We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

8402 S Hosmer, Tacoma, WA 98444 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Olympus Spa
    1.5 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 5 days ago
A VERY NICE TO STAY
I got a great deal on this hotel! $59.00. The room was large... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 324: English reviews
Kettle Falls, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I got a great deal on this hotel! $59.00. The room was large and spotless. The employees were friendly and helpful.The location is convenient and near many nice restaurants. Tacoma is only a short drive away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLASSILADY13
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

At Red Lion inn and suites we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are more then pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are more then pleased the hotel and staff was able to accommodate your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Netarts, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was in complete disarray and had the following problems: 1. Large cut toenail from former guest laying on bathroom floor. 2. Large scratches on door molding on inside of bathroom. 3 Large rip/tear on carpet at doorway. 4. Door knob to closet door dangling from door. 5. Top of armoir hasn't been dusted in forever. 6. Only outlet...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenHawes
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

We wanted to start off by apologizing for the condition of your stay. We are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will get addressed with our management team. Once again we are sorry.

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was supposed to be a fun night for my daughters birthday. Well our room smelled horrible, poop in the toilet, floor not vacuumed, fridge leaked, my poor kids saw first hand prostitution, absolutely horrible, nasty, never again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanyac785
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

At Red Lion inn and suites we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay. We are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will get addressed.

Chehalis, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed a night stay in Tacoma after a gathering of friends and family and this was a great place! It exceeded my expectations!! Room very quiet and clean, breakfast was awesome! The location was prime, close to freeway made this a great choice. Did I mention the breakfast was great? Eggs, waffles, fruit, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and lots more...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7365DAjasonb
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

At Red Lion inn and suites we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are more then pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you once again.

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at this hotel after a poor experience at another hotel the previous night. The management greeted us warmly, showed us a couple rooms, and a few other features of the hotel before we checked in so that we would be sure we would be satisfied with the accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lana H
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

At Red lion inn and suites we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are more then pleased staff was able to accommodate and help make your stay pleasant. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

mixed...fix the things listed.the windows that face the parking lot have a light shinng in all the time because you cant shut the curtians.have stayed there many times before because of the location.in the future i will look for other options.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold L
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

At Red lion inn and suites we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay. We are sorry about the room situation, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I Finish my day, came to workout then sleep. Woke up got breakfast went for a little swim locked out of my hotel room 246 went to get some help 30 minutes later got my key I checked out at 12:30 I told I needed to get my stuff I was wet soaked in chlorine from the pool I want...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank veaniem
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

We wanted to start off by apologizing for the condition of your stay, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. Once again we are sorry.

Tacoma
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came for the First Night in Tacoma. Didn't leave much time for planning. Probably might consider staying again if they clean up the property a little. Needs good cleaning, new carpet and pool towels. The staff was very polite and helpful. Ok value. We don't travel often so when we do it's a treat. Wish it was a little...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7587NYmichelled
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

We wanted to start off by apologizing for the condition of your stay, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. Once again we are sorry.

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would recommend to anyone unless they don't care what their room looks like. Lobby and security rock other then that rooms nasty. I came here to spend Christmas with family only spent very little time in the room due to not being clean and very run down.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 839stacyg
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

We wanted to start off by apologizing for the condition of your stay, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. Once again we are sorry.

JBLM
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My hotel key reset everytime I exited my room and I came to the room after a meeting and spotted a bug inside my covers. Went to sleep that night to a bed on my pillow sheet. Woke up to the next. Never ever again go across the street to Holiday Inn

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 130rashidw
Yesenia G, Online Reputation Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this review

We wanted to start off by apologizing for the condition of your stay. We are sorry about the situation and wanted to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.1 km away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
10.7 km away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
50 reviews
8.0 km away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
2,867 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Tacoma
Comfort Inn Tacoma
#11 of 28 in Tacoma
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, extended continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Address: 8402 S Hosmer, Tacoma, WA 98444 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Price Range: RM374 - RM734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Tacoma staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Fort Lewis, Washington
Federal Way, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Tacoma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor is designated for quiet all hours”
 of 5 bubbles j_fro_sea, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles AmericanBarby, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get one that has been refurbished or better yet, stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles tilt00, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles EDO1461, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Jetted Tub Suite is very awkward w/ the toilet located in the bedroom. Only a partial wall and no door separating it from where you sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Jtgriffin07, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5