We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sands of Kahana

TripAdvisorUS$179*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$348*
US$179*
Great Deal
US$189*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sands of Kahana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 669: English reviews
Start your review of Sands of Kahana
 Click to rate
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is great -- right on the sea but that's where the beauty ends. This place hasn't been painted, properly cleaned or updated in who knows how long. They just suck off the first-timers who come without knowing what they are getting in to. The management is so poor. They obviously hear a lot of complaints and are completely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
Cambridge
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was tough to timeshare swap on Maui. We tried for three years. Then we adjusted our criteria and availability dates to include Sands of Kahana (SoK) and the whole month of April. While SoK met all of our original criteria, ocean, beach, 2 bedrooms, in-suite laundry, full kitchen, and on-site restaurant/bar there was one perceived drawback...no air conditioning. Now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Douglas! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are delighted we were worth the wait and hope you will consider us again! Mahalo!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My pregnant wife, toddler and I were enjoying our lovely ocean view room at Sands of Kahana for five days before it went wrong. This poor review of 2 stars is not provided lightly, as we did enjoy our time at this resort and would even STILL recommend it, but with this caveat: there may very well be rat feces...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ryanweaver619
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Ryan. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret to learn of your experience and extend our sincere apologies if we did not offer an adequate response to your concerns or provide an acceptable solution. Helpful and attentive customer service is our top priority, and we are disappointed that we fell short of both our standards and your...

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our 4th time staying at this resort. Usually, the trades are blowing and the ventilation is spectacular. Not so much this time. So indoor comfort was at a premium. That being said, we thought this unit did not meet our expectations. It did not seem as clean as we expected and the master bathroom was falling apart. (The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A6271XQrobertb
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly appreciate your loyalty and are disappointed your recent visit did not live up to expectations. Unit 318 is a private rental and not affiliated with the Soleil Management vacation club inventory for which this page was created. The quality and cleanliness of private rentals units can vary from condo...

Acton, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spend 4/2 - 4/9. This year was no different from the last. Friendly staff, beautiful property and though dated, clean accommodations. I can't wait until they finish all the room upgrades. There are always complaints about no air conditioning and it an sometime be hot depending on the time of year. But this time the weather was perfect. Keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnsb01
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Johnsb01! Thank you for returning to Sands of Kahana. We truly value your loyalty and are delighted you enjoyed "another perfect visit." We are pleased we made a favorable impression for our Aloha spirit, clean accommodations and well-maintained resort grounds. Your kind words and highest rating are much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our view was amazing, room was spacious. We did encounter some problems with our freezer/ice maker, it leaked. No one ever fixed the problem but it was still fabulous!! I believe we were on level 3. Staff was very polite, and courteous. We will come back in march again, due to the Whale Watching was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly Q
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, Holly! Thank you so much for your visit and kind words. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay. As you discovered, our spacious accommodations offer breathtaking ocean views as far as the eye can see. Please accept our apology for not responding to your service call. We appreciate your bringing the oversight to our attention. We are also...

Redwood City, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are timeshare owners at the Sands of Kahana and often trade out for other locations, but always try to get back to the Sands of Kahana at least every other year! This is our peaceful relaxing spot!! We bring our family and friends and have always had a wonderful time! Sands of Kahana has a perfect beach for swimming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellisfamily
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha, kellisfamily! Thank you for sharing your bountiful kind comments and beautiful photos. We truly appreciate your ownership and are delighted you still enjoy your time with us. It is our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo!

Idaho
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Give this place a skip. Front desk staff leaves you with the impression that they wish you had never come. The beach is almost nonexistent...sandbags everywhere...to help with erosion...? The best I can say is the unit was spacious with nice views, housekeeping seemed fine, and the on site restaurant was pretty good with a friendly staff. Of course the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flyfish66
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are disappointed we fell short of expectations, especially where courteous customer service is concerned. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we apologize if we did not display enough Aloha spirit. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to make a more favorable impression.

Seattle
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Our family of seven stayed in a three-bedroom, two-bathroom condo (one King, one Queen, two Full, and one pull-out sofa). The property is older, worn, greatly in need of a renovation, but satisfactory. Our condo had a fully stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, two porches. No air conditioning, just hard-working ceiling fans! Noise from the hallways, elevators, and stairwells spilled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JetCityMama
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Travel 4ooo miles... to this... huge beetles all over, stained pull out mattress no AC and a ceiling fan in the family room that didn't work and some very Uncaring and unprofessional management. The list could go on and on!!!! If this is what excites you about your travels.........you'll just love it! Wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy! Only...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Soleil M, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to learn of your experience and extend our sincere apologies. It is disappointing to read your comments about the housekeeping and mechanical challenges that fall well below our standards, and we are sorry if you perceived our management staff to be anything less than completely professional. Thank you once again for sharing your...

1,019 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (90)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (552)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (81)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (122)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.4 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,930 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
437 reviews
0.2 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: RM960 - RM1,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina, HI
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sands of Kahana staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Sands of Kahana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else!”
SusanB628, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“I believe we were on level 3, room was facing the water but had trees all in front. did not ruin the view, made it more tropical.”
hollyq488, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the stairs if you like to sleep into the late morning...”
kellisfamily, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check out the happy hour at the pool side restaurant....$5 sliders and $3 draft beers. Yummy!”
flyfish66, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view; upper floor”
dpcoffelt, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$179* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$189
Vacatia.comUS$189
HotelsClickUS$348
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates