We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chalet Kilauea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chalet Kilauea
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Kilauea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Great place to stay when visiting the Hawaian Volcanoes National Park. Clean, comfortable and 5 minutes away. A bit pricey but not a lot of other choices. No breakfast, just fresh papaya, coffee/tea and oats. Fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, cups and cutlery available in rooms. Hot tub on the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cerfplacide
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo! It is also awesome that you took the time to provide your comments for Tripadvisor readers! We are glad that you had a great experience and found all the room's amenities to be what was needed for your stay with us. Thank you for the review on Chalet Kilauea and we hope you had a great rest of your...

Rutland, Vermont
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We spend a lot of time out doing things and not a lot of time in the room. It was just what we needed. The room looked newly renovated. The bathroom was brand new and the outside kitchenette was great. (Jade Room) It was everything we needed. Close to the national park with a little village up the road (Volcano)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don A
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and found everything to be just what was needed for your stay. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Aloha and mahalo!!

Heerlen
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The small hotel is situated in a realy beautifull garden with a lot of flowers. It's very close to the national park and that was the reason to stay here. Alle rooms have a special name and we stayed in the Africa room. There were many many items in the room form Africa and that made it special. We must...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Larera
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us amongst the flowers:) It's always good to hear what our guests enjoyed or experienced while they were here. Thank you again and we hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to Hawai'i. Mahalo!

Arden Hills, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here because our reservation at another B &B could not be honored. Having visited the first place and seen what could have been, this place a disappointment and way more expensive. Typical weird layout for B & B. No breakfast, and coffee only after the lobby opened.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaptainDan330
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that you had anything less than a great stay with us. We only advertise as a hotel in Volcano, so I can see why you may have been disappointed in your experience (no breakfast) as it seems you were expecting a B&B. I hope you had a great...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 February 2015

When we were looking for places to stay while visiting Volcano, my family and I decided on Chalet Kilauea because of how fun the rooms looked. We stayed in the Jade Room and the Bamboo Room, and both of the rooms were great and I highly recommend them!! There is plenty of space for two people in each room. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beekydreamer
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking your time to review the Chalet Kilauea. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Jade and Bamboo rooms and were able to enjoy the National Park as well. As for the breakfast, unfortunately, we did not have a general demand for breakfast and therefore had to phase it out of what we...

Bellaire, Michigan
Reviewed 19 February 2015

This was our second visit. No longer is there a lovely great room and breakfast area in the lodge No longer a B and B as in our first visit. We stayed in the Limo room which is small and warm during the day. But my main complaint is that there is only one chair even though it it a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saluki66686
Quad Cities, Illinois
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We stayed for two nights with another couple (two rooms). I made the reservations for both rooms, based upon the reviews and pictures provided. However, when we arrived, I was really taken back. I was embarrassed to tell the other couple that this was where we were staying. The ceilings were very low and it was damp with dehumidifiers being...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank FMOmbrello
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Fun place to stay. We felt that we really were in Hawaii. The Continental is very large and comfortable. We slept like logs. Bring food for breakfast. The restaurants around here are expensive (even for Hawaii) and run on island time. The parking spots are a bit narrow but we had no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randalljay
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for reviewing the Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in the Continental room! We hope you had a great Hawaiian vacation and please come see us again on any future trips to the Big Island. Mahalo and Aloha!

Rotterdam
Reviewed 7 January 2015

After arriving we were quickly checked in, although the reception was said to be closed at around 5 PM (and we were about 30 minutes later) there was still someone present. We resided in the 'Java' room. Not the biggest but we don't really bother about that. I can imagine people complain about the edges of the bet (foot-end) sticking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaxPeen
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We are glad that you enjoyed the Garden room and found the complimentary WiFi and coffee to be a welcome amenity during your stay. It's great that you were able to enjoy the National Park and hope that you will come stay with us again if ever in the area....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Chalet Kilauea was a lovely inn. There isn't a prepared breakfast, but plenty of oatmeal, coffee, and papaya- giving it a bed and breakfast type of feel. The location was ideal for visiting Volcaoes park, as well as Hilo and many locations on the windward side of the Big Island. The inn had lovely rooms, set in a rainforest. Try...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher M
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for providing your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and were able to enjoy some of the local restaurants (Thai Thai) while you were visiting. We hope you will come back and visit on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawai'i. Mahalo and Aloha!

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.4 km away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.9 km away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
708 reviews
36.4 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
35.4 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
636 reviews
82.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chalet Kilauea Hotel is nestled in the heart of Volcano Village in a quiet, peaceful area. Chalet Kilauea Hotel is a small, boutique hotel offering custom showers and wet bars with microwaves, mini-fridges, coffee makers, and more. All units offer unique bathrooms with modern fixtures, cable TV, and natural artistic accents! Chalet Kilauea features a beautiful Koi fish pond, complimentary tea/coffee(3pm-5pm), free WIFI, and 24-hour hot tub in the Garden Gazebo. Daily housekeeping included. 1 minute from shops, restaurants, and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Kilauea

Address: 19-4178 Wright Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Price Range: RM350 - RM904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Kilauea 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Kilauea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Volcano (Chalet Kilauea Collection) Hotel Volcano
Chalet Kilauea Volcano
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Kilauea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can't speak to other rooms since each one is different, but 101 was generally ok.”
 of 5 bubbles travelreimagined_jen, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room thats advertised in ad with a kitch inside. Hope you like it hotf and sticky inside.”
 of 5 bubbles darcir714, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the Deluxe Bungalow!!”
 of 5 bubbles KailuaGal, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Accommodation decor varies wildly - call to be sure you get what you're after. We had room #4 which was delightfully unique.”
  • Jungle View and Plenty of Room.
  • Quirky Kitchen.
  • Cavernous Shower.
  • Double Sinks.
  • Kitchenette and Gas Fire.
  • Our Room's Entryway
 of 5 bubbles CKimoff, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“So very comfy. buy groceries before heading to volcano.”
 of 5 bubbles emmacV8297UN, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay