We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Booking.comUS$74*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 239: English reviews
Two Rivers, United States
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I stayed at this hotel for business several times and have always enjoyed excellent service from the staff, beautiful clean rooms with very comfortable beds and furniture. The fitness and pool area is more than adequate for the end of day exercise and work outs. I also enjoy the breakfast offerings as they are both wholesome and have lots of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so happy to see that you enjoy staying with us and that the ammenties are to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Somerset
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Had a very nice stay at this motel . Great rooms , pool area , and breakfast . The motel was very clean and well maintained . I would not hesitate to tell others to stay here as it is a great place with a very good rate .

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerome F
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review!! I am happy to see that the hotel met your expectations and we hope to see you again soon!

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The rooms are clean and adequately sized - ok but nothing special. Breakfast was limited. the hott dish was biscuits and gravy - in Wisconsin? Best thing hotel has is Suzy's restaurant across the parking lot for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GolferKen
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the hotel not meeting your expectations. We do hope you will try us again if you are in our area.

Denver, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Nice hotel in great location for this small Wisconsin Town. The staff was friendly; the breakfast left a bit to be desired; the rooms are spacious and well kept. Suzy's across the parking lot provides easy access to reasonable dining.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel a review of your recent stay. We appreciate the compliments and I apologize for the breakfast not meeting your needs. We hope to see you again if you are in the area.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Overall an average place. The room had a musty odor but after running the fan for awhile it was better. The room has a nice fan that can run continually and provide good white noise. Just average in terms of cleanliness. Shower curtain was musty and stained at the bottom. One of the drawers in the nightstand was pretty dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riserks
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay. I do apologize for the cleanliness issue, I will speak with the housekeeping staff about this. We hope to see you again if you are in our area.

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My family & I stayed a Friday & Saturday night in August. The hotel is right off I-39 about 15-20 minutes from the Dells. The man at the front desk who checked us in was kind of gruff and quirky at check in but efficient. When I later asked if I could ask him a question, he replied "I suppose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chibearbob
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay. While I am happy that you will choose to stay with us again, I do apologize for the issues that did occur during your stay. The birds hopefully will be gone soon and we can take care of the problem, they are legally protected so there is nothing that we can do...

Oshkosh, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Our bathroom still had the last occupants hair stuck to the shower wall, if it had not been 11:00 at night, I would have requested a different room. Shower grout was also dirty & nasty, whirlpool tub looked filthy and couldn't imagine anyone using it. Water pressure very poor and the cheapest excuse for soap & shampoo that I've ever...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay. I do apologize for the cleanliness and the water pressure, I will speak with the housekeeping staff and maintenance person to make sure this is taken care of. I also apologize that you did not like the shampoo and soap choices.

Millstone township,NJ
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Amenities were good but it's location is not good. Very far, i.e 20 miles from the main city. No restaurants or shopping areas were close by. Breakfast is included so it's a plus factor. Toilet was very very old fashioned.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farzana I
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are 20 minutes from Wisconsin Dells, but we do not claim to be in the Dells so unsure of what "main city" you are referring to. There are restaurants and some shopping just about a mile from the hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the location, but hope you will...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during the International Edsel Club Rally. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well kept. The breakfast was good, but seating was a bit limited. Not much area in the lobby to gather with friends. Overall it was a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug H
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a review of your stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with the Edsel Group. I hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the area.

indianapolis, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We were there for an Edsel convention. We couldn't ask for better service and location. It was so cool to see all our Edsel signs and all the great cars parked in the parking lot. I think there were over 50 cars and the staff made sure we had a space for every one of them.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Betty F
BW_Manager20, Manager at Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give such a great review of your stay! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and it was such a pleasure to have your group here. We hope to see you again if you are ever in this area again!

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
9.7 km away
Comfort Suites Wisconsin Dells Area
9.6 km away
Days Inn Portage
Days Inn Portage
#4 of 6 in Portage
418 reviews
26.3 km away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ridge Motor Inn
Ridge Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Portage
55 reviews
20.8 km away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
152 reviews
25.8 km away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 County Road CX, Portage, WI 53901-9268 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Resort Hotel & Conference Center)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Portage
Price Range: RM316 - RM637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Villa Park, Illinois
10 months ago
Wausau, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Resort Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“call ahead if you want joining rooms”
ISEI3, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book on 5th floor for pleasant view”
Manny965, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be Careful Parking Your Car Due to the Swallows Making Mud Nests on the Walls of the Hotel.”
chibearbob, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I took the ground floor and probably got a handicapped bath. This made it harder to wash my hair and face.”
I7714UTwilliamc, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Always checks under the sheet and between the mattress and box spring for bed bugs”
Asyngin, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$84
Orbitz.comUS$74
Hotels.comUS$74
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates