We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cowlitz River Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cowlitz River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super friendly staff, very clean rooms with white linens (this is magnificent given the pet friendliness, where you usually find grimy looking bedding and gross carpet), decent hot breakfast (and free!), great location if you're headed to White Pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexishankster
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make our guests & their families (including the furry ones!) feel like they are at home here. We certainly hope that you stay with us again in the future! Thank you, Larry & Cindy Coonts - Managers

Mentor, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a reservation for 3 days, then a couple weeks later I called to add 3 more days. The female reservationist told me my room was available and I wouldn't have to move. I spent the First 3 days and then while I was skiing they locked myself and my two grandchildren out. They kept saying I only paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancybsearles
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

You had your reservation for 3 nights (Sunday, Monday, & Tuesday) (no where did you book for an additional 3 days) on Wednesday you did not leave your room which forced us to relocate one of our reservations to different rooms.. With our key system, your room keys automatically close out at Noon on the checkout date. (we did not...

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a quick ski trip and weren't disappointed. Nicely remodeled, room for 5 w cot and enough space for ski gear (but snug). Close to town, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg N
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very we now have our Family Suite that would give you plenty more space for your stay! Sincerely, Larry &...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Welcoming and cozy lodge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice room. Bed very comfortable. Walls were a tad thin and we could hear our neighbor and smell his ramen noodles. Didn't bother us but we felt bad that we might have talked too loud! Highly recommend. Has station very close as well as a couple of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely,...

Coupeville, Washington
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I loved the Cowlitz River Lodge when we explored Mr. Rainier in September! Close to Mt. Rainier National Park; large, clean rooms; helpful info; a varied, filling breakfast; and those wonderful elk! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely,...

Belfast
Reviewed 9 October 2016

This is a nice place to stay. Much bigger than I thought it would be and sits back from the road. The rooms were very spacious and our room had Elk wandering past our window! The bathroom was very pleasant with very nice fittings. Very comfortable. The owners are very friendly. Breakfast was fine in the very interesting reception area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emporerpenguin
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad that enjoyed your stay. Being the Resident Manager's (we are not the owners) this is our home and it is very important to us to make each and every customer feel at home while staying with us. We strive to give the very best in customer service and hope that you will...

United States
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We have stayed here numbers times. The Elk never disappoint as they are a daily visitor to the expansive lawn of this lodge. The rooms have been upgraded and remodeled. They are quiet and comfortable. A breakfast is available in the lobby. It's standard fare included with your room rate. The town is small just a mile long. There's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad that enjoyed your stay. It is very important to us to make each and every customer feel at home while staying with us. We strive to give the very best in customer service and hope that you will definitely return to stay with us when you come back again. And yes, we...

Petoskey, Michigan
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Packwood is a very small town and this is a nice clean place with rooms that have been refreshed recently. The lodge guest rooms are fairly priced and our king room is spacious compared to some other motels we have stayed at on this three week road trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you! We really appreciate your feedback. We strive to make our guests completely satisfied and at home here with us. We certainly hope to have you visit us again in the future! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - managers

Ridgefield, CT
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We recently stayed at this lodge while we traveled through Rainier NP and Windy Ridge, the Mt St Helens area where the blow out occurred. Packwood was a very small town just outside of the Sunrise entrance to the park and about 45 minutes to Windy Ridge. The lodge was recently renovated and the rooms were a nice size, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so enjoyable! We always strive to give the very best in customer service, and to see that our guests experience a very positive and memorable stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Sincerely,...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Someone works very hard keeping this place nice. Was just guessing when I made reservations but this place is comfortable and clean. There's several places to eat close by in this nice little town. Modern room and complementary breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tom h
prettygm, Manager at Cowlitz River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you! We really appreciate your feedback. We strive to make our guests completely satisfied and at home here with us. We certainly hope to have you visit us again in the future! Sincerely, Larry & Cindy Coonts - managers

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.8 km away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
155 reviews
0.7 km away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
189 reviews
25.8 km away
Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
2.8 km away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
236 reviews
31.1 km away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
31 unit Lodge located at the base of Whitepass in the heart of Packwood, Wa. Beautifully updated and renovated rooms, with refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron in each! Included in your stay is a full Hot Breakfast every morning (Belgian Waffles, Sausage, Scrambled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts, Muffins, Bagels, fruit, juices, etc.) Wi-fi in the rooms and Dirrect TV! The elk hang out in our front lawn almost daily. Enjoy the scenery! Short drive to Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. Visit us while you hiking, fishing, hunting, skiing, visiting the mountains, and for the local Huge flea market held on Memorial Day and Labor day weekends! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cowlitz River Lodge

Address: 13069 US Highway 12, P.O. Box 488, Packwood, WA 98361-9720
Region: United States > Washington > Packwood
Price Range: RM530 - RM727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cowlitz River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cowlitz River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowlitz River Hotel Packwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cowlitz River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cowlitz River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful of your booking.”
 of 5 bubbles nancybsearles, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and no problems. Second floor may have some nicer views.”
 of 5 bubbles emporerpenguin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel doesn't have on line booking but the personable managers will take your information over the phone.”
 of 5 bubbles BeckyF148, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper level room on the end”
 of 5 bubbles larkenRidgefield_CT, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors -- no elevator to second floor”
 of 5 bubbles laurie989, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay