We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

791 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 778: English reviews
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 15 April 2016

After most hotels in the area were booked, I had to book with the Hampton Inn Downtown and I wish I wouldn't have. The front desk staff was immediately rude upon my arrival and my room wasn't even available until 5:00 after it is supposed to be a 3:00pm check in. The two at the front desk Michael and Mariah...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gregp1739
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

At the Hampton Inn & Suites we do take our service very seriously, and will certainly utilize your feedback to assist in training our staff. We are surprised to hear such, as these two associates have been acknowledged by many guests as providing excellent service and exuding "Hamptonality". Thank you.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed over a weekend with three kids. It wasn't the worst, but not the best we've stayed at and I probably wouldn't return. Pros: - Good downtown location, we walked to several places - Iced water, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa in lobby - Cheap rooms - Breakfast service was hopping. The were constantly refilling things and cleaning off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheFunMama
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are happy to hear you found our location to be convenient while you were in town. The complimentary hot breakfast selections vary by day, and we are sorry to hear you did not find it satisfying. We work to constantly make improvements, and all feedback will be shared and reviewed with our staff...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I am a Hilton fan when in Milwaukee I usually stay at the Garden Inn or Downtown Hilton but they were full so I stayed at the Hampton Inn. It was fine. The room was very large and comfortable great light and clean. The hotel is a bit dated. Location is great.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David V
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Milwaukee. We understand there are many Hilton options in the area, and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and found our location to be central to many area attractions.

Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Okay, so I don't expect the moon from Hampton Inns, but this is a property that Hilton has definitely given up on. Shoddy housekeeping, poorly maintained rooms, non-functional HVAC, staff that is fake nice but doesn't really respond to requests or room issues. Breakfast was all prepackaged except for the bright green bananas and mealy apples....enough said.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. All comments are taken seriously, and as the hotel has recently undergone new management, we are focused on making many improvements. We will certainly share your feedback with ownership.

Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed 7 April 2016

It was just ok, very busy. The inn was booked full which made the continental breakfast crowded. Things just seemed dingy, wallpaper falling off in bathroom,windows sills dirty, outside lights covers off or broken. Room pretty nice otherwise however, I expected little more for the money....

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victor H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient. Recently, the hotel was purchased by a new ownership group and they are in the process of repairing and upgrading the property. Please visit again in the near future to see the changes taking place.

Michigan
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Friendly staff. HORRIBLE internet connection, it would take 5 minutes to connect and then just boot you off at any given time. The hot tub didn't work, which is one of the BIGGEST reasons I choose this hotel. After a 6 hour drive and 8 hour conferences, a nice long soak would of been nice. The website said free parking,...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 231tara
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for recently choosing to stay with us. We utilize all feedback as a training tool for our management and staff to make improvements to the property. The whirlpool has since been repaired and is running smoothly. We appreciate your commitment to utilizing Hilton hotels, and hope that you visit again soon to see the improvements that have been...

Edina, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The staff was friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was much more than you get at many places, it was a convenient location and the beds were super comfortable. I'd have no problem staying here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the great hot breakfast buffet! We take great pride in our "Hamptonality" and share all feedback with our staff. Please visit again - there are so many activities taking place during the Summer months and we are centrally located to all of the festivals.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed at Hampton Downtown for both business & mini family vacation. Every aspect of our stay was great. The complimentary breakfast was amazing! Plenty of choices for all. Our room was clean and comfy.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorieg607
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you! We are happy to hear that you were able to tie business and family travel into one trip. We do provide a great complimentary hot breakfast each day with a wide variety of items to please a wide variety of appetites. Please visit again soon!

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This hotel did not live up to the other Hampton inns we have stayed at in the US. It felt like it had a quick remodel a few years ago that just isn't holding up. It could us some TLC and a good laundry crew.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesnB9807MW
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. The hotel was recently purchased by a new ownership group and they are planning many improvements throughout the building. Please visit again in the future!

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I travel for business a LOT and to Milwaukee a LOT. I'm also a Hilton Honors Diamond member but these facts obviously are immaterial. I did the on-line check in for a nice and spacious room n the 9th floor and stated my check in time as 4pm. I arrived at 3:45 pm and was told the room was an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey A
Denise H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, and please do accept our sincere apology that you did not receive the room requested upon arrival. We utilize these reviews to train our management and staff. Thank you for choosing Hilton as your preferred hotel choice, and we recognize that you have many hotel choices in Milwaukee. Please consider staying...

328 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Double Suite (32)
Viewed
King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Double (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#35 of 54 in Milwaukee
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#38 of 54 in Milwaukee
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Price Range: RM450 - RM1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take a room overlooking the service area - due to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles richardcC4596HG, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room looked over an enclosed escape staircase. Stay away from rooms close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Poissonoeuf, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You'll have to ask for view room - not sure of sound. Sorry”
 of 5 bubbles paulwP2118SD, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 511 which had a small window and not a good view; however, it was off the main avenue and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonKfromsac, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a shopping mall view because it can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 850mitchellg, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5