We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (19)
Videos (1)

About

#1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Wailuku
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Howzit Hostels is centrally located in Maui and is the perfect place to explore our tropical paradise for a reasonable price! Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Hair dryer
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
630Reviews8Q+A92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 191
  • 45
  • 22
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dawna N wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Clean, comfortable and super quiet. The toilet paper was the big surprise, better than 5* hotels! The chocolate chip pancakes were delicious, coffee recipe was weak for us older people. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Totally recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zac Craner, General Manager at Howzit Hostels
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Howzit Hostels! We aim to give all of guests the best experience possible! From our newly upgraded room, beds, FREE daily activities, all the way down to our toilet paper :) Please come back and visit next time you are on Maui! Until next time. Mahalo, Zac General Manager Howzit Hostels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John D wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
Incredible vibes in this hostel. Zack, Steven, daisy, and all the other staff were super nice and amenities are top notch. Free pancakes, coffee, showers, towels , activities during the week. Cliff jumping , sea turtle diving. Trivia was fun. - J DOG
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Aloha, and thank you so much for your awesome review! We are thrilled that you loved the amenities and activities offered and that you had such a great experience here at Northshore and with our awesome staff. Come back and see us again! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
I had a really good time at Howzit. I stayed from January 8th to 13th 2023 and I feel like I could’ve stayed longer. The staff people were super friendly and the people I met at the hostel were so approachable too, such a nice vibe. The common area is perfect to spend the evening getting to know your roommates. The activities proposed exceeded my expectations, and it’s always possible to follow with a rental car if you didn’t make it into the van. Such a fun stay, thanks for everything xxx
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zac Craner, General Manager at Howzit Hostels
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha! Thank you for providing us with such a great review! We're stoked to hear that you had such a great time staying with us. We do our best to provide the best possible guest experience. You are welcome back anytime! Mahalo, Zac General Manager Howzit Hostels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichilaM wrote a review Dec 2022
Calgary, Canada34 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We arrived late after a 7 hour flight, we couldn’t find a place to park. We called and were told they only have 5 secure parking spots and to park on the street. The only spot I found was beside a homeless encampment and a girl was going to take a dump behind the bush near our car. I parked two blocks away in a public parking lot. The entrance is not on the street but between two buildings. We rang twice with no answer, called again and were let in to climb 22 stairs to reception (no good for disabled or heavy luggage). After checking our ID 3 times it was discovered they checked someone else into our room. The hostel was full, they offered us a twin bunk bed room in the basement with no access to a bathroom other then in the other main entrance up the stairs. They evicted the people from our room and it took over an hour to get them out and get the sheets changed. It was after 1am (4am our time) to get into our room. They only give you a thin sheet to sleep and I was very cold. We were awoken at 6am by noise in the common area so we got up and left. True, we’ve been given a refund but I later found out I could have called Expedia and they would have helped us relocate. If you don’t have a car, have no disabilities, like waiting for a bathroom, and are ok getting any kind of sleeping accommodations I’m sure you would love this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zac Craner, General Manager at Howzit Hostels
Responded 10 Dec 2022
Aloha Michila, Your experience at our hostel is not a common occurrence. I explained in the last review you left us that it was nothing more than human error and we did everything in our power to correct the mistake. You were refunded for the inconvenience you experienced, we profusely apologized for the mix up, and everyone ended up in the correct rooms. Since we have rebranded to Howzit Hostels we have come a long way in improving the guest experience and we are very proud of what we have done to improve the hostel and the amenities we offer our guests. Not only have we made countless upgrades to the living spaces, but we offer free breakfast everyday, we also offer 8+ tours FREE of charge! Including Road to Hana tours, Snorkeling, Beach days, Hikes through the jungle, etc.. In addition to that our hostel harbors an environment that allows for our guests to grow and experience other cultures, we put a lot of focus into the guest experience and we see everyday how much this impacts our guests in a positive way. I genuinely wish that you could have experienced how amazing it can be to stay here at Howzit Hostels for more than one night. Again, I do sincerely hope that the remainder of your trip out to Maui was a great experience for you. Mahalo, Zac General Manager Howzit Hostels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
canucktraveller103 wrote a review Nov 2022
Vancouver, British Columbia1 contribution
This hostel is truly a special place. I've gained so many amazing memories and new friends. Their daily FREE excursions are so much fun and are a bonus on top of being a top shelf hostel. The staff are all the nicest and accommodating people u will meet. From the delicious chocolate chip pancakes every morning to the numerous activities, u will not regret booking here. I can't wait to go back one day. Definitely my fav hostel so far! Big shoutout to Will, Emma, and Yemin!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book the daily excursions as early as possible. They fill up super fast and are a ton of fun.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zac Craner, General Manager at Howzit Hostels
Responded 2 Dec 2022
Aloha! We would like to thank you for leaving such an awesome review! We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests. You are more then welcome to come back anytime! We hope to see you again. Your friends at Howzit Hostels, Zac General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DiederickP wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
We only stayed here for one night. But lovely hostel with friendly and helpful staff! Our room was very clean and WiFi of course. They offer several activities if you would stay longer. And they serve chocolate pancakes in the morning, with no extra charge. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zac Craner, General Manager at Howzit Hostels
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Aloha Diederick, We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are fortunate to have a lovely staff and are very happy they made your stay a positive experience! Free chocolate chip pancakes and towels will be waiting for you the next time you visit Maui! Mahalo, Sierra Guest Experience Supervisor Howzit Hostels
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ilya Feldman wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My friends and I are scheduled to check out on May 2nd and we are said to say that we've had to endure a terrible hostel experience during our stay. Between the maddening noise of cockadoodledooing roosters which start crowing incessantly through the windows just after 4:00 AM, complete lack of dorm space, fake pillows and greedy management, which charged us more for a tiny room in a terrible location that's a great distance away from Maui's main attractions, than what we paid for an entire two-room suite in downtown Waikiki, you may not find a lot to like about this place. Did I mention that Wi-Fi only works near the reception area, never inside the dorms, and there is no hot water coming from the shower heads whenever solar pannels fail to draw enough energy from the sun?!? Consider yourselves warned and think twice before booking a reservation at this location. Based on the awful personal experience my friends and I have suffered during our stay at Northshore Hostel, I fully intend to seek a substantial portion of the original booking charges to be refunded back to my credit card.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Hello Ilya, we are very sorry that our hostel did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback. The Northshore Hostel is currently under new ownership and we are working diligently to make improvements where possible. We are quite proud of the amazing job our staff is doing to provide an incredible experience for our guests. We do hope you will return one day to view all of the positive changes we are making on a daily basis. Mahalo and Aloha - Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed 3 nights at the Northshore Hostel in Wailuku, Maui. It was by far the cheapest accommodation on the island, and we were very happy with our stay. We ended up booking 3 separate stays and stayed in 3 separate locations, so we got to try the private room, 4-bed dorm, and 8-bed dorm. The dorms can get a little stuffy, but there are both AC and ceiling fans. I brought ear plugs and slept very well. The showers were clean and some shower gel and shampoo was available. The showers were not as warm our second and 3rd night, but it is warmer on Maui than on the other islands, so it didn't bother me too much. I believe it is important to note that this hostel provides free chocolate chip pancakes every morning and different activities every day (Trivia night, snorkeling excursion, road to Hana...). I did not feel like it was advertised enough, and it is truly awesome that they provide guests with opportunities to explore the island, even those who don't have a car to get around. Some reviews mentioned the hostel being located in an unsafe neighborhood, and I disagree. I wouldn't wander around alone at night, but the hostel is very safe and requires a code for entry. We parked our rental car on the more well-lit streets and had no issues. The neighborhood is very artsy and full of gorgeous murals. The hostel even provides a map of the murals in the common area. It is close to the airport and Iao Valley State Park. We met lots of wonderful and very friendly people (both staff and guests) and will keep very fond memories of our time at the North Shore hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Aloha, and thank you kindly for your thorough review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here and that the hostel exceeded your expectations! The chocolate chip pancakes and excursions are certainly a favorite of ours as well, and we love that you were able to take advantage of them! We are also so happy to hear you found the art and charm of Wailuku appealing and welcoming. We would love to see you again and have you stay with us, should you make your way back to Maui in the future. Thanks again for sharing your time with us! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucia R wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Walked in the hostel to stay for one night. Due to credit card issues I couldn‘t book online. It costed me 70$ which I find super expensive for a bed in a dorm. Nobody could explain lower prices online??? The room smelled pretty bad and didn‘t have lockers or something to put your stuff. Wouldn‘t go again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Aloha, and thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We do offer a 5% discount for booking through our website, and although traveling to Maui can be expensive, we aim to keep prices reasonable and affordable for our guests and are the cheapest accommodation on Maui. We are always committed to learning and improving, and have an amazing housekeeping staff that deep cleans all areas on a daily basis. As for the lockers, we understand the need to store your belongings securely and have a safe, as well as a large luggage closet that stays locked which guests are welcome to use. We hope you’ll find the improvements we are making to be a positive change in a future visit if you’re ever back on Maui! Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F. J. M. D. wrote a review Sep 2021
21 contributions8 helpful votes
The location is creepy. Then some scary door and an “escaped from hell looking one” welcomes. Next floor there are not sanitary measures, it is clean, illuminated . But it is so tiny that it feels like too many people in such a reduced place? Not comfortable, not healthy. And people seemed like so. Sorry. It is not worth the price, I would prefer to sleep in the sand.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kara Knickerbocker, Guest Services / Front Office at Howzit Hostels
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Aloha, and we appreciate your feedback. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here and that you had safety concerns. Please do be assured that the security of our guests is our utmost priority, which is why we have 24 hour reception, monitoring security cameras, state of the art smart locks on our doors, motion activated lights, and more. We are unsure of the room/space you are mentioning that is small, but please rest assured that we are up to date with all fire code regulations for guest capacity. We hope that you will consider returning in the future to see all the improvements we are continuing to make to the hostel. Mahalo, Kara Northshore Hostel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northshore maui hotel wailuku
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiWailuku
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOWZIT HOSTELS: UPDATED 2023 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 165 Photos (Wailuku, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Howzit Hostels
Which popular attractions are close to Howzit Hostels?
Nearby attractions include Iao Valley State Monument (0.3 km), Mystery Maui Escape Room (0.08 km), and The Historic IAO Theater (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Howzit Hostels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Howzit Hostels?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Howzit Hostels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Howzit Hostels?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Howzit Hostels?
Conveniently located restaurants include 808 on Main, Lorraine's Shave Ice, and Wailuku Coffee Company.
Are any cleaning services offered at Howzit Hostels?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Howzit Hostels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Howzit Hostels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ka'ahumanu Congregational Church (0.4 km), Haleki‘i-Pihana State Monument (2.6 km), and Chee Kung Tong Society Building (0.1 km).
Does Howzit Hostels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.