We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Metro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Metro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Metro
 Click to rate
Wolcottville, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must say that this hotel is everything it is cracked up to be. It is fancy, clean, and relaxing. We paid over $200 a night but you "get what you pay for". Our room was amazingly beautiful and romantic! We stayed in the King Spa. It had a huge whirl pool tub that fit both of us and felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allyson S
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place located in the city center. Historic hotel with a lot of charm. Traditional setup in lobby is very classy. I like a lot having a aperitif bar in this architectural beauty. My room was spacious and quality mattress provide a good night sleep. For this quality hotel is big "no-no" to have almost plugged sink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirdob
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!! We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Milwaukee!!

chicago
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Disappointing stay especially for the price. Paid upwards $400 for a 1-night stay in a 2-bedroom suite that was not what we expected. The 4 of us shared a large suite but there were many issues. The smaller bedroom had no door and the larger bedroom had two large cutouts (?!?) in the wall! We could hear each other from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cestlasylvie
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It looks like we missed the mark on a few things and we do extend our sincerest apology to you. We will be undergoing a multi million dollar renovation in the very near future, and a lot of these issues will be addressed. Nonetheless thank you very much.

Grafton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I have stayed here many times in the past when I have early morning meetings scheduled downtown. This time was really disappointing. I couldn't sleep because of the loud banging of the pipes all night. And no coffee in the lobby. Just a $3 8oz lukewarm coffee. It's the Pfister for me next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaminWI
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed here for fun for one night and it was great. Really uniquely designed rooms, a huge tub in the bathroom which was nice. The bed was pretty hard and valet was 27 dollars. The French restaurant in the hotel, as well as the hotel bar were both really good. Walkable to bars, restaurants, and theatres.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigikins07
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Delavan, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Easy in and out. The room was set up like a suite. Excellent minibar options at reasonable prices. The bathroom was amazing with the double tub and the shower. Comfy bathrobes. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly but they got the job done. The bar and restaurant looked really cool however I did not eat there or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!! We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Milwaukee.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at this property. The hotel has a trendy vintage vibe and my room was incredibly large with a sitting area, bedroom area, and enormous bathroom with a huge tub and two entrances. Also has a good location. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakelandalumni
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words!! Be sure to come back to visit us again.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 24 January 2017

As others mentioned, the pillows, even with four of them to choose from, were all hard and horrible. I went without. The mattress was also hard, lumpy and canted to the middle. But the worst was the noise from possibly "Cubanitas" or some other club/bar nearby. Went to bed at 10 and the bass throb from the music was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbm249
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get a good night's rest. We do have rooms that are on a higher floor on the opposite side of the hotel, perhaps that would have been a better choice for you. We also have bell staff...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Boyfriend and I came back to hotel metro after having a great time in December 2015. We love the whirlpool suites. We were slightly bummed to see that they had replaced their restaurant with something new, but that's not to say the new restaurant isn't great. We just really loved the bruschetta and spinach dip from the old place. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn B
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will definitely share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Milwaukee.

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The good - great location, great valet, nice servers in restaurants, fireplace in the room. The bad - really run down. Drapes were faded, frayed, most did not close. Just pretty gross. The bed was very hard and pillows awful. The room was pretty clean but there is so much cleaning up and updating needed in this hotel. The furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
Natasha B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to do some renovating in the very near future. This feedback is very helpful and much appreciated.

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Price Range: RM854 - RM1,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Metro staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Metro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spa King is on 6th floor right next to the entrance to the elevator and the hot tub area”
  • King Spa
  • King Spa
  • King Spa
allysons672, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take rooms low down on the SW side.”
hbm249, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the elevators and don't get a room top floor with AC issues”
MrSmokeyMountainMan, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“corner rooms are the biggest.”
mattpR5830NG, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Phister is right around the corner”
  • Mold in EVERY corner of the shower.
  • Different inner corner for mold
207spencev, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5