We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Maquoketa, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Robyn makes you feel right at home. Very comfortable, and welcoming. This was our first time staying at a B&B instead of a hotel. We will never stay at a hotel again. It was just what we were looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angie S
Mpls.
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Robin certainly enjoys people and serving them, making them feel at home. She puts her heart and care into her cute victorian home, and it shows. Her breakfasts are so very tasteful & filling &she will share her recipes with her guests. She will even make wonderful desserts and snacks...for her guests. We would stay at Garden Gate again anytime.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ds12Mpls_
Reviewed 20 October 2014

What a wonderful way to begin the morning after a restful sleep--having a delicious breakfast prepared by our hostess, Robin, at her beautifully appointed dining table at the Garden Gate B&B in Sturgeon Bay! Since we spent three evenings here with our daughter and son-in-law, we had three different and yummy breakfasts during our stay while occupying the Lavender Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank navycd12r
Island Lake, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 11 October 2014

this was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. I was a little concerned because we didn't know what to think but from the minute we walked in the door the hostess, Robin make us feel so welcome. her breakfasts and conversation we fantastic and her home is warm and beautiful. I would definitely stay at Garden Gate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Hostess Robin is a warm personality - very cordial and the place well kept. Robin has a beautiful home which is the inn and makes guests feel welcome. We were worried that our toddler might be too much but Robin was a sport. Breakfasts were absolutely delightful and sumptuous. The desserts were awesome too. we pretty much spent the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kavya P
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased that you had a good time here at the Garden Gate. As you can tell I love children and your little one was a delight for me to have here. Hope you enjoyed the pictures of her I sent you. Hope to see you again here in Door...

Rochester, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My husband and I were looking for a last minute B&B for a quick weekend get away to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were lucky enough to happen upon Garden Gate B&B. From the minute we arrived, the hostess, Robin, treated us like members of the family. Her home is beautiful but her warmth and special touches are what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryGK
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for being my guest. As innkeepers we all chose this job because we love people and try our best to make you feel spoiled and so it worked. Glad you had a good first experience. I would love to have you as my guests again however when you travel elsewhere now may be you'll try more B&B's. At...

Crown Point,Indiana
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Our first trip to Door County too....read the reviews here and decided to call. Turned out we had more in common w Robin, as we discovered her son and ours both played hockey at the same rink in Illinois years ago, where her son also worked part time. She greeted us as if we were family, and it felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Probert24
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

WOW!!! Thank you for sharing your experience by writing that lovey review. Words can't thank you enough. Hope to see you again soon.

Michigan
Reviewed 26 September 2014

This was our first time to Door County and staying at a Bed & Breakfast. We were able to stay two nights at this lovely home. After the second day of touring Door County it felt so good heading "home" to Garden Gate. Robin was a wonderful hostess. The breakfasts she prepared were better than any restaurant breakfasts we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmgirl54
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts by writing your review.Glad to hear you felt so comfortable here at the Garden Gate.As for the pumpkin bars the recipe is on my website www.doorcountybb.com. Share the recipe as you take it to Thanks giving with you. So so easy to make and feeds a lot of people. You make it in a...

N.W. Minnesota
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We enjoyed our two nights with Robin as our hostess. When we arrived all of the rooms were empty, so she gave us a tour. You would not be disappointed with any of them. We were in the Lavendar Room. It's the one with the whirlpool tub and a balcony. I enjoyed having the outside space, but it does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnDeere63
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review, Hope you had a great time here in Door County. As for your room you did have hanging space behind your bedroom door. There were three hooks and there are two dressers in the room also. Sorry that wasn't enough for you. Hope to see you again on your next trip to our county.

Brookfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Garden Gate is a lovely quiet B&B, very clean, and each room is decorated very nicely. Robin is a fantastic hostess, very personable, and very accommodating. A group of friends, we were in Sturgeon Bay for the Door County Century Bike Ride, which meant we needed to get an early start. So Robin stayed up late to bake her famous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrisK1002
gardengt8, Owner at Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.. Our county does as much as they can to keep the county full of events happening here. So it is also our job as innkeepers to please our guests as best as we can. The bike rides are always early and we all know that so an early breakfast is usual. Can't let you leave...

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
4.4 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
39.1 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
681 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
33.6 km away
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
3.2 km away
Chanticleer Guest House
Chanticleer Guest House
#4 of 15 in Sturgeon Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Gate is a premier Victorian bed and breakfast. It welcomes you with its friendly hospitality and elegant breakfast served every morning in the dining room, accompanied by music and candlelight. End your day with an evening dessert...a good night's sleep and dream about your breakfast..Because.."Breakfast is our Signature" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 434 N 3rd Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2321
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: RM509 - RM686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Bed And Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garden Gate Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“English Lavender was lovely and romantic!”
 of 5 bubbles raabejordan, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The English Lavender Suite is just lovely. The balcony and whirlpool tub an added treat. Robin in just exceptional!! Pure hospitality.”
 of 5 bubbles 349robertae, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden room has walk in shower, small loveseat, plenty big for two people”
 of 5 bubbles jennifereW7179GI, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lavender room!”
 of 5 bubbles travel-guru-rachie, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure if all rooms have a private bath. The lavender room does, but be sure to ask as some B&Bs don't have private bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieL114, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5