We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Eagle River Inn & Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Eagle River Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This resort is in a great location right off of Hy 70, by Watersmeet Lake and only a couple from miles from town. We had reservations for 4 nights - two of them were for lakeside rooms. When we arrived, I asked if there were lakeside rooms available for all four nights. Nikki (? spelling) was able to find them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRaydar
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! You're correct we're in the midst of a great deal of remodeling but still truly appreciate when our guests point out details like these! We'll get the screen repaired asap and look into having the rental boats stored differently so to avoid the rain water in them. Again, thank you so much for...

ELGIN
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Fabulous location, and great staff. You are located in between great bars and restaurants in Eagle River and St. Germain. The water is pretty weedy around the resort but you are a nice stroll in a boat down the river and onto one of the best chains of lakes in Wisconsin. Tons of great fishing around as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA O
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for a weekend. Parts of it are great, the lobby was beautiful, the pool and hot tub relaxing. The rooms however are very dated. The lobby also apparently serves as the check in on for the staff. The time clock and cards are in full view of guests along with a sign indicating a new policy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Good morning Kelly, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your input and will address items mentioned. We do apologize for the outdated appearance of our guest rooms. We will be renovating the hotel portion of the resort by next summer. We are planning to renovate everything. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Bob

Reviewed 15 August 2016

This hotel needs a total overhaul. How it even has 3 stars and any good reviews is beyond me. The view is the only thing it has going for it. Other than that, it's old and out-dated and in disrepair. ~the room stunk, musty and old and gross. ~the mattresses -- HORRID. Not comfortable, you could feel the springs. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hi Angie! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the inn. We apologize that we didn't live up to your expectations! We have recently gone through a change in ownership and are planning major renovations and changes taking place over the next year, all designed to update and improve our guests experience. Hopefully, you'll give us another...

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Location and grounds are beautiful, pool and lobby are good, continental breakfast fair, but restuarant is horrible! The salad bar is a hot mess, and the service was as bad as I have ever had! Finally left after waiting over an hour for dinner without explanation or apology for lateness of food. Waitress Leanne forgot our drink order (2 simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review and your kind words about our grounds and hotel. We apologize that the restaurant failed to live up to the same positive experience. We are aware of some staffing issues from this past weekend & are actively addressing those. Again, thank you for your review! We appreciate...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

For $129/ night this place is definitely not worth it. For a place called a "resort" I have had better continental breakfasts at a chain hotel. The pool lighting is dark and unsafe. Maid service just takes out your garbage and you have to get your own fresh towels. I'm not going to be a repeat customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purinaguy0021
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are constantly working to improve our guest's experience. I'm sorry you felt the decor was outdated. Rest assured we are in the midst of quite a bit of renovation and take all critiques into account as we strive to improve!

Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Eagle River Inn last weekend. We paid for a lake view room and I would highly recommend it. The room had a walk out patio that overlooked a beautiful peaceful lake. There are comfortable chairs and tables to put your drinks so its nice read and relax. There is a indoor pool too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTravelBug
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank so much for staying with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations.! We hope to see you soon !!

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Two friends and I stayed for several days in July to kayak and enjoy the North Woods. We got a riverside unit with great patio, and the view of the water and well-kept grounds was relaxing. We had a unit with one bedroom (queen), a queen in an alcove off the kitchen and living rm (worked for us). We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your time here. We take pride in making your stay as comfortable as possible I'm not sure what happen with the housekeeping service, but I assure you it isn't typical at this resort. Thank you again, hope to you soon !

Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Enjoyed an excellent fish fry tonight - hadn't been here in years following a bad experience but decided to check out the new chef and remodel - the place was packed and short staffed but it was worth the wait and everyone did their best to accommodate. Soup and salad bar are included with the fish fry - clam chowder...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirbyMKE
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled you came back! Hope to see you soon!

Highland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 19 July 2016

To be fair, the hotel is located in a great spot and could be gorgeous if updated to this century. After reading other reviews, maybe I stayed at an entirely different hotel. Some of the hotel is in the process of an "update," but the room I was provided was squalid. There was nothing rustic about the neglected and dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scmeier1
Bob R, General Manager at Eagle River Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear scmeier, Thank you for your insight on your stay at the Eagle River Inn. We do apologize that you didn't find everything satisfactory. The resort was just purchased in the last year with a full remodel in our plans. We did renovate half of our resort which includes our restaurant and lounge. We are looking to renovate the lodging...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eagle River hotels
6.3 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 13 in Eagle River
157 reviews
1.5 km away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 13 in Eagle River
62 reviews
3.3 km away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 13 in Eagle River
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
BEST WESTERN Derby Inn
#1 of 13 in Eagle River
253 reviews
2.8 km away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#8 of 13 in Eagle River
188 reviews
5.7 km away
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
Hiawatha Lodge Inn
#3 of 13 in Eagle River
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Eagle River Inn & Resort is ideally located on Watersmeet Lake in Eagle River, Wisconsin. The Eagle River area offers outdoor fun and activities no matter what the season. Spring, summer and fall will find you enjoying the famous Eagle River Chain of 28 lakes whether you enjoy boating, fishing, water-skiing, or just relaxing by the waterside. In winter, snowmobile enthusiasts will enjoy riding right from the Eagle River Inn & Resort to over 1,000 miles of trails in the Vilas County area. If you prefer skiing or snowshoeing, the area has many trails to offer. The Eagle River Inn & Resort offers restaurant and lounge. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. If you are looking for a location for a group, we offer banquet facilities that can host over 200 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eagle River Inn & Resort

Address: 5260 Highway 70 West, Eagle River, WI 54521
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Eagle River
Price Range: RM377 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle River Inn & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eagle River Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eagle River Inn & Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
TITUSVILLE
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Eagle River Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lakeside room. Beside it having a beautiful view of the lake it is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles WisconsinRaydar, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for river view with a patio.”
 of 5 bubbles 979maryl, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Didn't go to sleep there, but to eat there. Right next to river with docks.”
 of 5 bubbles TLV007, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sleeper/sofa if you need extra sleeping space.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianneg, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Get river side rooms with a patio”
 of 5 bubbles DianneMKE, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay