We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing experience. Went for the weekend Casino staff was great stayed at tables for awhile due to friendliness of casino staff! Had great room super clean. Food was better than expected as well. Was nervous after reading reviews but so happy we went! We didn't win but still had fun!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Beth, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback. I will make sure that I pass along your compliments to the staff. Live racing starts next week so come back and see us again.

Steubenville, Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2016

The rooms in the tower are much nicer than the lodge. The tower room I had included a couch and extra tv plus a dining area. Very spacious. The lodge rooms are older and a bit cramped. Several restaurants on the property, Big Als has a great selection of offerings. As of this review date, they offer reduced price buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAC43952
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback and will use the information provided to improve the overall experience for our guests at Mountaineer. Sounds like you stayed in one of our suites. They are much larger than the regular hotel rooms. We are in the process of remodeling all the lodge rooms and should...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms. We were able to get ajoining rooms for our party. Warm showers. Hot tub very nice. Swimming pool too cold. Casino nice good assortment of slots and tables. Gatsy Restaurant and Big Also had a decent assortment of food choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonya P
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Tonya, Thanks for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback on the hotel and the other outlets. I will pass along your compliments to the team. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Prospect, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 28 March 2016

my husband and I needed use of a microwave for heat compresses due to surgery. In pain all night unable to take hot shower to relive pain since the hot water was shut off. The bed was not comfortable. Food at buffet was good, nachos at mahogany sports bar were disappointing, breakfast at Gatsby was also disappointing. Pool and hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Lori, We certainly appreciate the feedback and your taking the time to post. Unfortunately, none of our hotel rooms have microwaves. We did have to make an unforeseen emergency repair to our hot water system and did so between 2am and 6am. We tried to hold off until that time as to try to lessen the inconvenience. It should have...

Struthers, Ohio
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Went on over night trip friend with us needed a wheel chair an employee walking thru lobby saw this and really helped by getting her wheel chair and taking her to our room and Would NOT take a tip. Not only did this help her have a fun trip gambling dinner and pool the room once again clean comfortable had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlane K
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Marlane, Thank you again for posting a review. It is always nice to hear from our regular guests. Happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your friend. Although we always try to impress upon our staff the importance of customer service, it is always nice to see it in action. Again, thank you for the review and for...

North Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 10 February 2016

First trip to Mountaineer and so glad we stayed at the hotel so we could really enjoy the stay. The rooms are very nice! Very large and the beds are comfortable. Its nice to have the refrigerator in the room as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dgolden0905
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback and the compliments. If refrigerators are important to you, make sure you book a tower room as the lodge rooms do not have refrigerators. Thank you again for the review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warren, Ohio
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Loved staying in the Hotel. The front desk ladies have always been very friendly and helpful. Clean and Quite! :) We had great Big portion breakfast at The Gatsby. Will return again. Next time we might go into the indoor pool, if we take time away from Gambling! :D

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy811407
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Betsy, Thank you for posting. We appreciate the feedback and the positive review. I will make sure I pass along your compliments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We love the Mountaineer. It isn't vegas but has plenty of table games and slots. Horse racing is great also. Hotel is clean and comfortable and plenty of places to eat. Outdoor pool in summer is great, and indoor pool and hot tub is nice also. Try to go as often as we can. Fiesta outlet close by. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debshears
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to post and for the positive review. We agree that there is plenty to see and do here at Mountaineer. Not only do we have a variety of food choices from our café to our steakhouse but we also offer a spa, golf course, horse racing, indoor and outdoor pools. Check back with...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 December 2015

While Mountaineer Casino Hotel certainly doesn't match Caesers in Las Vegas, it is way cheaper and has all the basic amenities you could want including the price. It is contemporary, clean and quite a relaxing place before or after you do some gaming at the Casino. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and ambiance of this Casino hotel allowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudolferik
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post and for the positive review. We appreciate the feedback and will use the information provided to improve the overall experience for our guests at Mountaineer. I will pass along your comments regarding the buffet to our food & beverage team. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...

Wooster, Ohio
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Nice clean rooms. Decently furnished. Was no toothpaste in room. Kinda used to that. Smelled nice. Received 2/free breakfast coupons. All the hot water you need to. That's a plus. Could have used a view. Just looked out to roofing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank splpizzaguy
James S, Director of Hotel Operations at Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you fro taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback. We do not supply toothpaste in the rooms but do have it available along with razors, combs, etc. if you forget to bring it with you, Just call the operator and we will have it brough to your room. Again, thanks for the review.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newell
12.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in East Liverpool
46 reviews
31.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beaver Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
222 reviews
22.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Weirton
56 reviews
22.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Weirton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The upscale, five-story tower adds 258 rooms, including 20 suites, to Mountaineer's 101-room wing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort

Address: Chester, WV 26047 (Formerly The Grande Hotel At Mountaineer)
Region: United States > West Virginia > Chester
Price Range: RM369 - RM841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Shippingport, Pennsylvania
4 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“(Hotel):Odd rooms face the parking lots. Even numbered rooms face the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles TCOTCC1, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose tower or lodge if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 60JG, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Grand Hotel Not Annex”
 of 5 bubbles drtimt, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just be friendly at the front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles 760adm, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have trouble walking ask for a room at the grand hotel and not the lodge. Lodge=no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles F6079GYdanc, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay