We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aloha Happy Place

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Aloha Happy Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aloha Happy Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I had a very comfortable stay at this place. Some of the negative comments I read were worrisome before I got here, but once I see the place I found it quite adequate, not unlike many country B&B that I have used. The room named Ali'i that I had was quite large, very comfy bed, sofa, plenty of tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Artscene
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We spent two nights at Aloha Place - Inn of Volcano during our nine-night Big Island trip. The place looked nice enough and at first glance seemed to provide a lot of extras - robes, tea set, games books, refrigerator, umbrellas, etc. etc... As we had very low expectations for this place, having read all the reviews and wanting just...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank wanderlustt
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review

These three visitors booked a room designed for two, with a limit of two guests only. They snuck in a thrd person and then complained about anthing they could invent to complain about. There are only two single beds in the room these three booked.

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at Aloha Place - Inn of Volcano for two nights. When I made my reservation I was already aware that they did not serve breakfast and that it was self check-in with an envelope on the bulletin board. Unlike others I was not surprised by these things. There were a few good things: free parking, free wireless internet,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HRIMDegree
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review

There are no chickens or roosters at this accommodation.

Kimberly, Idaho
Reviewed 5 June 2010

First of all Aloha Place is NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST!!!!! Just a bed and NOTHING more! Upon "check in" we found an envalope tacked to the office door that indicated "NO MEALS ARE PROVIDED IN ACCORDANCE TO LOCAL REGULATIONS" !?! We felt more like we were an imposition while we were there. We were on edge the whole time...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank BusterBSU
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review

Some travelers bring their unhappiness with them.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Booked one night in the Aloha Place through Expedia. Was one of the cheapest in the area, but it was only one night so didn't have much to lose. At first we didn't know what to expect - the key was attached to a pin board outside 'reception' with directions to the room. There didn't seem to be anybody about....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rock_30
Salem, MA
Reviewed 1 February 2009

.We reserved a room at this B& B in July of 2008 for a January 2009 stay. The room was described as having rain forest views, complete breakfast, and first floor private entrance. The reservation was pre-paid and we were looking forward to a pleasant, quiet night near Volcano National Park. Fast forward six months. Upon arrival at the address...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank crs01970
Joan P, Manager at Aloha Happy Place, responded to this review

refers to helper who was removed from the property

San Mateo, CA
Reviewed 4 August 2008

In a beautiful secluded setting, this B&B is within a mile of Volcanoes National Park. The rooms overlook a rainforest and the breakfasts were hearty and delicious - highlights were the fresh fruit and homemade jams and breads. Joan, the innkeeper, has lived on the Big Island over 20 years and was friendly and gave suggestions on fun things to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alliemacq
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We stayed in the Bamboo room with two single beds at the Pali Uli building. The building was creaky and old but nicely remodeled and quaintly decorated; the room was tight but comfortable. Thoughtful ammenities such as mints, umbrellas, and flashlights were provided in the room and building. The garden was a pleasure. We never met the owners or any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank usuallyabackpacker
Waikiki
Reviewed 16 February 2008

This is a nice looking estate but surprisingly luxurious touches and friendly, informative service made a real dent for the good in our much needed vacation, away from the stress of downtown San Francisco. It was like another country in that mix of volcanoes, waterfalls, black and green sand beaches and authentic jungle. We stayed in a two room suite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SanFranciscoBreeze1
Waikiki
Reviewed 24 January 2008

Now that we are in Waikiki, we appeciate much more the serene, green and friendly tones of this Inn. The innkeepers were ever so helpful in pointing us to places not in our travel book, breathtaking places such as the ancient koas forest. We three stayed in the large Lei room which has an enclosed sitting room over the jungle,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Indianawanderers

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.2 km away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
366 reviews
0.9 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
3.4 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
246 reviews
0.4 km away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#8 of 31 in Volcano
398 reviews
1.1 km away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is NOT your regular Joe B&B; actually it isn't a B&B at all, but a farmstead accommodaton. It offers everything you'd expect at a three star hotel and more for a fraction of the cost. Our location is key for planning your perfect stay while visiting the Big Island. We are located a short drive from Hilo International Airport and just minutes from the most active (and safest) volcano in the world. Kilauea is situated at the 4,000 foot elevation amidst lush tropical rainforest where you can escape the heat and crowds of the fast paced city life. Come enjoy some "Aloha" hospitality at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aloha Happy Place

Address: 19-3870 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785 (Formerly Aloha Place)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: RM582 - RM853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aloha Happy Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aloha Happy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aloha Happy Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here rude owner, and uncomfortable bed.”
 of 5 bubbles blt0524, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Plan earlier.”
 of 5 bubbles Allie98, 6 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Every room is greatly themed!”
 of 5 bubbles charity78, 7 Jun 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in palimino which was a cute horse room”
 of 5 bubbles Pelepassion, 24 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay