We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Riverside Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Riverside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Riverside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Just stayed for one night. Everything was just fine, good shower, comfortable bed, wifi worked great, a plus because my cell phone doesn't work well around Hayward. Nice little outdoor sitting area and dock on the river. Can't beat it for the price.

Helpful?
Thank toni w
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive and encouraging review of our property! Again, we have to say that we, the owners, are not doing the work alone. As a matter of fact, this year we have more persons working than in previous years, and have hired one person alone for landscaping and property projects... More 

Brainerd
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I search out the 'Mom & Pops' as opposed to the huge, sterile big company hotels. My most important criteria is to be clean. The Riverside was awesome. The main room had plenty of room, frig, microwave, table & chairs, and a nice padded bench for sitting or staging our luggage. The bathroom was really nice - all tiled, large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Yes indeed, the persons who work here are into the details of cleaning ... the owner has military experience, and employees are instructed to look beyond the normal vision range, that means up and down, and work thoroughly that way. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your... More 

Neptune, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

My husband and I had such a wonderful stay here. Rooms are impeccably clean and cozy - you feel right at home. Definitely go for a room on the water. You will be able to enjoy a spacious little deck/balcony type area right next to the water! If you happen to be an early riser, you will enjoy relaxing watching... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janetta D
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed a truly magical stay in one of our Waterfront Rooms overlooking the Namekagon River/Lake Hayward. We have been able to take quite a few photos of sunrises and sunsets over the years, and also the different wild flowers growing at the shore. Lake Hayward is unique in that it is a flowage in the city... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We found this one night after riding all day from the UP. Typically I don't call hotels if there is no indication on this app that they have availability. (And this hotel did not have info about availability.). But we really didn't want to stay at a chain, so I gave it a shot. I am so glad we did!... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Esther S
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review of our property. We also sometimes stay in large hotels because there isn't anything else available. Unfortunately, our experiences were often not as good as expected. Our motel in Hayward is unique because it is owner operated, and not affiliated with a chain. Our property is a waterfront location in the city. Our employees... More 

Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Not fancy but clean and the view of the lake beautiful. The price was very reasonable. We took our grandson and he wanted to swim and while there are no beaches or public swimming pools, the other chain hotels in the area charge $5-$7 per person to swim at their indoor-heated pool. Would stay there again as we went to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Actually, there is a beach on Lake Hayward, and it is very close by. You can walk, drive, or get there with a boat or canoe from our property. We have a variety at room options available, Standard Rooms, Waterfront Rooms and a new 830 sq ft. upstairs suite with river views, and then some German built log cabins. Coming... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I was totally pleased when we walked into the room here. It's clean, homey, comfortable, and enjoyable. We booked a room with a semi-private deck overlooking the lake, and spent quite a bit of time of time out there (semi-private in that there is only lattice-work separating the decks for each of the 5 rooms). There is a small fridge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J-9inIA
Innkeeper27, General Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review of our property in Hayward, Wisconsin! We are glad that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation in one of our Waterfront rooms on Lake Hayward with your own deck! To use internet, you have to use a password, and this password is printed on the instructions by your telephone in the room.There is... More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Three girl friends (seniors) moved in on a rainy afternoon. As soon as we looked at the deck with a beautiful view, the sun came out and stayed the whole time we were there. We enjoyed the motel; it was clean, quaint, had everything with needed to make us feel at home. Horst and Elisabeth are the perfect hosts. It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Frankie S
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write! It is always a treat for us to talk a little German and meet someone from our country called homeland! We hope that the rest of your vacation was relaxing and pleasant, and we are glad that you enjoyed your room! A deck or balcony on the... More 

Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Our stay was good. The staff was very polite and friendly. It was very close to shopping, attractions, and walking to down town. Our biggest complaint was the beds were very uncomfortable and noisy. By noisy I mean the beds were spring mattresses and every time someone moved they squeaked loudly. We will stay again. We recommend getting the Riverview... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia J
Innkeeper27, Front Office Manager at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, we always appreciate an honest input. Please also remember to speak to innkeepers or employees in person about things .(I believe we had some issues from a lightening strike when you checked in, and spoke to you about it.) Thank you for your patience.... More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed one night in a double room. Small but clean. Decent beds, pillows too hard for me, ok for my partner. Bathroom and shower were small, tiny soaps, minimum number of towels that were quite small, not bath size at all. Shower faucet control was very difficult to regulate, either all hot or all cold. Coffee machine provided, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank LSM258132
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

This review does n o t represent reality, all tact an politeness considered. Dear guest, please get current on hotel rates in Hayward and other cities on the planet. Our rates are perhaps behind the times, but n o t our rooms!!! The USA is a free country, and it is indeed possible online to put down anyone, anywhere, not... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Appears to be well run, well managed facility. Our room was clean and everything worked. Unfortunately the room we had faced a very busy highway and considerable noise even late at night. It is an old style motel - one window with no cross ventilation. Would request one of the rooms off of the highway. Might also want to bring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
Innkeeper27, Owner at The Riverside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad that you found your guestroom clean and appliances in working order. State Road 27 is a busy road during daytime working hours, and quiets down considerably during the night. We lived in our business for 20 years, right in and above the building where guests check in and had... More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
164 reviews
0.7 km away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
88 reviews
1.4 km away
AmericInn Hayward
AmericInn Hayward
#4 of 14 in Hayward
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#12 of 14 in Hayward
16 reviews
37.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
2.2 km away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#14 of 14 in Hayward
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Riverside Motel is located in walking distance to several downtown restaurants and shops. The Hayward municipal Beach and Park as well as the Lumberjack World Championship arena are approximately 10 minutes to walk. We occasionally offer discount coupons to a local Fitness Center. Fishing is allowed on our piers (we suggest catch and release). Our breakfast is continental, 7.30 AM to 10 AM. Also, a bicycle trail runs alongside our property for jogging, biking and even dog walking! Among winter activities are snowmobiling (access snow trail 31 from our parking lot), cross country skiing and ice fishing, also snow shoe hiking. In June of 2014, we added a new and beautiful "Upstairs Suite with River Views" of 730+ sq. Feet. This suite sleeps maximum 5 persons! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Riverside Motel

Address: 10429N State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Price Range: RM331 - RM1,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Riverside Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Riverside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabins are a true delight, a place of your own.”
 of 5 bubbles 656stephent, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“any room would work for me. All are quiet and adjacent to parking one step from the door.”
 of 5 bubbles fotogod, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Riverside for sure!”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy2Go, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pick rooms that are not FACING the street.”
 of 5 bubbles MaityT, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with the decks are most relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles J-9inIA, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay