We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lucerne Inn

TravelocityUS$116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$179*
US$116*
US$179*
US$116*
US$179*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lucerne Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of The Lucerne Inn
 Click to rate
Ellsworth
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I decided to make lunch reservations for an anniversary lunch. We ordered off the " pub menu" rather than the fixed price graduation lunch. The food was very good but the prices were quite high. We had to ask for rolls but generally everything was nice. We also got the requested table by the Windows to appreciate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryc04640
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch along with our great view--We try to keep our prices competitive with other Pubs in the area.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not impressed, never again! Asked for a late check out the night before. Got called next morning and asked to vacant the room 30 minutes before normal checkout time of 11:00am Breakfast was included but figure your own way to cut your bagel in half? No cutting utensils. And I missed the last pot of coffee at 8:00am? Whatever... I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
LucerneInn, Manager at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you feel that you had a bad experience--We always strive to accommodate guest requests when possible but we had a large group checking in that day and had to get all the rooms ready for their arrival. We try to get the coffee and other breakfast items replenished as quickly as possible. I apologize for your stay...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed there two nights, arriving Easter Sunday. No one informed us that the Restuarant was closed that particular Sunday an there was no where else to go! They did provide us with a couple of bagels and cream cheese and some yogurt. The room was a good size and comfortable and good value for the money. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macforbes
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy our well regarded cuisine --We always try to satisfy our guests--Please alert us next time so that we could rectify the situation immediately --I would hope that you would give us another try. David

San francisco
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing Inn! Quaint but classy, we really enjoyed our weekend here. Super comfy beds, fabulous staff and food that wowed us city folk. Plus the prices were very reasonable and the views fantastic. Convenient to many areas including Ellsworth, Bar Harbor and Brewer. The owner operators were a lovely and hospitable couple. Given the time of year it was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mabiegay
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind words. So happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Millinocket, Maine
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My husband and I stayed on the second floor on a Saturday night. I am distressed when I see negative comments referring to this inn as outdated. This is a quaint old inn and if you are expecting a glitzy resort, this is not the place to go. If you like quaint and historic, this IS the place to go....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 613June1951
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay---we always take our guests request/suggestions and try to implement them when possible. We look forward to your next visit.

Augusta, Maine
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a room on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace really set the mood for our weekend. We had a nice sofa right in front of the fireplace - Our room was very large and very inviting! The continental breakfast was not my idea of continental--an amazing amount and variety of food (bacon, eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jkmaegrandma
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words We are very lucky to have them

Southwest Harbor, ME
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The view is great and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also good. The hostesses were helpful and ready to help. Good location, close to Brewer and Bangor, so much activity available. Like haunted places? Room 8 is haunted! This used to be the stagecoach stop halfway between Bangor and Ellsworth, so very historic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PNCHIEF
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay--We have a lot of interesting history being 203 years old.

Lisbon Falls, Maine
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I booked a Junior Suite for two nights. We only spent one because the power went out and they have no backup power. After a couple hours even the emergency lights died. It was pitch black. We had to use our cell phone lights just to get back and forth to the bathroom all night. Since the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zachary F
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

I apologize about the inconvenience--The power was out in the whole area overnight (EMERA + Snowstorm)and our power did come back and our regular continental breakfast was served by 7.30. I was not aware of you situation--please call the hotel and ask for me directly and I will help out with making it right David

Ellsworth, Maine
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I recently attended a holiday party at the Lucerne Inn. There is something very magical about this Inn especially at Christmas time. The place is just aglow. Beautiful wreaths adorn the outside as the inside is toasty warm and inviting with a beautiful crackling fire in the lounge. The private room for the party was perfect. The food was beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve Y
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

Eve Your kind words mean so much to us. We are having a great time enjoying all our guest during such a festive time of year. We are glad you and the rest of your holiday party had such a good time. Thanks David & Jayne

Guilford, Maine
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great relaxing meal here on a Friday night! The waitress was really good and knowledgable of the menu! Service was good. The place is a little dated, but clean just the same. Restrooms are on a level below the restaurant, and we took stair to get there. Not sure if there is another way for people that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YotaPwr
LucerneInn, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words about your meal and your hopes to enjoy our spectacular view during the summer. We do have a bathroom on the same floor as the restaurant that doesn't require stairs.It was just updated 2 months ago.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
15.0 km away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
688 reviews
19.5 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
22.5 km away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
18.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
17.1 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Address: 2517 Main Rd, Dedham, ME 04429-4701
Region: United States > Maine > Dedham
Price Range: RM413 - RM838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lucerne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lucerne Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Illinois

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lucerne Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the two suites on the third floor are great!”
jkmaegrandma, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
israelifamily, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with a View!”
KJF63, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views from top floor rooms”
LegalLadyTraveling, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower your expectations”
Fil301, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$116* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$116
Booking.comUS$179
Expedia.comUS$119
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates