We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
De Forest, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful hotel, staff, and service. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area! The food was great and the bartender/server had great suggestions. We had the garlic parmesean pizza and it was heavenly. The room was well appointed and immaculate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conniecopys
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Connie for a great review of the Best Western PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge. Hopefully you and your sisters had a great time in Sparta. The Garlic Parmesan Pizza is one of our best sellers in Brewski's Pub and always seems to get rave reviews. I am also glad to hear the changes we made to the rooms during the...

Sparta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, clean place, nice breakfast. Went for a night, swimming pool was big and kids loved both big side and kids pool with slide. We would definitely stay again when we can. They have a pancake machine, kids thought it was cool...they are skinny but kids enjoyed them with syrup and whipped cream.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loving C
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review on the Best Western PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the pool area. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Beaver Dam, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very nice hotel in little old Sparta, WI. The pool area was especially nice. One larger (and deeper) pool with a slide into the 5 foot deep end. Another smaller pool for the littler ones with another small slide. Also a hot tub with very hot water as well as a sauna. The family of 4 enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler R
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Tyler for the great review on the Best Western Sparta Trail Lodge. The staff appreciates your kind words and keeps everyone motivated to continue trying to deliver great customer service to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you will come back and stay again in the future.

Minnesota
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I stayed here while on a trip to LaCrosse. I had called a day in advance and the lady that I talked to was very helpful. She was there when I arrived and advised me on other places to get fuel and eat if I chose to. There is a convenience store and restaurant next door but I chose to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Creekguy
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a good review of the Best Western PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge. Reviews such as your really help me dial in on areas we need to improve on. It was nice to hear that most the staff was on their game during your stay and I hope you will find the chance to stay with us again...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed here for a week-end of biking the Rails to Trails near by. The biking was great as well as this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well taken are of. We would stay here again if returning to bike the trails. The town of Sparta is a nice small town. Well taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCK0405
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the nice review on your stay at the Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful bike trails and also that the hotel met your expectations. Keep us in mind if you are in the area and need lodging accommodations.

Minnesota
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had mixed feelings on our stay. Brenda did a great job at the front desk and was very friendly and helpful. The desk staff was also friendly upon checkout. One of the maids was extremely friendly. She held open the elevator for us and initiated a nice conversation during the ride down. Teresa, in the breakfast room, was rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Randy for staying with us, although it seems we did pretty good on hotel in all, I was sorry to hear about the breakfast service you received. I will personally talk with Theresa about better ways to handle customer service oppurtunities, and not be in such a rush to get Breakfast Area closed and cleaned for the day....

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We were in sparta to see friends and booked a room here. Checking in was fast, professional and staff very amicable. Our king room was very spacious with a chair and footstool, bed comfortable. Bathroom was quite adequate. Breakfast was pretty decent, too. Scrambled eggs, sausages, ham slices, hash, potatoes and biscuits and gravy. They also has Belgium waffles and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadranger22
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a great review. I am glad to hear that we met your expectations on breakfast and service. Keep us in mind in the future if you need lodging in the area. Truly appreciate your business and your kind words about your stay.

Plover, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Great rate, friendly staff. Clean & comfortable. Many selections on the free breakfast including an automatic pancake maker & make your own waffle station Extra pool for those travellng with young children. Main pool also had a slide & the hot tub was not huge but worked for us. We were happy that the restaurant/bar was on the premises. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy2411
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You Judy for such a wonderful review of the Best Western Sparta Trail Lodge. I am so glad that you had such a great stay in Sparta, Wisconsin. Please come back and see us again if you are ever in the area again.

Sparta, United States
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We always stay here when we are close to Sparta.Very close to Camp McCoy. Nice bar on site! Motel is recently remodeled, with new furniture, carpet, etc. A very nice motel to stay at for a reasonable price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
John H, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Doug, it was nice to see you again. I did wonder after talking with you if you were gonna have another brisket sandwich in Brewski's. Glad to know we keep coming through for you. I appreciate your continuous patronage to our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Waterford, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We booked our stay months ago in preparation for Cranberry Fest which is 30(ish) minutes away from the hotel. We were surprised to see the hotel looked nothing like the photos. Our room was up-to-date and beautiful! The staff was fabulous and extremely helpful. We ate at the restaurant inside - if you love Bloody Mary's they are fabulous here!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
John H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Jodie for such a wonderful review. We are in the process of updating whole hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed one of the newly renovated rooms. Brewski's does have one of the best tasting Bloody Mary's I have had, so I am glad you enjoyed that area of the hotel along with the breakfast that we provide....

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
22.8 km away
Cranberry Country Lodge
22.2 km away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
23.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Tomah Hotel
34.7 km away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge

Address: 4445 Theater Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-5410
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Price Range: RM377 - RM497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sparta Trail Hotel Sparta
Sparta Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st and 2nd floors are updated - I believe they are working on the 3rd and will be done by January is what we were told.”
 of 5 bubbles jodieb578, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles aeyates, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I have not had a room better or worse than another.”
 of 5 bubbles burnstad87, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms will be on the opposite end of the swimming pool. Pool is open until 11 pm.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffbJ8579HF, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms appeared to be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles pbell123, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay