We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Preston County Inn

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Preston County Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of The Preston County Inn
 Click to rate
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a sorry excuse for an inn. The room was beyond dirty. The bed we used had clean sheets.... but badly in need of replacing, there were age holes in them. The pillows were flat and small. The bed needs replacing as well, it was lumpy and hard and thin. There were extension cords all over with multiple items plugged...

Thank nell442017
Innkeeper43, Owner at The Preston County Inn, responded to this review

I could go to great length about this guests behavior, he was rude and disrespectful to myself, my wife and my staff from the time he arrived. He littered our planters on the front porch with cigarette butts when there was a stand up ash tray in plain view. We did our best to accommodate him, however he crossed the...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We wanted to see West Virginia off the Interstate- we got a lovely Country Inn in a small town. Beautiful scenery, winding roads that are fun to drive, if not we'll-marked. The Inn is 1850s era, needs considerable updating, but the beds are comfy, the air-conditioning adequate, the hot water plentiful, and the owners friendly and accommodating. There is a...

Thank James L
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Love the old building,staff very friendly, food is good, but rooms are dirty and need a lot of updating, cant open windows, there duct taped location is perfect,a nice little town, love it in kingwood

Thank Ingrid G
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The rooms came at a great rate. We also ate there fairly often, and we thought that both breakfast and dinner were very good. Most of all, I liked the staff, because everyone I encountered was pleasant and unique.

Thank Larry J
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at the Preston County Inn. The staff that I met were very nice people. Anything I needed or any questions I had they took care of it. I have already recommended to some people who I knew were traveling around that area.

1Thank Vivian K
Reviewed 13 September 2015

I don't know where to begin about how shabby,dark, dirty and smelly this place is. It's one thing to be dated in decor but another to be dirty. Soap and elbow grease are cheap. From start to finish, front to back it was awful. As for the staff, forget it. Truly, I'd have preferred to sleep in my car. But...

3Thank Sintita
New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This is a lovely OLD house with the public rooms furnished in period pieces but the bedrooms need updating. Very friendly staff which offsets the shortcomings of the rooms which are small. The bathrooms looks like those you would see at camp, although everything worked...except the air conditioning. The air conditioners are the portable type and did not cool the...

Thank Honeysslave
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 28 July 2015

The Preston County Inn Pictures are very deceiving, place was very dirty, the smell of cat pee in the upstairs hall was very BAD. Outside deck could have been nice, but needed MUCH cleaning, rails were covered in mildew and needed to be washed, cat hair was all over all out door cushions to the point you did not want...

3Thank Laney1986
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The Inn has great historical qualities. The restaurant at the Inn was also very good, and we ate there quite a bit during our stay. I would recommend my friends to stay there if they were ever in Kingwood.

Thank Kate D
Fairmont, West Virginia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

I stayed at The Preston County Inn on a Monday through Thursday when I was there for business and had a very nice experience there. I really liked the atmosphere and found it warm and comfortable. The restaurant there was really good and I would gladly return there and stay again if I find myself in Kingwood again.

Thank Kendra P

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
View from Room (7)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (33)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (9)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (7)
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingwood
25.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
30.5 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.4 km away
Homestead Inn Guest House
Homestead Inn Guest House
#1 of 1 in Reedsville
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
643 reviews
16.6 km away
Alpine Lake Resort
Alpine Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Terra Alta
29 reviews
30.0 km away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn was constructed in the Civil War era by James A. Brown, an attorney and a graduate of West Virginia University. He fell in love with a beautiful girl named Isabel who was from Baltimore. They were married and the house was given to Isabel as a wedding gift from her loving husband. Highlighting the exterior decoration of the house was the roof; in large letters of light colored slate was the word "home." Through the years and change of owners, this was either removed or covered with new roofing. Much of the front part of the home has been restored to its original nature. There are a total of seven fireplaces in The Inn, three downstairs and four upstairs. The hearths and mantels have been refinished and restored to their original condition. Guest sleeping rooms were added in 1948 as a new addition to the inn. Also included in this large addition were the large kitchen and dining room. We are happy that you are here and hope you will enjoy your time with us in our historical surroundings. We will strive to make your dining a pleasure and an experience that you will long remember. In addition to our inn accommodations we also have banquet space and our very own 150-seat restaurant, Maxime's. Our first Maxime's originated in the upper Northwest corner of Washington state in the small coastal community of Stanwood. Maxime's was named after my great uncle whom I had the pleasure of growing up around. In the seven years we were open, we were voted "best restaurant" seven times along with other "best of" awards (examples of which include steak, seafood, ambiance, lunch dinner and outdoor dining). Our goal at Maxime's is to provide quality culinary entrees with excellent service at a reasonable price. We felt that the inn would provide a great setting to continue the tradition we started in the Pacific Northwest. Executive Chef Jean-Manuel Guillot (a graduate of the C.I.A.) and his wife Deborah feel they can restore the inn as a place to dine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Preston County Inn

Address: 112 W Main St, Kingwood, WV 26537-1108
Region: United States > West Virginia > Kingwood
Price Range: RM316 - RM547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston County Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Preston County Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Preston County Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“nasty - stay away from”
Laney1986, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room 19 was almost like a double suite, not large, but larger than expected given other comments in general about the small rooms here.”
doninwv, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Who wrote the glowing and misleading evaluations I found on the site? Family and friends? I am being totally honest here with these criticisms. My advice? Go elsewhere. An historic building in itself is not enough to warrant high prices for sub-standard accomodation and a breakfast to take to your own tiny room to consume..”
  • trailing wires on all walls
  • duc-taped A/C to open window
  • Size of 'double' room
DavidCC121, 19 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Not nice; dirty, small - barely had room for our luggage; bed was super small and we felt like the headboard was going to fall on us!”
sandyj237, 5 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
US$66* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates