We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in the lagoon room. Beautiful grounds. Claudia's home is very well designed with unique decorating throughout. She keeps everything very clean and her breakfasts were a special treat. The location was good for exploring that side of the island. She supplied ear plugs if the sounds of the tree frogs keep you awake. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenetaxi
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We stayed for three days while in the Hilo area. B n B is in great condition, with lots of island touches. Breakfast was good, however it was an adventure. Each day had a different warm dish that was more of a food experiment than it was breakfast (tasted good, but definitely not a typical breakfast). If you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atruitt2
Columbia Falls, Montana
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed in the lagoon room for three nights. It was a very comfortable room and we enjoyed the peace and tranquility. The overall facility was nicely situated and private with well vegetated grounds. It is also within walking proximity to very nice beach parks, with swimming, surfing, and plenty of picnicking space. Host and innkeeper Claudia provided nice breakfasts,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldetyme21
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 November 2016

If you like to stay somewhere unique and very special then this is the place for you. The property is spectacular, the common areas and bedrooms are all put together with love, excellent taste and a keen eye for detail, and Claudia the proprietress is a charming hostess. The gardens, grounds and ponds are something out of a jungle fantasy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GringoPerdido5262
seasonedscreener, Owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Aloha and Mahalo for your friendly stay with us. Until we meet again.

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you Claudia for the wonderful stay :) my husband and I as well as a close friend stayed in her Coconut Palm Room for three nights. The room was cozy, clean and overall really nice, breakfast was perfect with coffee, fresh fruit, Müsli, homemade muffins and one warm dish (varying every day, being yummy every day). When we took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huanmansu
Delray Beach
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

I learned a lesson with my visit to this B and B. When a website is so thorough in it's description of policy for refunds, BEWARE! The cost for our 7 night stay was debited from our credit card, 1/2 at booking and 1/2 30 days prior to our arrival. I assumed that the fact that there was no air...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathleen K
seasonedscreener, Owner at At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Our policy: Give written notice 14 days before arrival and receive a refund minus a $10 re-booking fee. Cancel after this period and we provide a full credit good for a year, rescheduled at your convenience using the online booking form. No refunds after check in. (No hotels do that.) For the first three days Kathy thanked me profusely for...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

My friend & I had a lovely 2 night stay with Claudia. The room & en-suite were spacious, clean & nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, home made muesli & muffins. The house is close to Richardson's Beach, surrounded in a tropical garden & within easy access to town with good roads to the volcano & other attractions....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Claudia is a delight, and takes great care of her guests. She made us a wonderful breakfast every morning with lots of coffee. She then took the time to sit with us and share her advice for the activities we had planned for the day. Her advice was spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla P
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our 2 nights here. Claudia is a fantastic cook and kept us company at breakfast with her friendly stories and advice. When I told her I was wheat-free she had no problem accommodating my needs the next morning. The place is a little tricky to find at first (hint: it's not the house with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I can't say enough positive things about this bed and breakfast and it's owner, Claudia. As soon as you arrive (rent a car), you are welcomed by lush immaculately landscaped gardens. The house is large, clean, inviting and very well decorated. you get fresh towels every day and new sheets if you stay longer than two days. Claudia welcomed us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitney M

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
7.8 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
658 reviews
5.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.6 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
39.7 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
12.5 km away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Private guest wing on a salt water lagoon across from Hilo's favorite swimming beaches. Luxury ocean view accommodations for $160-$180 king beds, ensuite baths, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, common sitting room/lounge area, games, books, & hot buffet breakfast. Small refrigerators in room and tea service available in common room. Triple room available. Beach towels, folding chairs,coolers flashlights and umbrellas on hand. $10/night discount off base price for five nights or more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Address: 369 Nene St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4942
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Price Range: RM638 - RM793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
At The Beach With Friends Bed And Breakfast
At The Beach With Friends Hotel Hilo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are wonderful!”
120karlap, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Bamboo room with sliding door was wonderful!”
B531, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The wi-fi works in the common room so maybe a bedroom closer to the common room would get wi-fi too.”
LaBeau808, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The Coconut Palm room had an extra bed, so we had lots of room!”
Christine01930, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The largest and most private room was the honeymoon suite.”
JJBHtravelers, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5