We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canoe Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chetek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Canoe Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
Chicago
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A Relais & Chateaux property, one of the 50 most romantic hotels in the world, etc...Canoe Bay sets itself up for world-class expectations and falls short on food and service. We were there for the 4th of July weekend and were pleasantly surprised with an upgraded room. We originally booked a fireplace room and were one of the Dream Cottages....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank ChicagoBauer
Rochester, MN
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Canoe Bay since its beginning, and have the fondest memories of each experience. Seriously, Dan and Lisa have thought of every detail—in aesthetics (the property is gorgeously laid out, with a Frank Lloyd Wright-style waterfall and stream surrounding the Reception area, the loveliest 3-acre organic garden—I want one! I want one!—and fields...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elissa E
Greensboro, NC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We expected a lot out of Canoe Bay when we booked it because it is listed with Relais & Chateaux and it is very expensive. The setting is beautiful and the peace and quiet all that could be expected. We were disappointed in the room, very disappointed in the food and disappointed in the service. There was no one to...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank 50Stater
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry that this couple was disappointed in their stay. At dinner the first night we were eager to provide a substitute or to re-make their plates immediately upon hearing of their dissatisfaction, but our offers were refused. Regarding alcohol, our website clearly states that we do not serve hard liquor (never have); still, I am sorry that...

Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at Canoe Bay. We live in Orange County California and have a lake house in NW Wisconsin. We were looking for a memorable place and we found it. Pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded to a Dream Cottage from the standard room. The cottage was fabulous. First spent 1 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skippybeep
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I spent three relaxing days and nights at Canoe Bay. We stayed in Unit 10, a Lakeside Spa Cottage. It was close to the Inn, where nightly dining is offered as well as a small study and wi-fi. Our proximity allowed us to connect to the internet and that was an added bonus. But, I digress...a successful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMwisconsin0103
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you're looking for a romantic weekend away where you feel tucked away from the craziness of our lives, look no further. The rooms and cabins are well designed and well appointed with everything you need to relax and unwind. The service is impeccable - almost stealth like. We enjoyed a private dinner in the wine cellar to celebrate our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We like to think of Canoe Bay as our own get-away place. We have been here 5 times now over the last 6 years and each time has been as memorable as the others. The first time was for our 24th Anniversary and my wife made the crucial observation that it was the fastest she had ever seen me unwind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry-Kim B
winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Canoe Bay is terrific - it has a very peaceful,quiet setting; and an excellent library of contemporary politics, history and economics. You can get out of your spacious suite, open the door and be in the library, which also has a computer setup. So if you wish, you can be away from it all, yet check up on whatever you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1937Michael
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were very excited to try Canoe Bay. The website shows exactly the kind of place we've been looking for since moving to WI... Adults only, private, and nice views. We made a last minute reservation for Memorial Day weekend (which is also our anniversary weekend). We arrived very late, to a very nice reception. They took us to our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank catfan3333
Lisa D, Owner at Canoe Bay, responded to this review

We really appreciate this guest’s attention to detail—that’s what Canoe Bay is all about! We’re also grateful that they spoke up right away—during their stay—so we could remedy their disappointment with their first cottage’s deck. Our reservation specialists love to chat with guests in advance about their personal preferences to help customize their Canoe Bay experience. Regarding breakfast and lunch,...

Edina, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Before heading to Canoe Bay for a one night stay on a work off-site, I checked Trip Advisor and had the expectation that this inn would be similar to Sea Ranch (another of my reviews) and that my wife and I would be relatively unimpressed. One of my work colleagues had been to Canoe Bay 6 times before and assured...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CSB_Edina

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chetek
12.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Chetek
26.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
25.6 km away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 7 in Rice Lake
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Gathering Place Resort & Lodge
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This resort is for adults seeking seclusion and romance; children are not allowed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canoe Bay

Address: W16065 Hogsback Rd, RR 1, Box 28, Chetek, WI 54728
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Chetek
Price Range: RM1,203 - RM3,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Chetek
Canoe Bay Hotel Chetek
Canoe Bay Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canoe Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Canoe Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There appear to be no bad rooms here”
 of 5 bubbles jasoncF3453GN, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask around and see if friends will let you stay at their lake home on a weekend......”
 of 5 bubbles mhgdds, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I doubt if you could find a "bad" room here.”
 of 5 bubbles onceinawhile31, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a stand alone cabin-the decks are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles NancyGivs, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Library rooms=wonderful, but not as private. Cabins=awesome+private. Restaurant building rooms=least favorite+employees milling around.”
 of 5 bubbles EVLightning, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5