We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Dunbar\/Charleston Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 410: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area
 Click to rate
Wahoo, Nebraska
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first room we were given reeked of smoking. An ozone machine was in the room. When we complained, we were given another room. The next a.m. worker said the previous people had been kicked out of the first room because of the smoking, however the odor was obviously from more than a one night stay. The second room was...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23romab
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I do apologize for the previous guests smoking, they had been there for a few nights up until they were booted out. We do make every attempt to keep people from smoking, but it's not the easiest task. Actually two rooms were charged $500 altogether due to smoking in their rooms today. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Homosassa, Florida, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Excellent place to stay. Quick easy check in and check out. Stayed for 5 days. Friendly and accommodating staff. Room was very private, easy handicap access to our room. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Loved the hotel and staff. Easy interstate access one block away. Kroger grocery store located steps away. Walking distance to Restaurants. Safe and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Wow-that was a wonderful review, and thank you so much! We really appreciate that, and are so happy to hear you will be back to see us again soon! Congratulations and Happy Anniversary!

Mooresboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank franklS4943ZH
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A few of the TV stations were grainy or did not work, even though they were on the TV channel list. Lame breakfast, waffles you need to toast, the apple/orange juice machine broke. Only had coffee and milk. Finally they went to the grocery store that is in the same shopping center and got orange juice and apple juice. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am sorry that the juice machine froze up! It had just been noticed right at breakfast time, and the desk clerk sent someone to get juice as soon as he could. It was back up and running by the next morning. Thank you for the feedback.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H3055ZPjosephc
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the website and at the physical property it says the hotel is non-smoking. My room and basically the whole hotel reeked of smoke. The air conditioner/heater, when turned on, smelled like there was a dead animal inside...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 246spencerp
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that! We are a non-smoking hotel, but unfortunately we have very little control of what goes on behind a guests door once checked in. It is very difficult to pinpoint exactly which room smoke is coming from, and believe me, we try all the time! If we do smell smoke, we go all over...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musikwiz86
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Coxs Creek, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennethbA5790IA
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Satisfied traveler
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was traveling to visit a friend and stayed at this hotel for one night and was pleasantly surprised. The lady at the front desk (Cheryl) was very nice and switched my room for one on the bottom floor when she saw I was disabled. I didn't ask her to but she took it upon her self to make me...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank randybI2982FY
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

Wonderful! We're very glad you were comfortable, as that is ultimately always our goal. Glad to hear you'll be back to see us again, and thank you!

Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire place smells of cigarettes. I had to switch rooms because of it. The pillows smelled musty and cigarettes. It was not clean. Just surface clean.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Super8DunbarGM, General Manager at Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area, responded to this review

I am sorry that you're room had been smoked in. We are a non-smoking hotel, but sadly guests don't always follow rules. We attempt to do everything we can, ozone the room, spray the room, spray the halls, strip and clean everything from the room. Sometimes, it just takes a while before you can't smell it anymore, and it is...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
4.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
493 reviews
3.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
917 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Charleston - Kanawha City
7.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Cross Lanes
248 reviews
15.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our newly renovated Super 8 Dunbar / Charleston Area hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 64 near Mardi Gras Casino & Resort. Our completely non-smoking hotel in Dunbar offers easy access to Charleston-area attractions as well as amenities like free parking for your truck, bus or RV. Sleep well on brand new bedding and pillow-top mattresses in your newly renovated guest room, and start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Check on local events or catch up on work with free Wi-Fi, available throughout our pet-friendly Dunbar hotel. We offer guest laundry facilities for your convenience, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area

Address: 911 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, WV 25064-3126
Region: United States > West Virginia > Dunbar
Price Range: RM264 - RM361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Hotel Dunbar
Super Eight Dunbar
Dunbar Super Eight
Dunbar Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Dunbar/Charleston Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was beside the lobby where everyone checks in and out Gave us total PEACE and QUIET and PRIVACY.”
897kims897, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easy on/off from I64 for an overnight stop.”
638sharrons, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor would probably be better. The basement rooms had a lot of noise from above. But no elevators.”
caseyUs, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, just stairs to the second floor.”
nleff, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can, try speed testing your wifi connection to make sure you're using the fastest (there are multiple)...one was over 50Mbps!”
johnathonm113, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5