We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Acres Resort

Booking.comUS$89*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Acres Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Acres Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Muskego, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Room was very clean and comfortable. Resort had lots to do, nice water front views, pet friendly. Food at lodge was not so good, service was horrible. Coffee shop was not staffed and expected to keep beverage there, old shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Acres. We are pleased that you found our crew very friendly, and that you enjoyed all the recreation at the resort. My apologies for your poor experience at our coffee shop. Although I do not know the circumstances, it is important to all of us, including our staff,...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Last year my family and I went to Holiday Acres and rented The Big Pine for a week in early August. Needless to say, there were many issues we had with the place, although it didn't deter us from having a great vacation. The review I left was fair and I think management read it because the majority of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wisco F
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wisco F, Thank you for writing a TA review. Your suggestions are valued. Our maintenance crew constantly work to improve our accommodations and specifics from guests help a lot! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Hope you will catch that legal musky! -Kari Z.

Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We had a walk out lower room in the hotel area. This is nice because you can get right to the beach and community fire pit. There are a lot of rentals like canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, and bikes. The beach is nice for kids and the pool too. Breakfast was too funny. ... summer kids doing all the work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbrown1385
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Deat kbrown1385, We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and were able to enjoy our facilities, including the beach and pool. Your constructive comments are appreciated...our summer staff training is often too short, and we will remember some of your thoughts when we work with them in the future. Thank you for visiting Holiday Acres and for taking the...

De Soto
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I was definitely not disappointed when I visited Holiday Acres after a number of years. It was like going home. As a child, I grew up going to Holiday Acres with my family, and, as an adult, my children loved our week at HA. Even when they were adults, we came back. I had the opportunity to stay at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chris K, Your very kind review was so very much appreciated. It warms our hearts to see old friends return with their kids and grand-kids! As a multi generational family business, it is one of the things that gives us great pleasure. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals, our staff and our grounds in your recent visit....

Peru, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This place was nice and clean. A cute place to stay with a family. Pool was warm. Swimming beach was clean. TV had many channels and free wifi. It was a couple miles away from stores. The only thing bad id say was that no one informed me to check at the front desk for daily events so I missed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueT5894ZD
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear sueT5894ZD, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.Your nice comments are very much appreciated. Please accept our apologies that you did not receive a newsletter with weekly summer activities when you arrived. One of the things that we enjoy most in the summertime is the opportunity to meet our guests at our Tuesday Evening...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We selected this property rather than a "chain" motel in Rhinelander and were not disappointed. The property gave us the opportunity to stroll around the property and enjoy the view. Regrettably the restaurant was a disaster. We sat down for dinner at 7:00PM. I ordered the "special" (Prime Rib). Our soup and salad came at 7:05PM and was great. At...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear Richard C, Your TA review is much appreciated. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your resort stay. We are sorry that your restaurant experience was a disappointment. Although I am not sure of the reasons for the poor service, all our staff is conscientious and strive to offer a great experience to their dinner guests. Sincere...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We normally do not need a place to stay, but due to a large number of people traveling Internationally for a wedding we just stayed at Holiday Acres where the Reception and Wedding were held. We rented a cabin with 2 Bedrooms and it was the perfect size for our Family. Just big enough to relax when it rained, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John E
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear John E, It is so very important to all of us at Holiday Acres to offer our guests a great stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both your family wedding and your accommodations! Thank you so very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Our crew works hard and the good words mean a lot! -Kari...

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My home that we lived in for only 2 weeks was damaged very badly from water. My insurance contracted a company from a big city to find temporary housing for us...whom had a major fail in doing so. After five moves from hotel to hotel and a moldy hotel in the middle of it all, I called Holiday Acres, remembering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your terrific review of your extensive tour of accommodations! We are delighted that you could be with us during a challenging time for your family and that your stay was a respite for all your family. Everyone at Holiday Acres works hard to make sure guest have a wonderful time. Your comments mean a lot...

Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Holiday Acres is a charming, old-fashioned setting for a wonderful family vacation. We rented several of the various vacation cabins on the property over the past several years. The ones right on the lake are the best, with fantastic views of Lake Thompson. This is a family run business and the owners are really great. They provide many special aspects...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

Dear Karen N- Your TA review warmed our hearts! We strive to be just what you describe, "Holiday Acres is a charming, old-fashioned setting for a wonderful family vacation." We delight in seeing families leave their routines, and have the opportunity to relax and enjoy one another. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It means so much to us. -Kari...

Johnson Creek
Reviewed 12 June 2015

we stayed here a weekend for a wedding. very nice place. staff in the restaurant and banquent staff for the wedding where awesome. very impressed. We didn't get the rate of the wedding party which sucked but oh well thats what happens. $28.00 for 2 days of a roll away bed either pay it or bring extra blankets. Beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
hodag, Owner at Holiday Acres Resort, responded to this review

It makes us so very happy when our guests enjoy their stay (and the wedding that you attended) at Holiday Acres. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will be able to come again soon. Kari Z.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinelander
8.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rhinelander
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
44 reviews
8.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 8 in Rhinelander
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
163 reviews
31.8 km away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
62 reviews
8.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 8 in Rhinelander
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since 1949, the Zambon family has welcomed visitors to experience the classic Northwoods resort at Holiday Acres on Lake Thompson in Rhinelander, Wisconsin. Encompassing 1000 acres of woodland and lakeshore, the resort offers four season relaxation, a great restaurant, indoor swimming and sauna, plus many outdoor amenities. With a variety of lodging choices, guest rooms, cottage, and vacation homes, everyone can find a home away from home. Retreat, relax and rediscover Your Place UpNorth! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Acres Resort

Address: 4060 S Shore Dr, Rhinelander, WI 54501-8258
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Rhinelander
Price Range: RM368 - RM680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Acres Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Acres Hotel Rhinelander
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Acres Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Waterloo, Wisconsin
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Acres Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure of what you are getting”
69clj, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are best. Hotel rooms are nothing special but a must for winter.”
N4773RJrobertd, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The website rooms are very accurate. We had a cabin and it is rustic but comfy.”
shark182, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with parking lot views are bigger and more modern. Rooms with a lake view are quieter but smaller.”
G3943VZmichaelm, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lake cabins are the best.”
ddubcabin4, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$89
Hotwire.comUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates