We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2780A Kekaa Dr Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1927
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/06/22
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (288)
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (189)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Updated 30/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#30 of 34 in Lahaina
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Lahaina, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Lahaina. Rooms at Kaanapali Ocean Hotel offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and a lounge will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Kaanapali Ocean Hotel, parking is available. If you like Thai restaurants, Kaanapali Ocean Hotel is conveniently located near Thai Food by Suri. Best of all, Kaanapali Ocean Inn makes it easy to experience many great Lahaina attractions like Launiupoko Beach Park, Ukumehame Beach Park, and PoHaku Park, which are some popular parks. Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Kaanapali Ocean Inn is sure to make your visit to Lahaina one worth remembering.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Tennis court offsite
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, German and 1 more
321Reviews16Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 93
  • 59
  • 55
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
azmtnmom wrote a review Apr 2022
Flagstaff, Arizona4 contributions
While I had reserved an oceanfront room at KOI, they had over-sold and so upgraded me to an ocean-front cottage, so I guess this may be more a review for the Royal Lahaina Resort, which also manages Kaanapali Ocean Inn. Stephanie at the front desk was sweet and personable, and all the bellmen were attentive and had recommendations at the ready. The cottage was very clean and the beds were comfy. Access to Kaanapali beach cannot be easier and the trolley makes trips to the Whalers Village shops easy (don’t lose your parking spot to those coming for the lu’au). I would stay here again, and I’d still try to stay at KOI, lol
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha!! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
Jacob Gluski wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I will start with the positives of this place. The beaches were clean, the pool was picturesque, the view was good, and the maid service was excellent. Unfortunately that’s where the positives run out. The resort fee of $40/day gets you subpar keurig coffee and spotty wifi. The daily parking fee was also fairly high at $30/day. From the moment we walked into the room (1523) we knew our experience wasn’t going to be great. The room smelled of mold, we turned on the fan and opened the door wall to try and air it out. Cue the post-nasal drip and worsening of asthma. The moldy smell never improved throughout our stay. It was easy to see where the smell was coming from, the beds were nailed to the wall and the intervening 2 inches of space was full of dust and mold. There was obvious water damage just near the entry door, the tiny/dingy shower had ceiling tiles just above head level that looked as if they hadn’t been replaced since the 1980s. Additionally, the walls were very thin and we were able to hear our honeymooner neighbors anytime we were in our room. On the whole we were very disappointed with this hotel, would recommend staying just about anywhere else
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read about your negative experience. We would have been happy to move your room had we known that you were uncomfortable. Our resort feels cover a number of amenities and activities on property, not only the coffee daily and wifi. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui and should you return we would be happy to ensure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.
Read more
Madgex3 wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions
We stayed in two of the cottages at Kaanapali Ocean Inn. The rooms were spacious and very clean. We needed a place to stay for one night and this place was perfect. We were in the middle of the Lahania Resort and had access to all the amenities. The staff was most helpful and drove us to our rooms in the golf carts. Though the rooms were no frills, we did each have a private patio. Beautiful grounds, perfect views, and a great restaurant. One of the best meals I have ever experienced. The morning after we arrived, we walked the boardwalk fora couple of hours after having a tasty breakfast by the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: I would definitely request one of the cottages.
See more room tips
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your cottage rooms and loved your experience at the resort! We hope that you made beautiful memories in Maui and will join us again in the future.
Read more
Vegas408 wrote a review Feb 2022
Nevada262 contributions56 helpful votes
Stayed here for the week while visiting with friends. The building is older than other buildings in the area but the location and view were great. That aside, there are no frills. Just a small coffee maker, small fridge and small safe. The bathroom was okay, shower stall was small. The TV worked but was on the smaller side than in other hotels. No paintings or pictures on the walls made the room very blah. Being an older building, the walls were thin and you could hear the nightly Luau through the halls but not so much on the north side where I stayed. The maintenance man placing a board across the connecting door to the next door room because there was no lock at 9:30pm was kind of an inconvenience but we got past that. The staff however was friendly and kept the room clean daily. All that said, I would consider staying here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing you concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.
Read more
Brett M wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed there for just one final evening in Hawaii. The room had a nice king bed, sweet lanai with a gorgeous view of the ocean, nice vanity mirror in bathroom, room service for dinner, and a nice little view of the Luau show in the evening. A bell desk worker also helped carry our huge bags to the third floor, which was very helpful. The walls were unfortunately pretty thin, so my wife and I could hear casual conversation from our neighbors’ room. Check-in and check-out was easy. The beach had amazing sand and pleasant waves, and my wife and I laid on the beach at night and stared at the stars for two hours. So peaceful. I’d stay here again for 1-3 nights!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our location! We hope that you can join us for a longer stay in the future!
Read more
US$317 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
kaanapali ocean hotel lahaina, kaanapali ocean inn, kaanapali ocean lahaina
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ka'anapali Beach (1.0 km), Kahekili Beach Park (0.4 km), and The Spa at Black Rock (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pulehu, An Italian Grill, Castaway Cafe, and Pailolo Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kaanapali Ocean Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kaanapali Ocean Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kaanapali Ocean Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Kaanapali Ocean Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Lahaina Courthouse (6.1 km), Lahaina Jodo Mission (5.6 km), and Wo Hing Temple Museum (6.4 km).