We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Lahaina Resort

Show Prices
#17 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Lahaina Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,835 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,576: English reviews
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First trip to Maui.This beautiful location was let down by the badly in need of renovation of our bungalow.The hotel on the whole was not to bad a few areas needed attention but these bungalow are in desperate need of a major renovation and I mean everything from doors and windows,air con,bathroom and dressing area. Fair to say on leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank benny h
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Sorry that your cottage room did not meet your expectations. Our cottage rooms are rated by most of our travel partners as a 3-star or moderate level of accommodation, as compared to our Tower rooms which have been fully renovated, are very modern, and are generally rated as a 4-star...

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Royal Lahaina was one of 2 resorts we stayed at on the island of Maui. We were there for our honeymoon at the end of April 2013. The resort itself is very nice and the rooms are modern and very comfortable and clean, but also quite small. Our ocean view room on the 5th floor had an obstructed view...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica G
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your stay and for selecting the Royal Lahaina for your Honeymoon. Glad to read that you enjoyed your guestroom, our complimentary evening entertainment and the fabulous stretch of Kaanapali Beach that fronts our resort. Sorry that you were not pleased with the ala carte options. At the Royal Lahaina we offer guests the...

Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed here for 8 days with my mother. It was our graduation present that we having been saving for for three years. This resort was a great place to stay. Everyone there truly has that "aloha spirit". They are kind, happy, and willing to help you. The food was very good in the locations that they had. I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pbischof
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. So glad that you and your mother loved your stay and that we were able to show you lots of Aloha and offer you a great vacation value for your hard earned savings and graduation present. We are actually in the process of opening a gym here at the resort, which will be available...

Sedro-Woolley, Washington, United States
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Resort was very beautiful. Right on the beach. We stayed on the 9th floor with a view from our balconey of the pool below and the Ocean & sandy beach just feet away! The sunset was breath taking. Right in front of us from the balconey. We had a room with 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, mini kitchenette....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula H
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Arne & Paula! Thank you for the kind review. Glad to read that you found so many aspects of the resort pleasing. Sorry about the ants, I will be sure to share your review with our pest control company. Thanks again, we hope we can welcome you back very soon. Mahalo.

Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Exceeded our expectaions considering the price compared to neighboring hotels (Royal Lahaina was more affordable). This was our first trip to Maui and I wanted a little seclusion from the main 'strip' of hotels (south of the Black Rock) with a less crowded beach. The beach was not crowded, large, and just as beautiful as all the others. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer G
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for the positive feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed the smaller, more intimate atmosphere of the Royal Lahaina Resort. Although you may not be familiar with the other resorts in the area, the points you touched on in your review are the key differences. We hope we can welcome you back on a future visit to...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort from May 1 2013 - May 6 2013. We stayed on the 5th floor. First let me say, the grounds are beautiful, but the hotel needs some work. We had an oceanfront room which cost about $400/night. The view was wonderful. The room needed some TLC. A little paint chipping from the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LVW95678
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. We will have our Maintenance & Housekeeping Teams inspect the room you stayed in on the 5th floor to address the paint and shower issues mentioned. We do provide entertainment in our Terrace Lounge each evening from 6pm to 9pm, with a solo musician performing along with a Hula dancer....

Lancaster, California
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Great views from the expensive ocean front room and a beautiful beach. But that is why I gave it 2 out of five. The people in the next room smoked in this non-smoking hotel. I had to call 4 times to get staff to come and work the problem. We struggled 3 days with them smoking. I received a call...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank P M
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha. Very sorry about the frustration and displeasure that resulted from the smoking incidents during your visit. I will contact you directly to discuss this situation. Our logs indicate that Security Officers responded to two calls regarding smoking in the neighboring room. It appears there was some confusion after the first violation, due to language barriers, whereas the guests did...

Malibu, California
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our hat goes off to Mr. Tom Bell and his entire staff for providing a truly wonderful experience for our first trip to Hawaii. As native New Yorkers who recently moved to SoCal, we waited until our girls were old enough to take them on this trip. We wanted them to be able to really appreciate the beauty and rich...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobazyl
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Wow.... Helping our guests to create life-long memories is one of the top goals for all of our Management and Staff. So happy to read that you were pleased with so many aspects of your visit and the resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year and for many years to come! Mahalo.

Ohio, United States
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The staff was very friendly. It was right on a white sand beach which was great for watching the sunset. The room and hotel was very clean. The mattress was super comfortable. I only have two complaint about this hotel. First it was pricey, for the room and the food. The second was we were suppose to have a particle...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sara E
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you very much for the positive review of your recent stay. Happy to read that you were pleased with the service you received and the hotel. When researching Maui potential guests will find that the Royal Lahaina offers one of the most affordable and best value options available in the Kaanapali Beach Resort area. Our Partial Ocean View...

Chico,CA
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Has good snorkeling off beach. Valet parking best, only $5 more(otherwise $10) otherwise parking a a bit away. Front desk not real knowledgeable on hotel,thank goodness they have a hospitality office. We went with the Standard room(not rate saver) ask to stay on 4th floor,rather that 3rd...it overlooks the roof with all the TV dishes:/ Food & drinks at hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70Cricket
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Mahalo for the feedback on your recent stay. Sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and the resort. As noted, our in-room internet connectivity charge is $10 per day. Wi-fi access in our lobby is complimentary for guests and we also have two computer stations with internet service available for complimentary guest use in our Guest Relations Office. We...

3,120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2917)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (320)
Viewed
Room/Suite (571)
Viewed
View from Room (403)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (554)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (87)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (885)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (9)
Viewed
One Bedroom Molokai Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
3,826 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,441 reviews
1.4 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
2.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Ocean Terrace in Royal Lahaina Resort
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Fusion, Hawaiian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Price Range: RM943 - RM2,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui, HI
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and other travellers.
159 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (159)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Lahaina Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a tower room, unless a vintage "cottage" is really what you're looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles LeahT364, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room above the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles bl634, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you were to pick the cottages, i would request to have ocean front , but there isalittle more noise there”
 of 5 bubbles mabelfoaa, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay out of the cottages, although another couple on second floor liked it.”
 of 5 bubbles 716JohnC, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 383emmahs, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5