We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chanticleer Guest House

Visit hotel website
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Chanticleer Guest House is located on 80 private acres, just north of Sturgeon Bay, WI. We offer 8 bed and breakfast suites, as well as 4 luxury cabins, for rent through out the year. Our in-ground heated pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. All of our accommodations offer double whirlpool tubs, fire places, private bathrooms with showers and a delicious, homemade breakfast delivered to your room each morning. We are also a working sheep farm, with lambing season from March until May. Please contact us with questions and we hope to see you soon!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
177Reviews
142Photos
5Q+A
41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 11
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+2
I had the sheer luck of getting the suite of my dreams to celebrate my 50th birthday. This is elegance and rustic beauty combined. So lovely so peaceful it doesn’t get any better than this. Fourth time here and definitely not last. Thank you for a beautiful birthday
Read more
Response from Darrin D, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House
Responded 20 Dec 2018
Thank you for spending your 50th birthday with us!
Read more
I have been visiting the Chanticleer since 2005. I have visited in Summer, Fall and Winter. My visits are always interesting. In the Summer the gardens and grounds abound with lovely flowers, and the pool is great, in Fall the colors abound and in Winter each room and the
Read more
Response from Darrin D, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House
Responded 27 Nov 2018
We always enjoy your visits, especially over the holiday season. Thank you for staying with us all these years and we look forward to your next visit!
Read more
The price tag for 2 nights over $700 but would have been fine if not for all of the things that made this stay not so great. We stayed in a cabin. It was fine but the furniture was uncomfortable. Found dirty knives and glasses in the "totally furnished kitchen" which didn't even
Read more
Response from Darrin D, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House
Responded 21 Oct 2018
So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, zscastle. Bryon, I and the rest of our staff will keep working hard to make everyone's stay an enjoyable experience.
Read more
This place has been on our bucket list after finding it while searching online for bed and breakfast destinations. We finally decided to splurge (2 nights-$700), but I wish we hadn't. I will start by saying the setting is beautiful and quiet-out in the country just north of
Read more
Response from Darrin D, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House
Responded 17 Oct 2018
Dear Voodew68, Thank you for pointing out the ambiguity on our website as to how our cabin guests receive breakfast. We have updated our site and there will no longer be any confusion over how guests who reserve or cabins/cottages receive breakfast. I'm a little shocked about your anger over this, since your husband cheerfully picked up breakfast while you stayed back at your cabin, and never mentioned that this was upsetting to you. We are always happy to deliver breakfast over to the cabins if couples have mobility issues or simply ask for delivery. As to our neighbor cutting wood after dark, by the time I was finished checking in another couple and went outside to hear for a chainsaw, it had quit. I'm confused as to what you wanted me to say. I have no control over when my neighbors decide to run power equipment. However, I do remember apologizing to you for the noise when we spoke on the phone. You did mention your cinnamon allergy upon arrival. We made pumpkin muffins, which did have nutmeg, but no cinnamon. After your husband called to express your fear that there might be cinnamon in our muffins, we immediately made you a completely different breakfast. We apologized to your husband for having to come back over to pick up breakfast for you, even though your original breakfast didn't contain cinnamon. To recap... You expected an apology, or more importantly a monetary credit on breakfast that you were angry about picking up (though never expressed that anger), having to listen to a chainsaw that was being operated by a neighbor (which I apologized for) and had to wait an additional 10 minutes for a breakfast that we immediately made for you because you feared it had an ingredient you were allergic to (which it didn't). We do sincerely wish you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
My husband and I just celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary at the Chanticleer and we will continue to return! We spent our honeymoon there and have enjoyed every return trip (4). We have stayed in the cabins and recently the Stable suite and the accommodations are excellent.
Read more
Response from Darrin D, Owner at Chanticleer Guest House
Responded 7 Oct 2018
We had an absolute blast hanging out with the two of you and we're already looking forward to your next visit! Happy Anniversary to a wonderful couple.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Cozy hot tub in Hemlock cabin
Photo provided by managementChanticleer Guest House
Tamarack Cabin
Sunflower Suite - jacuzzi tub
Sunflower Suite
Sunflower Suite
PreviousNext
1234567
Do the cabins have washer/dryers?.
All four of our cabins have a clothes washer and dryer. We do not stock laundry detergent or dryer sheets, but we would be happy to give you each if you forget to bring some with you. Please let me know if you have any other questions and have a great day! Sincerely, Darrin
0 votes
Show all answers
Do each of the cabins have laundry facilities?? Inn looks so beautiful. Thanks
They do not
0 votes
Show all answers
In the larger cabins coffee is available anytime. There is a coffee maker in the cabin.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are your suites and cabins air conditioned?? Looks so beautiful.
We stayed in the winter, but I would be pretty confident they are. This place is amazing. My wife and I are going back in the summer as well. A great place to get away. Beautiful suites.
0 votes
Show all answers
Are pets allowed
Unfortunately, we do not allow pets at the Chanticleer. Door County Kennels, located south of Egg Harbor, is an option for pet boarding if you do want to bring your dog or cat with you on vacation.
1 vote
Show all answers
"The cabins are perfect for larger groups and those who are looking fora peacful stay in the heart of nature."
"Grand room has large fireplace and opens to the heated pool"
"The Sunflower Room - Plenty of room to move; Similar to Granary suite for size. Great views of gardens and sheep."
"All suites fantastic"
"Rent one of the cabins for the space and the beautiful view from any room!!"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$200 - US$522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chanticleer guest house hotel sturgeon bay
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinSturgeon Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing