We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bear Lodge

1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (9)


#1 of 4 hotels in Saint Germain
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Entertainment staff
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
181Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 116
  • 45
  • 11
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jody R wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
stayed one week. First day 2nd bathroom toilet was broken. said they would take care of it BUT never did during our stay. For entire wee maintenance were washing buildings all around us and one day could not use our patio. Noise from washing continued throughout our entire stay. One day had no electricity for several hours and had to find someone to turn it on after they turned it off to fix something. The whole week seemed like we were in a construction zone. Not peaceful. These were the lodge condos we were in. We paid a huge premium price for room just to put up with this construction. PLEASE do not stay there. The owners do not care about there rental people ONLY the money. Their attitude was....so sad, to bad.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pick another place to stay
See more room tips
JordanL71 wrote a review Sep 2021
Northbrook, Illinois91 contributions22 helpful votes
We rented the Eagle's Nest for a week. This is a two bedroom, one bath cabin.  One bedroom has a queen bed, the other has two twin beds. This was perfect for our young family as the kids each got their own bed. The living room is roomy and has a gas fireplace, a kitchen table with six chairs, two recliners, and a pull out couch. It has a 40" LCD TV with basic cable, and a DVD player. WiFi was pretty weak in the cabin (I found the antenna and it seemed like they had it aimed more toward other cabins.) The kitchen had almost everything we needed. There was a can opener, but it was almost unusable, but everything else from pots and pans, knives, plates, glasses, and silverware were good.  The cabin does have ceiling fans in the bedrooms and plenty of box fans, unfortunately there is no AC so on hot or rainy days it can get a little stuffy. The only real challenge we had was the size of the bathroom. It has a bath/shower, a toilet, and a sink. The bathroom is very tight with barely enough room to turn around, there is very little counter space so we kept our toiletries in our room and brought them into the bathroom when needed, and my 5 year old daughter had a little difficulty with the sink since it's on the high side. We rented a pontoon boat on two different days, which was excellent. The boats are brand new and work well.  We rented a Montego Bay one day and a Bennington the other. We felt the Montego Bay had a better layout but the Bennington had better handling. Both were excellent boats and you can't go wrong either way. Lake Little St. Germain is very weedy, especially late in the summer, so watch out for the shallow spots. We tried our hand at fishing and while the lake is known for northern pike, musky, and walleye, we managed to find a spot on west bay that was loaded with voracious bluegill. The second we dropped a hook with a worm on it into the water it was immediately swarmed with a school of bluegills. Between my two kids they must have caught almost a dozen within a hour as well as lost quite a few worms to sneaky little fish who are very skilled at removing worms from the hook without getting hooked.  Little St. Germain is not a huge lake and we were easily able to cover the entire lake twice in one day. While out on the lake, there were lots of boats fishing and quite a few other boats tubing and water skiing. Black Bear Lodge has multiple docks including ones right in front of the cabins, so we were able to come back to the cabin a few times throughout the day and dock just steps from our cabin. They have the boats set up for novice boaters. The docks have rings and the boats have clips on snuffers so there's no need to know how to tie a cleat knot, you just clip on to the ring. Fenders are just hung on the rails so they pop on and off easily. Just remember to remove them before going high speed. We forgot and lost one and despite retracing out path were unable to find it, so we ended up having to pay for a fender. If you have your own boat they have a launch ramp, trailer parking,  and room on the docks to keep your boat during your visit. Staff was friendly and helpful and my kids had so much fun that my daughter started crying on our last day that she didn't want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Jane D. wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
