We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This review comes from many travels and many stays in B&B's all over the world including two weeks in the Hawaiian islands in several other B&Bs during this trip. My husband and I visited in mid April. The sunrise studio was awful. Agree with prior reviewer, the picture on her web site you see is misleading, this is not your... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 22124kat
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2015

My husband and I visited this Hideaway on a business/pleasure getaway, We just picked it from a list and were so surprised by the quality of care and the attention to details we found there. It was peaceful, the wind blowing the bamboo, birds right outside our door(and not chickens!! we're from Kauai!) Our hostess was charming and spent time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Helen, I'm thrilled that you and your husband chose my place to spend your time on Oahu. It's wonderful to hear how restful and peaceful it was in your room, and that you appreciated all the little amenities. It was a joy to meet you and I hope that your paths will cross again. Thank you for representing the 100s... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We spent 17 days in the Peacock Suite in July and loved it. This was our second visit and there have been some upgrades to the suite since our first visit about 9 years ago. The suite is quite private and there is a wonderful pivate hot tub and patio (actually the carport roof) just outside the door. Both the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug21212
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that your stay at the Hideaway was both comfortable and charming -- that's all I can ask for! I really appreciate the detailed review You are representing the 100's of happy guests that never write a review. -- mahalo! I hope you'll make it back to the Peacock Suite soon! Aloha, Janice, Owner More 

Phoenix,Az
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We are here now. I am loving every minute of this charming little place. If you came to enjoy the wonder and beauty of a home near the beach in the tropical islands of Hawaii, this place is for you Janice, the owner takes very good care of us. This B'n'B is peaceful and sublime - a respite from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BT88
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha to our Happy guests. Thank you for representing the hundreds of visitors that stay with us and never write a review other than in the guest book which is in their room. I'm so happy you felt at home during your stay, and I can't tell you how much I appreciate the thoughtful and detailed review here. Mahalo! From... More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I arrived in the evening and was greeted by no one. In fact, I saw not one person the two days I was there. I had to haul my suitcases up the driveway, through a stepping-stone gravel path then up 2 small flights of stairs. I am 66 years old. When I opened the door, the room reeked of mold.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara A. T
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha Barbara, I am sorry that we did not meet while you were here for your short visit. I realize that our schedules were not compatible. In the two notes that I left you asking if there was anything that I could do for you, I never heard from you. Our driveway is flat, so there is not hauling anything... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2015

My husband and i booked the Peacock Suite for a week. My sister and her husband stayed in the studio. Speaking for all of us, Janice's beautiful appointed and maintained B&B couldn't have been better. We arrived to warm chocolate chip cookies in our room. A well-stocked refrigerator; a basket overflowing with delectable fruit; and a large platter of pastries,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandieg0trekker
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

I am thrilled that you all appreciated every detail of your stay at the Hideaway! We work very hard to ensure that our guests have everything that they need. I especially appreciate the compliments about the beauty of the property. It's so wonderful to hear how much you all enjoyed staying here, lounging on the lanai, and walking the beach.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

We found this BED and BREAKFAST from Homeaway Website, but was utterly disappointed! Firstly, the rooms are not accurate as the picture shows on the website. Where you are is below / side way from the breathtaking view balcony where the owner stays. They are a lot smaller than you would expect. Secondly, Breakfast were ONCE supply only and don't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pharoahoftravellers
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha and we appreciate your comments, but wished that you had spoken of your concerns while you were here. Let me address the issues that you have mentioned. Pictures of the units are accurate. There are no pictures of the view from my residence on the site. We are very careful of that not to mislead anyone. We clearly state... More 

Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stayed here because our daughter lived near by, but the studio she rents was too small to accommodate everyone for her graduation. We found this bed and breakfast and it was perfect! We had a nice private location for quality time together, yet close to our family member. And it had great parking places for guests as well, located... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Aloha Kathy, We are glad that everything worked out just right for you. You reflect the sentiments of the hundreds of guest who stay here and never write a review. The comments in our guest books do not get published, so no one sees those. I so appreciate you taking the time to represent them and that your stay here... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

I booked the B&B because of the location and good reviews. We stayed 4 nights in the Studio in june this year and there some good points about this place: the owner was helpful to meet our requests. the location was great 5 min walk to Lanikai beach - Voted one of the best in the world. ( but you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fayliu
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feed back. I am sorry that you did not discuss these issues with us while you were here. I did explain prior to your arrival that the only unit that was available was the unit with the king bed and you stated that it was not problem for your daughter to sleep on the... More 

Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2015

First stop of a three week trek through the islands, this was the best choice to relax, shake off the nerves of travel, and recharge. Lanikai and Kailua beaches are a short walk and are welcoming, beautiful, and among our favorites on Oahu. Janice was the perfect hostess with local knowledge and accommodation. Everything we needed was at our fingertips.

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
Janice N, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review

I am glad our little haven could provide the perfect hideaway you needed after your flight, Rob. We love being so close to the beautiful beaches of Oahu, and I'm happy they're some of your favorites. Providing everything my guests need is my pleasure, and I hope to be able to host you all again soon! Warmest Aloha, Janice, Owner More 

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the left side unit with bamboo trees all around us, it was private and restful.”
 of 5 bubbles helent811, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Get the Peacock Suite”
 of 5 bubbles Ladybug21212, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Only three rooms, but you can ask to have all three linked together for large group”
 of 5 bubbles BT88, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Please avoid this place.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraat, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We have stayed in two of her rooms, both were great, one with a jacuzzi on lanai.”
 of 5 bubbles KathyJ66, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5