do hope you will be back!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed in 106 a studio with my boyfriend and my service Dog. We walked the path they have to the beach it was so beautiful. Your right on the ocean you can hear it from your room. My first night we pulled in and saw deer they are so cute. We got an apple from Destiny and got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the heartfelt message. I am going to print this out so that all of our staff can see how much this meant to you. We definitely hope you will be back next year with your boyfriend and service dog! We will have the treats waiting!

Lacey, Washington
Reviewed 26 October 2016

For several years now we have stay at the Canterbury because they allow dogs in some rooms and they one bedroom units are very nice, especially on the top 3rd floor. This year we found the rooms, ours at least, have had most of the furniture updated. Have never been disappointed in staying here. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1212ballard
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for others regarding your experience. We love hearing about the guests who return year after year. As the new General Manager, I have been trying to encourage individual owners to update decor and I am glad that the room you were in you saw noticeable differences. We look...

Auburn, Washington
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed on a Wed. night in Sept. $121 total for a 3rd floor ocean view room with a bedroom, kitchen, and living room. The elevator was nice. Great deal. Very comfortable. We'd definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roadtrip E
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

As we approach our off season we are definitely trying to encourage people to keep visiting the Washington coast by offering excellent deals. We are glad that you got to take advantage of it and that you had a good stay. We hope to have you again!

Gig Harbor
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Although older, accomodations were pleasant and comfortable and at very reasonable cost. As is true of much of the Washington coast, the resort is quite a distance from the water, not really close enough to see well or hear the surf crashing. Staff was friendly, and the unit was very clean and well equipped. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat D
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

We definitely hope that there will be a resolution to the Dune grass so that visitors can see and access the Ocean better in the near future. Unfortunately, we are not allowed to touch it. We appreciate the feedback on your stay and are glad to hear that you would come again.

Spanaway, Washington
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We wanted to get away for are anniversary to the are last minute planning all of Ocean Shores was booked. We stayed one night here and it was great. Great view of the Ocean. when we first got to are room someone left the heat on and it was 85 in the room. the nice thing was that they had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spew8589
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your anniversary trip. We are glad you booked with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We are working with our individual owners to try to encourage them to update and comments like this are definitely notated and passed along. We hope you will be back!

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

My family stayed her at least once a summer for as long as I can remember, and I enthusiastically did the same with my own family. After 30+ years, never again. The rooms are dated but hey it's a coastal town, and it's nostalgic for me. And I like having a kitchen - it's fun cooking breakfast in the mornings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicdds
canter3317, General Manager at Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that we had a plumbing issue that interrupted your shower. There was in fact notifications on the front entry and exit door so that guests could be alerted when checking in the day before. Unfortunately because this repair was beyond our control, we did not have a choice as to when to shut down the water for the...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.8 km away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 15 in Ocean Shores
281 reviews
4.5 km away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#10 of 15 in Ocean Shores
122 reviews
1.3 km away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 15 in Ocean Shores
486 reviews
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Ocean Shores
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On Washington's coast, The Canterbury Inn is the distinct waterfront lodging that brings the comforts of home and a beach vacation together. Right on the Pacific Ocean The Canterbury Inn features beach access, manicured grounds, BBQ areas, indoor swimming pool, spectacular ocean views, hot tub, guest laundry, pet friendly rooms, kitchens, flat screen TVs, gas fireplaces and more. Everything you need to kick back and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Address: 643 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, PO Box 310, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Price Range: RM316 - RM663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Ocean Shores
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canterbury Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Canterbury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was ok. The jacuzzi by the pool was kinda icky the first day. The second day it looked good. ”
 of 5 bubbles k1sparling, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The only criticisms we had of the room were that the bathroom sink drain was slow and the kitchen clock had stopped, and while Housekeeping should probably catch things like that, I didn't consider them significant enough to affect my overall rating.”
 of 5 bubbles D9526VIpatriciah, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Third floor ocean view is best - but ground floor on the back, with visiting deer at your doorstep, runs a close second!”
 of 5 bubbles 7kaytek, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles 328chis, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Love your housekeepers! Make sure you tip these hardworking women!”
 of 5 bubbles E662CNsusanb, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay