We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makai Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Makai Club
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our experience here was disappointing. We were lured in by the seemingly terrific advertised price and location. The value seemed great...online. But, upon arrival we quickly found the combination of the mediocre facilities, undelivered services, and the disinterested off-island management, leaving us sorely disappointed. With so many wonderful options nearby, we will not return here.

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineH298
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Carolineh298. We're very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. We never want our guests to leave feeling disappointed. Please feel comfortable reaching out to Wilbert Tai Hook at wtaihook@gpresorts.com with any additional comments or questions. He would like to help in any way he can. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This condo unit served our needs to a tee. We don't like to eat out every meal, so we cooked in the unit for breakfast and lunch, usually went into town for dinner. close to everything we wanted to do, beaches, town, hiking etc.

Helpful?
Thank golffreak2016
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The place was awesome, the people amazing and the views were spectacular. Air condition worked great, kitchen was stocked to perfection and they also provide detergent for the clothes washer. Would love to go back and would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank w4d3j3r2
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Makai Club is a timeshare with vacation rental management. The unit we stayed in was quite nice with updated interior. Kitchen is well appointed and it includes a laundry in the bathroom. Air conditioning in the 1br units only. Bed is comfortable. Everything is super clean. Everyone at the front desk was helpful and courteous. The only downside is that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scphil21
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Came here for one night only. To my surprise husband called ahead to ask for floral arrangment purchase to surprise me for our 3rd wedding anniversary. They instead, at no charge to him, had a beautiful tropical floral centerpiece, thoughtful cars and box of Mac nut chocolate in the room when we arrived. I'd say that is above and beyond... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace L
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Thank you, Grace, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Delivering excellent service is our utmost priority and we are thankful that you have experienced it. We'd be thrilled to have you back again soon! More 

West Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I have visited Kauai often since the late 1960's which means I have seen a lot of change on the island. First visited Makai Club Cottages in about 1996 and fell in love with the style and the laid back charm. It has gone through many changes over the years under different managements (mismanagements? indifferent managements?) It is a cottage-style... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jetsmama
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We traveled with another couple and stayed for almost 2 full weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. It was our third time to Kauai and this was a great resort. They cottages have split master type bedrooms with private baths, large closets, and changing areas. Their is no air conditioning in the cottages, as is the case in most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank borodi
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Hello borodi. Thank you for taking time out to share this delightful review. Your compliments encourage us to keep delivering genuine hospitality and services to our guests. It's a joy to read that you had a relaxing vacation. We look forward to being of service to you and your family on your next visit. More 

Laurel, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The resort is a little bit dated, but our unit was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful. We had a beautiful view of the mountains. There were a lot of nice perks with staying there like snacks and drinks and free things to borrow like beach chairs, bikes and golf clubs. We appreciated... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KJL_MD
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha vKjl_md. Thank you for leaving us this response. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We’re delighted to hear that we have earned your continued patronage with our purposeful service and array of quality-minded amenities! We hope you can indeed visit us once again! More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My wife and I stayed for 14 days and enjoyed every minute of it. It was our first time to Hawaii and we loved the island of Kauai. We are not beach people so the outdoor activities on this island were right up our alley. This is a very well kept resort and the staff our very helpful and informative.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed K
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Ed. Thank you for choosing Makai Club Resort during your recent trip to Princeville! On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a condo at this location for 12 days and were not disappointed. Customer service is foremost in the care of their guests. Everyone is so friendly and enjoy helping. The one bedroom condo is spacious and nicely layed out and kitchen is smartly stocked with what needed to cook a great meal. Ask for a mountain view unit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review

Aloha Mary. Thank you for taking time out to share this review. We're pleased you enjoyed our beautiful views and excellent customer service. Please visit us again soon. More 

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.8 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
37.6 km away
Koloa Landing Resort
27.6 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.9 km away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,604 reviews
1.3 km away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure.Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makai Club

Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Price Range: RM845 - RM1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makai Club 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makai Club staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Belvidere, New Jersey
2 months ago
San Diego, California
1 month ago
Tucson
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Makai Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quite, pretty view.....its Kauai”
 of 5 bubbles golffreak2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each cottage is unique. Ask if you want one without interior steps. I like decks overlooking the golf course (north.)”
  • Back lanai of one of the cottages
  • Morning coffee on the deck, note view in computer screen behind me feels like I am alone in para
 of 5 bubbles Jetsmama, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The pool and hot tub were perfect for us. Not super fancy, but very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles borodi, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't mind stairs, ask for a higher level unit with mountain views.”
 of 5 bubbles KJL_MD, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors have best views and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 653edk, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay