We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sugar Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sugar Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sugar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 571: English reviews
Anacortes, Washington
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We truly loved our condo, our view was wonderful and the resort was beautiful! Every morning we would enjoy our coffee on the Lanai and take in the peace and quiet. Will go back and look forward to staying at Sugar Beach again!

5Thank Jessica F
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Lanai was the only part of this unit we liked. The carpet was dirty, dried food on the dining chairs. Mold in the shower and shower vent was falling out of ceiling. Lamp shade fell off night stand lamp. This unit was advertised as recent remodel. I would guess that is incorrect due to damage. It was my first...

2Thank laura b
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your Sugar Beach Resort condo was not what you were expecting. Our condo management company does not manage condo 420, but if we did, we would follow up with an inspection of this condo to assure all your findings were addressed. We hope you give Sugar Beach another try on a return trip, as we typically...

San Antonio
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The beach is right next to the condos, noise was minimal, the grounds are well maintained, and the pool is good. However, Unit 230 needs an update. The living room furniture was more suitable as pool side furniture and had a very unpleasant musty smell as did the bed comforter. Moreover, the carpet runners were stained and torn. We had...

Thank bushbulldog
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and unit 230, which we manage. I am sorry that you found the furniture tired; I guess it is a matter of taste. The condo follows a tropical Hawaiian theme throughout, with Hawaiian paintings on the wall, wood-carved bedroom set, and a very relaxing dark chocolate-colored synthetic plastic weave couch...

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a beautiful stay at Sugar Beach Plantation #104. The resort has well kept grounds (manicured daily), a great pool area, wonderful walking beach (that goes on forever). So many good things to stay. It was nice having amenities on site as well (sandwich shop, tour company, clothing store and main office). Our unit was individually owned (Cara thanks...

1Thank Sue P
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in this unit for 9 nights. We booked through expedia so we had no choice on the room assignment and I was pleasantly surprised. The unit is very nice and it had everything we needed and more. The location was good and the direct beach access off the lanai was great. I was concerned we were assigned a...

1Thank Putz_and_me
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beachfront grounds, pool, and on-site amenities such as the tour-booking company, massage therapist, and bar/deli (don’t know if you got the opportunity to give that try). Our condo management company does not manage the exact condo you stayed in, but I am...

Comox, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2012

What a disappointment with this resort. We were delayed 8 hours in LAX due to the unreliability of United Airlines (another disaapointment) so we contacted TD Travel with whom we booked the accomadation to inform them of our delay. They were unable to reach the hotel. However, operating procedures dictate that guests are to contact an 'on call" receptionist at...

1Thank Ladybug_528
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We are currently staying at unit 106. Yes, the location is very good, private beach is convenient. The front desk is polite. However, the unit was equipped with very dirty furniture. I could see the dark layers on clothing and smell the bad odor. I had to call office to replace them. The units themselves seem to be very old...

Thank rider_101
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for staying at the Sugar Beach Resort and unit 106, which we manage. I am sorry that you did not find the sofa bed comfortable; we will let the owners know about your complaint. We wish you would have told us about your troubles sleeping, as we would have sent over a futon or padded cushion...

Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed for nine days and really enjoyed ourselves. The location, in my opinion, is great. We never had to drive for long to get anywhere. We shopped at Times Supermarket and Foodland, both just a ten minute drive down S. Kihei. The kitchen is clean and well supplied. The fridge didn't work. We bought groceries the night we arrived...

2Thank rheo3000
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We've stayed at Sugar Beach once before. Unit 520 is a really nice unit. Well maintained. Fully stocked kitchen (although we always bring our own knives as the ones in any unit anywhere always suck). Best for 2 people although there is a sofa couch. The condo is right on the beach and the beach is lovely for long walks....

2Thank Andrew H
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Sugar Beach Resort. We do not manage the exact condo you stayed at, but appreciate your review of the property and the fun beach walk that many of our guests enjoy. We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort for your next trip to Maui! Mahalo, Keith Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 1 December 2012

BEWARE: We checked in late and was given unit #303. We paid the upgrade to "ocean view". Our "ocean view" condo is in the garden building,overlooking the putting green and pool. Unit #303 faces another building...not the ocean. We called and was told that "we have an ocean view". The unit itself is AWSOME!!! #303 is beautiful, comfortable and the...

Thank April15_2012
araikes, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha, I am glad you found condo #303 awesome! I also apologize for any confusion in the classification of our room categories. I have broken down the categories below for clarification for you and any future potential guests: Garden View: Located on the ground floor with easy access to the pool and central resort courtyard Ocean View: Located on floors...

509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (374)
Pool/Beach Area (47)
View from Room (66)
Room/Suite (89)
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Bathroom (10)
Dining (19)
Videos (1)
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Amenities (16)
Beach (5)
One Bedroom Apartment (49)
Pool (15)
Dining (9)
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
7.2 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
28.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,872 reviews
28.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#7 of 62 in Kihei
508 reviews
0.2 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
9.3 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Price Range: RM814 - RM1,743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei, HI
Sugar Beach Maui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Georgetown, South Carolina
11 months ago
Bensenville, Illinois
over a year ago
10 months ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in building 1 are beachfront without pool noise.”
violincat, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On the ocean at the back.”
145elite123145, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask when the unit was last updated; check the specific reviews for the room you're looking at. Southwest facing ocean view is spectacular.”
MacDuff47, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“waterfront is awsome”
stevegV6518CB, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“a very quiet area in kihie”
smilely, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5