We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rib Mountain Inn

Orbitz.comUS$99*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$99*
US$99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rib Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of Rib Mountain Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 February 2017

A group of 10 stayed in a Townhouse for an extended ski weekend. The unit wasn't dirty, per se, but is in much need of some updating and general maintenance/repairs. The website isn't reflective of the bed/room layout, but clarification during the reservation process helped with that. The first 6 logs for the wood burning fireplace was included, but anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garrett S
Mitch V, Owner at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your input. We will work on the website to better inform our customers in the future. We do give the first wood for wood burning fireplaces free, but need to charge for additional wood as some customers burn up to $100.00 per day of wood. We do not make a profit on wood and only try to replenish...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We decided to go for a ski trip on a whim! We booked this hotel a couple of days before. We arrived late and they were able to accommodate us. We got the deluxe room with the fireplace and it was plenty big for four people! The lobby was still decorated for Christmas, so that was a plus for me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adorangel
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed in a 3 bedroom town house with our family of 5 to ski at Granite Peak. Location is perfect, you can walk from the Inn to the ski hill through a small wooded and scenic path right to the parking lot of the hill. It's a short drive, less then 2 minutes if you would rather drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plake2013
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

It was hard to find the inn. The room had a fireplace. It was comfy. It was a little runned down. Good place for money. Had kitchen. Bath tub did not train We would go back. Nice view out of room. Service, hostess was ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C G
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had a beautiful suite with a fireplace, whirlpool and swimming pool. The area is located in a gorgeous location, beautifully landscaped! very nice patio with view. Very clean, staff courteous. The decor of our suite was very attractive, will certainly visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank violetsgiftemporium
Reviewed 21 June 2016

my wife was placed here by her company. I came up to join her. mobility is a big issue for me. we were placed up stairs. this is extremely hard to make the climb with a walker. management had seen me on many occasion struggling to climb or go down the stairs. it had even been suggested a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gobo1965
Mitch V, Owner at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Sorry we did not recognize this. We try to give our customers the best service and accommodate the best we can. Just let us know in the future. Thanks for staying and your input.

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Don't let the inviting description on the website fool you. They DO NOT service the rooms until you check out. If you want towels you are told to go fetch them for yourself at the desk. Nobody is at the desk so you have to call the hotel number first. Their breakfast was glorified on the website, particularly the eggs....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tamme H
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We had a king size room. The bathroom was totally updated which was nice. Old carpeting and a very soft older bed. If the bed was amazing, which is something I always expect, I would have given this place a 5 for an older hotel. It was cute. The outdoor whirlpool was nice though not really hot. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gotkelb
Reviewed 25 May 2015

My wife and I stayed in a regular room with two queen beds. Deluxe bedding and towels, large clean room with a balcony in a quiet, wooded location. Great hot tub in the back. The hot breakfast was superb... Friendly service.... Don't even think about staying somewhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daniel L
Mitch V, Owner at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

As new owner who have upgraded the Inn, Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We are proud of our latest remodel completed for 2015 and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Monroe, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 September 2014

After returning to this Inn for a decade we were appalled at what had happened here. I made or reservation the end of Aug. At that time they NEVER mentioned ongoing re construction! Over the decade we received AARP discounts or free pet fee..This time none were applied as she said we give you free breakfast after all..True it WAS....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 614unhappy
Mitch V, Owner at Rib Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Sorry for any problems. We care 100% about having 100% satisfied customers. We will work to communicate with our employees better on addressing the remodel and other concerns. Our remodel should be completed by November 21 2014 and we look forward to a better hotel lodge for our customers. As new local ( not corporate) owners as of 2014, we...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
431 reviews
5.6 km away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
1,033 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.8 km away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
126 reviews
3.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover a one-of-a-kind boutique HOTEL and Inn nestled in the beautiful Northwoods of Wausau, Wisconsin, just steps away from the highly acclaimed Granite Peak Ski Area and Rib Mountain State park, where the luxury of an upscale bed-and-breakfast are combined with the convenience of a resort hotel. With Woodburning fireplaces in every room, thoughtful amenities and impeccable service, Rib Mountain Inn/ Granite Peak Lodge promises an exciting experience that you won't find anywhere else. Enjoy our extended stay options or nightly hotel. Outdoor Hot tub 14 person On golf course and Ski hill remodeled in 2015 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rib Mountain Inn

Address: 2900 Rib Mountain Way, Wausau, WI 54401-9281
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Price Range: RM474 - RM577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rib Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rib Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rib Mountain Hotel Wausau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rib Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call and speak with someone for exact room (bed) layout, as the website isn't very clear.”
garretts885, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Townhouse 1 had lots of windows, a balcony deck off the living room and master!”
Plake2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check on the wifi. We did and we still didn't get any.”
gotkelb, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not there...go elsewhere they Do Not Care”
614unhappy, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Villa 7 is the end unit”
analiesej, 3 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$99* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$99
TravelocityUS$99
TripAdvisorUS$99
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates