We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston\/Kanawha City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel and it was very nice and the staff was also nice. The breakfast was good the rooms were clean. The only thing I would like is to have to indoor pool heated yes I know it is indoors but it was still cold. But other than that the place is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James T
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear James T. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff, room accommodations and our Express Start Breakfast. We apologize that the you encountered an issue with the pool temperature when using the pool during your visit. Rest assure that...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent the night of 11/2/2016 at this Hotel, while on a road trip. It is conveniently located immediately off I-77. I tend to stay at Holiday Inns and this one appears to have been recently updated. Property appears to be well-maintained. The front desk staff was very friendly, the room was clean, and brunch was hot and ready early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neuronbob
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear neuronbob, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your room accommodations and our Express Start Breakfast. The staff takes pride in their work to ensure that our guest have a hotel that guest love. We do offer express checkout, based on how your reservation was...

cleveland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is perfect, right off 77 but down the mountainside so our view (on the highway side of the hotel!) was beautiful and there was no traffic noise. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The pool was clean and didn't have a strong smell like so many hotel pools do. Breakfast was terrific and the young lady, Jessica,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathy b
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Cathy b, Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and our hotel amenities-especially the breakfast and the pool. The staff takes pride in the work that they do to ensure our guest feel at home. I will be sure to share these comments with...

New London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Coming home from vacation an we needed a place to stay overnight. This Holiday Inn Express is newly updated. Friendly gal at the front desk that was very helpful and fave us some tips on dining an saving 10-15% on dinner. Rooms very spacious and very clean. Walking distance to Bob Evans, Texas Roadhouse and a few more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcbosslady
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear kcbosslady; Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to save a little visiting some of our local establishments surrounding the hotel. We hope that if your travels come this way again that you will stop and see us again!

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Selected Charleston as our stopping point heading south and selected this Holiday Inn Express which I'm glad we did. Room was a little small but clean and quiet. Staff was very friendly and free breakfast was terrific with a wide variety. Within walking distance to a good steak house for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin5104
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Kevin5104, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and our Express Start Breakfast. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My husband and I travel between Michigan and North Carolina often during the year. We're kind of frugal and look for coupon rooms as we travel to wave a buck. This Holiday Inn Express is so worth a couple more dollars and so pleasant to stay in. Better comforts than at home and the staff we encountered were priceless.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandy L
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Sandy L. Thank you so much for this glowing review. We appreciate your business and enjoy seeing you when you stop over. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 6 September 2016

Having recently been relocated to the area for work, I spent over 2 months 'living' at the hotel. Staff was beyond merely friendly, breakfast was always tasty and fresh, rooms were clean - every day! The pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing. The refrigerator in the room meant I didn't have to eat out every night. They really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer S. Thank you for the great positive review on your stay. We really enjoyed having you stay with us as you got settled into your new job and new home. We hope you will stop in from time to time to visit your "hotel family". Enjoy your new home in Charleston!

Michigan
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We were traveling south and this was a good stopping place before heading into the hills of West Virginia. I booked this ahead as it was a Friday night and I didn't want to not have a place to stay. Got a good price and we were happy with the stay. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed and a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganChocoholic
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear MichiganChocoholic, Thank you for stopping in and staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha City. We are very happy to hear that you found our location to be clean as well as one that you wanted to come back to. We are sorry that we did not have a room for you on your return visit. We value...

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed here for a few nights while in the area for business. The facility was clean and quiet for the most part. I had a refrigerator in my room which was nice. I was very happy to have a nice ironing board, with a clean tight cover on it. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koressel
Patrice L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Koressel, Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha. I am happy to hear that for the most part you really enjoyed your accommodations and fitness center. I am sorry you were disappointed in our hot breakfast items, but glad to hear that you found other items to have that were satisfying....

NC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We just needed a place to rest along the highway during a long car trip. You know how you can end up in the wrong hotel along the highway? The one that is a little seedy? Well we tried to prevent it by staying in a big city and paying a little more. Oh we were wrong. This hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allergictraveller
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City, responded to this review

Dear Allergictraveller, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the condition of the hotel, specially the rooms . I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in your review to give...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
13.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
12.8 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston - Civic Center
8.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City. Located only minutes from the majestic West Virginia State Capitol, Yeager Airport, beautiful downtown Charleston and the historical East End district. Other points of interest are the Clay Center for the Performing Arts, the University of Charleston and Appalachian Power Stadium home of the West Virginia Power. As our guest of the Holiday Inn Express, you will stay in one of our totally renovated, spacious king, queen or executive suite room with high speed Internet, your choice of plush pillows and great nights sleep mattresses. Also enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast buffet with the worlds best cinnamon rolls. Fresh brewed coffee is available every evening. After a busy day of work or travel, you can energize yourself in our fitness center. Then, cool down in the heated, indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoy the many food options near the hotel that include everything from fast food to steak houses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City

Address: 107 Alex Lane, Charleston, WV 25304 (Formerly Comfort Suites Charleston)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charleston
Price Range: RM442 - RM638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites Charleston
Charleston Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cincinnati
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston/Kanawha City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a second floor room facing the highway but had a quiet night and nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 419cathyb, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking parking lot or your room will back up to freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles Don49680, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JimR230, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room away from the washing room and away from the indoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles judyp426, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I suspect a room facing the parking lot, as mine was, would be quieter than one facing the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles Dad58, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay