We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2014

He puts me in a "non smoking" room. I get into the room and it stinks. No placard on the door indicating non smoking, ashtray on the table in the room and no sign on the dresser indicating no smoking but this idiot thinks everyone is as stupid as he is cause he insisted it was a non smoking room....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emil228
Hinsdale, New York, United States
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was clean, but needed bad upgrading. For the price it served the purpose. Service was not the greatest and the bathrooms were very small. The smoking rooms smelled bad of smoke, so bring lots of room deorderizer!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry C
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Larry C, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We are doing some minor upgrades a little at a time such as adding new mattresses and bedding. We hope to see you again on your next stop! Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Room is FILTHY ... refrigerator didn't work. There were signs of bugs present . Didnt even stay . Guy was RUDE....Wouldnt give a refund . As soon as i return home to NC i am calling BBB and the local health department!!! This DUMP should be CLOSED

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Valbo1
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Valbo 1, Thank you for advising us of the lack of service you received during your visit in August. We do our best to provide clean and comfortable accommodations at reasonable prices. If you were not happy with your room, we would have gladly changed it for you. We have hired and trained new housekeepers in order to improve...

Baltimore
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If u stay here, bring yr own bed linens, towels, and a can of Lysol! The floors were filthy, a sheet and bath towel had brown stains on them, and the toilet was dirty. We were exhausted, so ended up spraying the beds and lying on top of sleeping bags. Used our own towels and pillows (luckily we had these...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magrasser
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Magrasser, Please allow me to apologize for the housekeeping issues you had mentioned in your review. We have recently hired and trained new housekeepers in an effort to improve the overall room cleanliness of our facilities. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our locations across the Country. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value...

Damascus, Maryland
Reviewed 19 July 2014

stayed at this place the other night very filthy hotel should be closed and renovated or at the least cleaned would help. Had to get key changed because it would not even work in my door do not recommend would rather stay in car than here again..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael B
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Michael B, I appreciate the fact that you shared a traveler review with us. I apologize for the issues you had with your room key and housekeeping. Since the keys are coded with a magnetic strip, similar to a credit card, they can become demagnetized if kept near a cell phone or other electrical devices. Also, we have recently...

Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our room smelled like a month old cat box, and after finding the third hair on the sheets, and an unknown liquid on the plastic wrapped box spring, we decided to check get out of there. We were told we would receive no refund as we "had been there almost an hour and everyone would stop just stop in for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin A
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Justin A, Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide you with a memorable experience. We try our best to insure that each of our rooms are properly cleaned. We recently hired and trained new housekeepers so that other guests are not inconvenienced. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

new smyrna fla
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place is disgusting,first of all the woman with a cane that was running the office is slow as molasses, she also doesn't have a clue about the internet, they advertise free wifi but ours didn't work at all and she kept spouting off things that she had heard someone else say, anyone should be able to unplug the router...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angigram
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear angigram, I am concerned about the issues you experienced with us as mentioned in your review. We inspect each room prior to our guests arrival. We have began replacing mattresses and bedding in our rooms. We are also focusing on improving our customer service. We hope that you give us another chance in the future. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best...

Chester, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here on previous visits to the area and were well pleased with the accommodations. Well on this visit it started out bad, toilet didn't work no shower curtain wires hanging out of the lamp and a bad switch at the sink. My wife was furious and gave them a earful that evening. So the next morning my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rock B
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Rock B, Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review. Although you were not pleased with your accommodations at first, we were able to change rooms much to your delight! We hope to see you again on future visits to the area! Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel was dirty and dingy. Things were broken in the rooms, check in lady was rude. Bed had brown stains on mattress and a ripped up plastic cover. No hot water at all for showing. We did not want to touch anything.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesliems713
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear lesliems713, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered in March. We are providing training and feedback to our employees in an effort to improve our customer service. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Broken window, dirty beat up door with no security chain, stains running down the wall, bathroom fan hanging down, tres shabby pull out sofa covered with some kind of cheap cover to hide the missing upholstery, room smelled like a combination of garbage and dirty socks, light fixtures over the bed non- functional, loose plates over electrical outlets, socket coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Apinkoski
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review

Dear Apinkoski, Thank you for sharing your experience with us this past Winter. I am deeply concerned about the maintenance issues you experienced with us. Rest assured, we are doing our best to address these concerns so that other guests are not inconvenienced. Regards, Shiris-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
9.0 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
273 reviews
13.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Address: 807 Willow Spring Drive, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Price Range: RM341 - RM421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different hotel to stay at.”
 of 5 bubbles dbatysr, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles joeY195RO, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away, book else where.”
 of 5 bubbles 1948Gamblerman, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are SO convenient! You can park 2 feet from your door!”
 of 5 bubbles keelyalderman, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there!”
 of 5 bubbles 258phyllisa, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5