Stayed in a Bear Trap Suites the first week of August and the "suites" turned out to be 3 small connected units with very thin walls. We had the middle unit and since the decks were connected like adjoining fenced stalls in front of each unit, we couldn't enjoy any privacy whatsoever when sitting out on our own unit's deck without being right next to a neighbor who frequently hosted a large group on his. Didn't realize from the resort website's picture that all three units were connected in this way so there was no privacy to just sit peacefully out on your deck undisturbed. Very dirty Weber-like grills were provided outside, but the underside of the lids turned out to be deteriorating so the first time we put the cover on, our burgers got small flecks of the material coating the inside of the top which came off onto our food. We had planned to do a lot of fishing and we sincerely recommend going elsewhere if you have a boat and like to fish. First thing we learned was how horribly long and steep the onsite boat launch is. It runs down a long narrow embankment on the end of one of the lodge buildings and is very steep. Dock space was first come first serve and none of the docks have boat bumpers or poles. Small metal rings at each end are the only securement. The docks closest to the Bear Trap suites were all occupied by unused resort rental pontoons, so we ended up at a dock further down from us with only a long, steep wooden staircase down to our boat. You also have no guarantee the same space will be available for you when you get back from a day of fishing. It didn't really even matter because we could never stay out longer than a few hours in the morning or evening due to the inconsiderate jet ski traffic which is horrendous. Most of the jet skiers we encountered had no sense of courtesy for people fishing. Unfortunately, we did not realize ahead of time that the resort and a neighboring one right nearby (Sunset Bay) rent Jet Skis or we would not have booked the property. The suite itself was nice inside and up to date. Nice shower and kitchen area. No dishwasher. Bed was ok. Reliable heat and AC. Few available outlets - bring power strips for your phone chargers or if you have a CPap machine you will need an extension cord. Very small TV and inconsistent WiFi which repeatedly disconnected us spontaneously. Nowhere to have a campfire outdoors anywhere near our suite. The property outside was very pretty and we enjoyed the resident deer and fawns that showed up at times alongside the road into and out of the property. There were many eagles. Only saw a loon once - probably due to the jet ski traffic. Bottom line is if you are looking for a quiet time sitting outside, enjoying nature, or fishing in peace - go elsewhere. If you want to party, and race your jetski around the lake without regard for anyone else, this is the place for you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Swiss_Zirks wrote a review Aug 2020
Saint Germain, Wisconsin372 contributions97 helpful votes
Spent 4 nights with my son on a fishing expedition. We rented a cabin, the bear cub. It is a small, 2 bedroom cabin, but just what we needed. One note, there is no A/C. Not an issue at all for us, as it was high of 75 and low of 40, but could be an issue on hotter days. There were ceiling fans as well as box fans in the rooms. Use of kaaks, paddleboard and a row boat were included. Since we were going to be fishing all week, we rented a motor for the boat at $40 a day. You can also rent a pontoon boat for more $$. Lots of great places to fish and bike ride. The lodge has several things in place to be careful with Covid, so we felt safe. There is a grocery store in town and several restaurants. Eagle River is about 11 miles away with more options. Definitely a quiet, relaxed place to recharge your batteries.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Bear Cub is very good utilitarian cabin, no frills, but what you need.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Shane Christophersen, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your feedback and are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back for another stay and continue the hunt for that Big Fish!!!
Read more
Richard D wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
We stayed in a 2 story building that was set right on the lake shore with an entrance to the lake. It had two bed rooms and a pull out couch which accommodated the 6 people in our group. It had 2 bathrooms, living room with fireplace, a dining area and kitchen area. We came to snowmobile and were able to rent them right there in St. Germain. We have stayed there 10 times and have never been disappointed. We will be there again in January-February time frame. This is a comfortable, rustic, place to stay and look at the beautiful winterscape that surrounds it. Give it a try.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake provide a beautiful scenic experience.
See more room tips
Response from BlackBearLodge, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Thank you for your review and continued patronage. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. How delightful that you and your friends were able to get out on the trails and have some wintertime fun! We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay! Happy Holidays!
Read more
US$109 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
black bear hotel saint germain, black bear resort
United StatesWisconsinSaint Germain
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Bear Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Black Bear Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Heart of Vilas County Paved Bike Trails (2.2 km), Elmer's Fun Park (2.7 km), and Snowmobile Hall of Fame and Museum (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Bear Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Black Bear Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Black Bear Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Bear Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Bear Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wolf Pack Cafe, DJ's North Woods Family Restaraunt, and Cathy's Ice Cream & Candy Shoppe.
Does Black Bear Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Black Bear Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.