We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Heidel House Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Heidel House Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 514: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A 50 foot plus long buffet ,all the great and delicious foods one can think of , plus such great service ( TKS Joannie and Rose) All our family had a wonderful time together !we will all be back for Easter to

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Resort/Hotel could use a little more detail cleaning and some updating, the Spa was A1. Bar service very slow, I ran to the room to get a beer and when I got back we still had not been waited on. Location perfect and beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank GirlsWeekend7
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were here for a couple's retreat and pulling into the resort we weren't overly enthused. Poor signage from the road and poor parking choices available. Walking into the resort just wasn't inviting- dirty, grungy, poor lighting... We get to our room and we have a nice view which we requested- but then here comes the room inspection. Cobwebs everywhere,... More 

Helpful?
Thank womanoffaith81
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write of your recent visit to Heidel House Resort & Spa. We truly value guest feedback and enjoy hearing what people have to say, even if criticisms are noted. This is an invaluable tool, allowing us to focus on what we are doing right and what we need to improve. Thank you for your... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the room we stayed in had a wonderful view, it was less than clean. We did not mind the room décor being dated but were very unhappy with the overall cleanliness of the room A good spring cleaning would go a long way. The room also was uncomfortably warm during the night because the thermostat did not work properly... More 

Helpful?
Thank trudy1015
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the wonderful view from your room. It is disappointing however, to learn that your stay was lessened by the cleanliness of your room. Your concerns regarding this as well as your dining experience have been addressed with the appropriate departments.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful property on a beautiful lake! Wonderful band, food and drink. I had a little fall and needed stitches. The night property manager of The Heidel House by the name of Brian Gonya took me to the Ripon 24hr care. He stayed with us until 1:30 in the morning and then drove us back to our property on the lake.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Laura, thank you for sharing your five star experience with us! We are delighted you could join us for our Oktoberfest celebration and that you had a great time. We’re sorry to hear that you had to cut the night short with a visit to the hospital, but are pleased that Brian was able to take care of you. We... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Spent the weekend at Heidel House. Wonderful location, with lakeside room. Room was spacious -- and with the patio overlooking the lake a great place to unwind. Low-key and restful. That said, the resort is tired and needs work...especially the bathrooms. Everything is shabby...from rug to furniture. Also sort of dirty. The fitness center was so dingy that I refused... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne1101
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views. However, we are disappointed to learn that the cleanliness lessened your experience here. Please know that your concerns have been addressed with our housekeeping department. Once more, thank you for your feedback. Whether positive or constructive, it is an extremely valuable tool. More 

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Are you looking for a scenic getaway? A romantic haven for a wedding? Heidel House is ideal with its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee and Madison. I imagine that it is gorgeous in every season as it is situated right on the lake. Hiking, golf and water sports are all there, not to mention the reputedly excellent spa. The services seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Teresa, thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and were able to spend time relaxing with the gorgeous views and fresh air. Your recommendations are truly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon. More 

chicago
Level Contributor
336 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms clean, comfortable, staff friendly. Restaurant food very good. Does not allow pets. Near golf courses. Has view of the lake. Would return. A little confusing finding your way around but didnt get lost for long.

Helpful?
Thank chicagotoots
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that your experience was a pleasant one and that you were able to enjoy your time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I arrived on Sunday afternoon at 2 pm - no place to grab a bite to eat not to drink. Retails shop closed as well. Not up to expectations. Banquet hall looked dated, food mediocre, on par with service.

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Peter, thank you for reviewing us. We are disappointed that your experience did not live up to your expectations. We strive to provide excellent service and clearly we fell short of that goal. Again, thank you for your feedback, whether positive or constructive it is a powerful tool. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

What a beautiful location and tons of potential, however poor service and overall experience. The overall hotel was not clean. Our room did not have soap and the house cleaning personal would not help us. We ate at the Boathouse Pub and had very poor service and burnt food. Breakfast in the Sunroom was very nice and food was good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Watershed1
Kevin K, General Manager at Heidel House Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and your visit to the spa. However, it is regretful to learn that your guest room and other dining experiences were disappointing. Please know that we value your feedback and have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments. Once more, thank you... More 

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Lake
7.1 km away
Comfort Suites at Royal Ridges
6.9 km away
Boarders Inn and Suites Ripon, WI
9.0 km away
Welcome Inn
Welcome Inn
#3 of 3 in Ripon
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Countryside Lodge Magnuson Hotel
35.0 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oshkosh
29.4 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked away on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa is a year-round Wisconsin resort destination. Unwind, slow down and recharge at our full service resort, where fresh air and miles of shoreline are just the beginning of your Midwest lakefront getaway. For over 60 years, guests have returned to enjoy exquisite dining, championship golf, tranquil spa retreats and more. Together, these create an unparalleled Green Lake experience that you'll, too, want to enjoy again and again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Price Range: RM391 - RM645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heidel House Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Heidel House Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner suites are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles GirlsWeekend7, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles trudy1015, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A view of the lake surrounded by trees.”
 of 5 bubbles laurabR314ZD, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here, get a room with a lake view...”
 of 5 bubbles Yvonne1101, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles radski5, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay