We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2007

Not a travel guide neither the web site of this B&B give clear mention that this B&B is located close to the main road 11. Due to the developpment of the west coast of the Big Island this road has day and night a heavy noisy traffic so that without earplug it is impossible to sleep.

3Thank rtw2007Europe
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Great Breakfasts.... Christine the "new" previous manager has a great personality, is enthusiastic about managing the farm yet is very low key..and a wonderful breakfast chef...so slip into Island Time here. We missed this place once we moved on.... I was not disappointed in the Coffee Barn. It is a screened porch with a flush toilet & an outdoor shower...there's...

2Thank JK128xoxo
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 February 2007

I write this review not to criticize, but as helpful tips for travelers seeking more information on this property. My husband and I love backpacking and camping, so I thought we would love staying at the coffee barn. Unfortunately, a cockroach ran over my legs in our bed at a previous B&B, so I will admit I was a bit...

4Thank beeskneees
Reviewed 13 October 2006

This was our first time staying in a B and B and we didn't know what to expect. We were delighted and suprised by the large spread offered to us each morning for breakfast. Douglas Smith, our host, is a WONDERFUL cook and went the extra mile to make sure we had a perfect vacation. The B and B provided...

1Thank jm99
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We had the chance to stay at the much hyped coffee barn for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip. The first night was nice. My wife was a bit afraid of geckos which were congregating above our bed (there's a reason for mosquitos nets) but overall it was a large size room and the rain was amazing. The...

1Thank NewlyWedInCali
Reviewed 23 August 2006

In July 2006 we stayed at the Pomaika'i (Lucky) Farm B&B, on the Big Island, Hawai'i, south of Kona. The manager was welcoming and friendly and created a great atmosphere so that all the guests spent our evenings together , eating and chatting on the lanai (big porch) watching incredible sunsets and having fascinating discussions into the night. Breakfast was...

2Thank Ishah
Porland, Maine
Reviewed 18 August 2006

We just returned from a two week stay at Pomaikai'i Farm B& B (family of four, two kids 10 & 12) . It was Paradise. The property is beautiful, with abundant foliage and fruit and flower trees everywhere. The manager, Doug, couldn't have been more helpful and more fun. He's a great cook, host and guide. Breakfasts were memorable (the...

3Thank MMPL
Oberlin, OH
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We are just back from a six week trip around the Pacific Rim (Japan, Australia, and the Big Island of Hawaii) and our favorite lodgings and host, by far, were at Pomaika’I (Lucky) Farm B&B in Captain Cook, Hawaii. We stayed in the Coffee Barn five nights. I had originally booked the Coffee Barn, and emailed rather extensively, with Nita,...

5Thank ohio-snorkeler
A TripAdvisor Member
Campbell, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

I had high hopes for the stay in the "Coffee Barn ", it looked so much cuter online. Upon arriving it was a whole other story. The room was dirty, walls covered with dust, lined with beer bottles as decoration, spider webs hanging everywhere, bugs galore, someone elses hair in the bathroom sink and toilet, and the shower is outside...

3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
unidabiscuit, innkeeper at Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B, responded to this review

To the guest of the review entitled "a dissapointing (sic) honeymoon, I can only reiterate the following: You booked in February after reviewing a web site that clearly describes the conditions that you objected to, except for the "beer bottles" which were all added by the guests and often have notes in them. Obviously you wanted a fancy Hawaii hotel,...

Reviewed 4 March 2006

We had been to Hawaii once before and we wanted to avoid the typical commercial tourist traps this visit. We did our research checking out Trip Advisor, Frommer's, AAA, B&B professional associations, etc. We were seeking relaxation, natural beauty, warm temperatures, whale watching, dolphins, blue water, sun, fresh fruit, Kona coffee; we wanted no alarm clocks, no deadlines, no snow...

2Thank KentuckyByChoice

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (84)
Room/Suite (17)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (8)
View from Room (2)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Family/Play Areas (8)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captain Cook
4.7 km away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
283 reviews
23.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
23.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#1 of 15 in Captain Cook
391 reviews
5.4 km away
#3 of 4 in Captain Cook
39 reviews
2.9 km away
A Beautiful Edge of the World B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay at a working Kona Coffee Farm! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast accompanied by fresh fruits from the farm. Try the macadamia nuts right out of the back yard. Snorkel, scuba dive, kayak, or hike at the nearby beaches. Beach equipment, guest kitchen. Free Wi-fi internet access. The Coffee Barn now has an in-room fridge & microwave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B

Address: 83-5465 Mamalahoa Hwy, Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8303
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Captain Cook
Price Range: RM301 - RM602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Bed And Breakfast
Pomaika`i `Lucky` Farm Hotel Captain Cook
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pomaika'i "Lucky" Farm B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Roosters ruin this property”
endeanm, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“farm living, rustic, screen door, hawaiian fantasy”
willl839, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
494maryeh, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Coffee Barn”
PaulP371, 13 Mar 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the Green Room (not the farm house). The room was clean and comfortable and we were able to relax. We enjoyed our time in the room and visiting with Johnsie and JP. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, and tailored to our vegan lifestyle.”
  • futon and window
  • green room
  • sink in room
  • green room
vcoffey2, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates