We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Stockton, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This hotel was a quaint and quiet place. I went ahead and upgraded to the garden view, which I was happy with. You can easily leave the windows open at night and there are AC's. The room had a modern feel and was comfortable. Beautiful pool area and close beach access. Some people were swimming, but I opted to sun...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DE7313
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all the great comments. Look forward to your next visit with us. Mahalo.

Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 September 2016

To put it mildly, this place lacks aloha. The front desk employee "Anna" was rude, unprofessional and should find a job outside of the hospitality industry. The only job she might do well at in the lodging business might just be as a Corrections Officer. Seriously, I have NEVER been mistreated and disrespected anywhere as they have done here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank barefootnative2
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodations. Upon researching your concerns, the following were the findings: 1. You had booked on the room for one night. The night of 8/30. You checked in at 1:00am on 8/31, hence your check out date is still 8/31 at noon. The $18.00 is a hospitality fee for the parking, wi fi, In...

Beverly Hills, California
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed for 2 nights and loved the 60s vibe of this hotel. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The ocean view room was at the front of the property but really doesn't look out at the ocean, but I liked the location. The grounds are well maintained and has a great lawn area. The pools are nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lions462
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendations. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We placed new chaise lounges on the lawn and also chairs on the lawn, where guests are able to use them on the beach or on the lawn. All of our ADA rooms have safety rails in all the bathrooms. We also provide...

Kauai, Hawaii
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I just wanted to thank the wonderful staff at the Kauai Shores for such wonderful hospitality and making me and my guest feel welcome. The resort is beautifully decorated and well clean from my last visit. I would truly recommend you and your guest to stay here. Oh, and the location is perfect. Near great shops and dining.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kauainel1
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon. Mahalo.

Marshall islands
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Have stayed at Kauai Shores almost annually since about '88 and have watched it go through multiple changes and a few changes in ownership. The hotel is aged but has gone through multiple renovations and it's been very interesting to see how each subsequent owner has chosen to spend their limited improvement funds. The most recent major renovation was the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeff V
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and taking time to write a detailed survey. We appreciate it very much. With everything that was great to the A/c units. The A/c units are energy efficient and starts off with a humming sound. Once it gets loud and or shows rust, we replaced them with new ones. We are looking for a...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is an older hotel but has been redone and the rooms are now quite good. certainly good for the money. Enjoyed the pool. Not a good place to use the beach. Their new restaurant is good but expensive and kind of out of character with the hotel. Long walk to stores. People complained about the old fashioned room air...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MarilynUtica_NY
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and enjoying your stay with us. Look forward to your next stay with us. Mahalo.

Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks. When we arrived we had to pay for resort fees. I'm still trying to figure out what exactly that is since nothing was provided for us. They lied about having several things they listed on the website so when we got there we were under budget. The bed was so uncomfortable that the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryanna R
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. Upon research, I did not see any notes or remarks listed on your reservation or during your 2 weeks stay. The resort fee of $18/day includes the wifi in the rooms and property wide, parking, unlimited dvd/game rentals, in-room coffee and tea service, 24 hour business center, 3 days a week yoga classes, weekly...

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Kauai Shores Aqua Hotel for one night in June. We are local to the area and wanted to get out of our shared living space for the night for a special occasion and Kauai shores was the best option within our budget. Check in was pleasant and professional. Making the reservation I explained...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lauryn R
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy to note that the front desk personnel took good care of your accommodations. I have asked the housekeeping manager to check on your room. The A/C unit is set at 60 degrees F. or else the unit freezes. Look forward to your next visit with us. Let us know at time of check in if it's a...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Under $200.00 a night is a great deal! The hotel lobby is being renovated and I'm sure will be beautiful when finished. Two pools with relaxing waterfalls. A tiki type outdoor bar to relax and look out at the ocean and the beach almost feels private! We are more of a travel, than vacation couple, so we're always looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terrie M
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and suggestions. Yes, the open air lobby and the new porte cochere are great additions to the fully renovated hotel. We also have the one and only toes in the sand restaurant in the island of Kauai. We will opening our retail store in September this year and the Shopping Mall, the Coconut Market...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This is a great hotel. There are at least two pools and it's on a beach. The food at the restaurant is delicious. However there are many places to visit close by if you so choose. The rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. Each room also has a patio which I love. The staff is very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather H
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha and thank your for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We are a full service hotel with great rooms, beach front restaurant and very knowledgeable expedia concierges. Our best asset is our friendly and courteous staff. I will definitely pass on your great comments to the staff. Mahalo.

494 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (133)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Double Room (42)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
King Room (38)
Viewed
Main Pool (22)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.8 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,129 reviews
0.1 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
670 reviews
0.9 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy renovated accommodations at our beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Wailua River kayaking, Wailua Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kapaa town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools. Join us for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner at our new restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club - a true "Toes in the Sand" dining experience right on the beachfront. Contemporary guest room accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including in-room coffee, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, and self-parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1449
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Price Range: RM619 - RM1,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa, HI
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Chandler
27 days ago
over a year ago
Saint Louis, Missouri
3 months ago
Gyeonggi-do, South Korea

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room on the south side of the hotel had a great view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles bbrooksaustin, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a 2nd floor room (1st floor of your European) .....ask to look over garden or pool if possible...but might be more ££”
 of 5 bubbles Happyhappyboots, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choosing a room as far away from the pools as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles denningj2014, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2 story hotel with no elevator. There is restaurant on site and a convenience store walking distance.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have A/C noise as they all have window units. We had 2 bed garden view room which is the base room.”
 of 5 bubbles geb910, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay