We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Kilauea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chalet Kilauea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Kilauea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Glendive, Montana
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Our two night stay was at the Hale House, Malia Room, not the main lodge. Hale House is sort of isolated and kind of in the middle of nowhere. We wanted to stay in the area so we could explore Volcano National Park so we only needed a place to sleep. That is exactly what we got. The Malia room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank surfercharlie
devon, uk
Reviewed 21 May 2015

this suited us just fine ... clean, everything worked and attractive. much of volcano seemed quite expensive but this very good value and within easy reach of the park.can recommend to anyone for a couple of nights.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank robandalf
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Reviewed 1 May 2015

My wife and I were greeted with tropical foliage and a gurgling koi pond. Lush path winded through the grounds. We rented the Garden Room and we struck by its charm and luxury for such a remote location. Great garden patio/lanai. We would've stayed two nights but it was already booked. Love this place. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BigBamboi
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed two nights in April 2015 in the Bamboo room, having found it on Tripadvisor. It was perfect for what we needed. I think we may have had the nicest room although we didn't see them all. The room is new and actually not listed on their website. They were in the process of creating a newer room that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisVancouver
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Bamboo room! It's great that you were able to appreciate the room and all the detail that has been put into it. It's always great to hear about our guests adventures on the Big Island and...

west australia
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Our room was wonderful and has a very comfortable bed and pillows. Only issue was that the door to the lanai had a window....that would let in early morning sun! So we had to cover it with a towel so we would not be woken too early. Also....we never saw fruit at the reception! Only tea and coffee. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank click11
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in Volcano and hope you had a great vacation. We do serve great coffee and a selection of international teas, but we do not have a restaurant on site, so we do not offer any additional items. However, there are 4...

Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Great place to stay when visiting the Hawaian Volcanoes National Park. Clean, comfortable and 5 minutes away. A bit pricey but not a lot of other choices. No breakfast, just fresh papaya, coffee/tea and oats. Fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, cups and cutlery available in rooms. Hot tub on the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cerfplacide
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo! It is also awesome that you took the time to provide your comments for Tripadvisor readers! We are glad that you had a great experience and found all the room's amenities to be what was needed for your stay with us. Thank you for the review on Chalet Kilauea and we hope you had a great rest of your...

Rutland, Vermont
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We spend a lot of time out doing things and not a lot of time in the room. It was just what we needed. The room looked newly renovated. The bathroom was brand new and the outside kitchenette was great. (Jade Room) It was everything we needed. Close to the national park with a little village up the road (Volcano)...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don A
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found everything to be just what was needed for your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Aloha and mahalo!!

Heerlen
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The small hotel is situated in a realy beautifull garden with a lot of flowers. It's very close to the national park and that was the reason to stay here. Alle rooms have a special name and we stayed in the Africa room. There were many many items in the room form Africa and that made it special. We must...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Larera
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us amongst the flowers:) It's always good to hear what our guests enjoyed or experienced while they were here. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to Hawai'i. Mahalo!

Arden Hills, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here because our reservation at another B &B could not be honored. Having visited the first place and seen what could have been, this place a disappointment and way more expensive. Typical weird layout for B & B. No breakfast, and coffee only after the lobby opened.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainDan330
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than a great stay with us. We only advertise as a hotel in Volcano, so I can see why you may have been disappointed in your experience (no breakfast) as it seems you were expecting a B&B. I hope you had a great...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 February 2015

When we were looking for places to stay while visiting Volcano, my family and I decided on Chalet Kilauea because of how fun the rooms looked. We stayed in the Jade Room and the Bamboo Room, and both of the rooms were great and I highly recommend them!! There is plenty of space for two people in each room. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beekydreamer
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Jade and Bamboo rooms and were able to enjoy the National Park as well. As for the breakfast, unfortunately, we did not have a general demand for breakfast and therefore had to phase it out of what we...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.9 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
728 reviews
36.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
36.7 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
86.6 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: RM375 - RM857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Come to the office to check the location is what you should do first but check-in is after 3 PM”
 of 5 bubbles oddseattle, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are many types of lodging at the Chalet.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieH1962, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I can't speak to other rooms since each one is different, but 101 was generally ok.”
 of 5 bubbles travelreimagined_jen, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room thats advertised in ad with a kitch inside. Hope you like it hotf and sticky inside.”
 of 5 bubbles darcir714, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the Deluxe Bungalow!!”
 of 5 bubbles KailuaGal, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay