We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkers Island Inn

PricelineUS$94*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Barkers Island Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkers Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We arrived on Friday and stayed the weekend. Ownership has changed in the restaurant and some changes going on in the hotel. They do not honor the dinner cards anymore which we were 2 meals away from getting 5$ off our next meal. They still offer 15% off your meal when charged to your room. My husband and friends had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex_n_dar
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not like your meal so much. We will definatly look into the chicken tetrazzini. We are just now starting some exciting renovations that should all be done by November/December so we hope you stay with us again...

Madison, United States
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I stayed at Barker's Island to attend the McDougall's Dream SS Meteor Fundraiser event. The rooms were OK, nothing special and could use some upgrades. We had difficulty controlling the temperature in the room. There was an issue with the charged amount on my credit card which was not able to be resolved by the young staff and was taken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OnTheRoad73a
Minnesota
Reviewed 7 February 2016

As others have shared, the inn is in need of updating -- furnishings are outdated. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Staff was friendly. We had a business dinner in the Grand Ballroom and the food was very good and the staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNmisfit
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We are going to be doing some remodeling during the fall and winter in our rooms, lobby, restaurant, and public bathrooms. I hope you are able to stay with us again when we are done. It should be summer of 2017.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Outside of the older rooms (probably due for some renovations) the stay was just fine until breakfast. While the food was good, our waitress was extremely rude. As a greeting she tried telling us that we should have waited to be seated rather than seating ourselves (there was no one to seat us for 5 minutes so we just sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jared V
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the rude service you received in our restaurant. We do not condone this type of service from out staff. We should always strive to give the best service and we will definatley address this situation with our staff.

Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barkers Island for two days and nights around New Years. We were staying there for an event on New Years. The issues were annoying but not critically bad. The bathroom fan was dangling for the first night but the next day it was fixed after we complained. The room was either extremely hot or cold. Spoke with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross K
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us. We always strive to make our guests stay a wonderful experience. I will address these issues with my staff so we do not fall short of our customers expectations.

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was over priced for its condition. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were like rocks. The bathroom sink tap was corroded and provided very little water. The shower was fine. Nothing special. No room to put my bathroom things because there is only a little shelf above the sink. Curtains were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Reviewed 30 October 2015

This is a nice motel on the water. It has great views of the lake and marina. It has a nice lounge and seperate dining room. Indoor pool and hot tub. The entry door to the pool area in front of room #117 banged as if someone was coming into our room. The door closer needs to be adjusted or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BBQJIM
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and for letting us know about the door when you checked out. We did have that fixed right away. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

We spent one night at Bakers Island Inn. The staff was less then friendly upon check in. The walls seem thin, we got very little sleep because of the hall noise and slamming doors. The one thing it had going for it was the lovely location. Next time we are in Superior we will not stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal B
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I apologize that your experience with us was not "Superior". Our goal is to give the best customer service. Your comments are of great value and to us and we will use them as training tools with our staff.

Polson, Montana
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Short and not so sweet....this place stinks. The room had a view of the lake, and that is the only thing good about it. Staff were not friendly. I would think a big hotel like this would take the initiative to use paint and brush and change carpets etc. and make a nice place here. No smoking would be nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattymarie66
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We can only grow and improve with every comment. We always strive to give the best customer service and I apologize that we failed. We are in the process of doing many updates to our hotel. We have already painted and put new carpeting in all our rooms with much more to come. We are...

Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My husband and I just spent our 13yr anniversary here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel itself needs an upgrade but it was not bad. We loved the pool and hot tub and the view from either side of the hotel was wonderful. The location was great and we loved that they provided bikes so we could explore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMW585
Barkersislandinn, General Manager at Barkers Island Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful anniversary and that we met your expectations.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Superior
3.0 km away
Best Western Bridgeview Hotel
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Superior
6.2 km away
Super 8 Superior WI
Super 8 Superior WI
#1 of 8 in Superior
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
6.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
466 reviews
7.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barkers Island Inn is located on an actual island and features a hotel, restaurant, and conference center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkers Island Inn

Address: 300 Marina Dr., Superior, WI 54880-3287 (Formerly Country Hospitality Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Superior
Price Range: RM451 - RM769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkers Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Barkers Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkers Island Hotel Superior
Barkers Island Superior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Superior, Wisconsin, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Barkers Island Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe next time we will try to get a room on the side where the boats are docked.”
10DianeW, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“I like the 1st floor next to the pool area when we stay with the kids”
Puddler2014, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor waay in the back”
danusschellenberg, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor near the pool can be loud”
lolo4815, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view of Lake Superior.”
patahynes, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$94* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$94
TripAdvisorUS$94
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates