We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,035 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Start your review of The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
 Click to rate
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were very impressed with the resort grounds. The room itself was very nice, clean and the beds were really comfortable. The staff we encountered was always very friendly to us. We treated ourselves to a massage and while they were both very good we didn't think they warranted the $135 price tag. I've had massages for less money that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syxepac
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great place. Very clean. Fantastic room with a balcony. Excellent bed. Room had a couch & table big enough for 2 to eat at. Staff very friendly & helpful. Went to the Waterfront bar/restaurant for food and drinks a few times. Average prices expected at a resort setting. Great food. The waitress on Thursday nite was a disappointment. While there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pazz132016
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Pazz132016 Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate you sharing areas where we exceeded your expectations and those areas where we have an opportunity to improve. We look forward to your next visit.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, this is a lovely hotel. The food was delicious and service offered by the valet, front desk, and certain waitstaff (Jaymie and Cali) were outstanding. We took the free shuttle into Lake Geneva for shopping and dining. We had 1 bad experience in restaurant 240West at the hotel however. Waitress Brenda ignored us while waiting to be seated. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Diane C Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreicate you sharing the areas where were delivered outstanding experiences and the areas where we have an opportunity to improve. We have shared your feedback with our management team to ensure it is addressed. We look forward to your next visit, where we hope to...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very fun place to go to relax, get away from things. The spa was very relaxing, although very busy. The restaurants were all good, service pleasant. We had everything we needed without having to leave the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zeusy33
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Zeusy33, Thank you for your five star review. Avani Spa is the perfect place for a girl's getaway. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed for two nights during off season. The food was great and service was outstanding. Very quiet in the winter which was nice for a quiet getaway. The rooms were fine and updated which I appreciated. Very clean. Very far from anything to do- even target and walmart were about 25 minutes away. The wifi did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Baily W
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Abbey feels like it could have once been the Kellerman Resort from "Dirty Dancing". But with new renovations and updates, it's very comfortable and lovely. Stayed here for a couples getaway on a cold March weekend. Our room was cozy, bed was comfy, and bathroom had all the basic essentials. The walk from the lobby to our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Katie D Thank you for your wonderful compliments about resort and staff. We can't wait to welcome you again!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My best friend and I had a wonderful girls' weekend at the Abbey Resort! Clean, comfortable rooms, great spa/pool, nice restaurants. We both got our very first professional massages and they did not disappoint! Great value as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lschulte93
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The abbey is Ina great location. Right on the water. Rooms are spacious with a fridge and microwave. The general pool and hot tub are crowded and the spa has a separate pool and hot tub which come with a spa service or you can pay extra. It is well worth it because the spa is wonderful. 240 west, their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FunTravelerXOXO
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

FunTravelerXOXO Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with future travelers. We look forward to your next stay.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We opted for a babymoon package and i was so looking forward to it. However, nothing was memorable. For $800/night package, definitely not the service we hoped for. All the masseuse were quite old and had no quality touch whatsoever. They even messed up my prenatal masasage as the massage lady didnt even know i was pregnant!!! This is inspite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PKNM
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

PKNM Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to read of your stay with us. Could you please direct message us at schmitz@theabbeyresort.com so that we can have our spa director contact you? Thank you

Minocqua, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love The Abbey! This is our second family post Christmas get together and we're so happy we came back again. The accommodations are comfy and there is much to do, if you want. The weekend we were there weather was crazy warm, so no ice skating this year. But it allowed us to be on the beach making sand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this review

Penny F Thank you for your five star review and wonderful compliments about our resort. We can't wait to welcome you and your family again.

672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (100)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (353)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Harbour View King (37)
Viewed
Harbour View Queen (26)
Viewed
Harbour View Suite (38)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Spa Pool (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
6.8 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
157 reviews
11.4 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
471 reviews
12.8 km away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
955 reviews
7.7 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
76 reviews
12.6 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Price Range: RM496 - RM1,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to sleep in late on a sunny day, probably won't happen, the rooms are very pleasantly bright, even with the blinds drawn!”
 of 5 bubbles zeusy33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Use groupon for a good deal.”
 of 5 bubbles bailyw2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suite was nice for 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles brendasE3906AZ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be on the first floor you get a patio off your room then.”
 of 5 bubbles Zena347, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No tip necessary. All rooms are a delight.”
 of 5 bubbles margeo2013, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5