We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maui Eco Retreat

Show Prices
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Maui Eco Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Eco Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The Maui Eco Retreat was honestly even better in person than I imagined it to be. Wonderful property. Secluded and quiet. Tucked away in the midst of the jungle. I don't think there could have been a more unique and restful way to experience Maui for the first time. The property sits about a mile off the road, and therefore,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher R
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We based our 2 week adventure in Maui out of the Maui Retreat. On adventure days, it was a wonderful spot to come home and settle into. The days we stayed at the retreat were an adventure of their own, the place permeates all 5 senses, letting you truly connect with the rhythm of the ocean, the land, the wind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FeelYourFeet
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Myself and my husband stayed there for 4 days in lotus room and it was a wonderful place. Its completely isolated and inside the woods. The lotus room was awesome with ocean view and a little pond outside. It was so relaxing and awesome place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VijiMoor
Los Gatos, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

To start with the positives: The grounds are beautiful and our room was very nice as well. We stayed in the lotus room and really enjoyed the pond outside. Although it was raining while we were there, we enjoyed hiking around the grounds. The girl that took my reservation was so sweet and helped with some great ideas , as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMC408
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. Our office explained that this...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We stayed one night. The grounds are amazing and the rooms nice. We were in the lotus room which had great views of the pond. There was definitely a feel of this being a shared house with several other semi-permanent residents. After we had sorted ourselves out, one of the owners wanted to check if we had paid our rent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jugdeep
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment as we made an exception to accept your booking for only one night. We normally have a three night minimum stay to allow you to explore our vast beautiful land safely with ease and no stress. Unfortunately you arrived on the day we had an official Hurricane Warning. We were very concerned for...

Denmark
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We spent 6 days at the lotus room. It was magnificent. We had a little pond right outside of our place. When waking up first thing we saw was the ocean - just beautiful! On top of all that there is a big and fully equiped kitchen (dishwasher, nespresso machine, fridge, stove, toaster aso). On the Maui Retreat owned ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dva77712
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2014

The views and comforts offered at The Bamboo Temple are second to none on Maui. If tranquility and being close to nature are your thing, if being bathed by moonlight reflecting off the ocean as you sleep and having the company of hummingbirds at breakfast appeal, then look no further. Don't be put off by it's out of the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherriePye
Byron Bay
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Maui retreat is the perfect place to forget about the busy world out there, relax, go inside, meditate or go swimming in the natural pool above the water fall or in the ocean, sit under the bamboo for breakfast, get your own coconut, watch the stunning sunsets.... The views are breath taking .... Watch, enjoy and breathe health and well-being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmaKal
Bern
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Eco Thai Hale Cottage is a dream. The mixture between nature, remote location and the privacy of your own cottage is true luxury. It is impossible to compare this dream location to anything.... We were amazed by the friendliness of the staff. Wondering arround and exploring surroundings of the retreat was most interesting and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kschorno
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we went to this place to spend our honeymoon but unfortunately we not had good times, the site was without any kind of hygiene, gilette with another host in the bathroom and used and older soap mor that my grandmother. Unfortunately in my opinion there was no kind of concern with hygiene and comfort for guests, is a place I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jessicanadyne
MauiRetreat, Owner at Maui Eco Retreat, responded to this review

We are sad to read this comment, as we always hope when something is needed our guests will let us know right away so we can help. We strive to provide for each traveler a place of comfort and beauty. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned before each guest arrives. If you found your shower to be dirty upon...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
29.2 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
47.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
380 reviews
31.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
420 reviews
5.8 km away
Maui Ocean Breezes
Maui Ocean Breezes
#2 of 8 in Haiku
328 reviews
11.2 km away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living? Permitted since 2009 # BBPH/0003. Our Tax ID is 063-848-6J28-01. This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana which means blessings. It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award since 2013 up to this day. Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season. Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. When staying with us you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement that is expanding daily. Escape the tourist-filled places. This is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa'ia. Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden. We are EXCITED to announce that as of the 1st of September 2016, after much planning, anticipation and roadblocks to overcome, the badly needed road repair and upgrade has been successfully completed. Mother Nature had definitely taken her toll on our roads! Now with the vast improvements, and thanks to a dedicated road repair crew and the help of local volunteers, the last stretch of the drive to our magical resort is now as smooth and enjoyable as it is beautiful! OPUA GUEST HOUSE The Opua Guest house contains has uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably. LOTUS ROOM Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation DOLPHIN ROOM Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles. INDIAN ROOM Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. HAWAIIAN ROOM Our Hawaiian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Celebrating the spirit of the islands with Hawaiian art and exotic wood flooring, and a large private deck with spectacular ocean and crater views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Eco Retreat

Address: 610 Huelo Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5759
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Price Range: RM422 - RM1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Eco Retreat Haiku, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Eco Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Eco Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only some of the rooms have private bathrooms, but the shared one looks nice too.”
 of 5 bubbles 329linusg, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Loved the Bamboo temple!”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveler49079, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Kutira will advise you on the best room for your needs. They're all special.”
 of 5 bubbles jackal5408, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The free wifi is in rooms the mainhouse - in the Bamboo temple there is no wifi but a view to the sunrise and the sea -”
 of 5 bubbles 603danielak, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Lotus room which had it's own shower and bathroom. Most rooms do not.”
  • Deck off Lotus Room looking over pond
 of 5 bubbles 245michellef, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5