We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelsea Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 508: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night. Good location-we were able to walk to peir 39 but it was strenuous. We ubered back for $5. Room, shower & bed was all ok. I would stay here again. The only negative is you can hear the trucks outside when the air conditioner isn't on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Inn is located at a great area. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We loved our stay expect for two things. First, the place can get extremely noisy at night which can be very disturbing at times. Second, the front desk needs to work more on being polite. We had an issue with an employee who refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky K
Innisfil, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed here 2 nights prior to a cruise and it's close to the marina area and several good restaurants. The room with 2 double beds was ample with lots of floor space to move around and pile luggage. The only issue was the drapes did not fully cover the windows which made for a noisy and overly bright room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTrekker
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This was an Awesome Inn. The location was great for walking to numerous places to eat. The room was clean and comfortable. Price was good and they gave free parking. Slightly older inn but I liked the feel of the older place in a city with history Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
manager600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent comment. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and appreciate sharing the location of our Inn. We are in the middle of a full decor change of our rooms and look forward to seeing you after our renovation. Best regards,

Reviewed 26 October 2016

Chelsea Inn was a very nice hotel. It was right across the street from the Hop-on-Hop-off bus. It was in a good location. The room was very clean. The staff at the desk was nice and very helpful. We would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine S
Utah
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Read all the reviews. I did and so I knew what I was getting. It is an average hotel at best. No frills, a place to lay your head that isn't dangerous or necessarily dirty. Free parking was great for the rental car we had for the outside the city sites. Uber wait was never more than 5 minutes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bored72
manager600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear bored72, I am impressed with your extensive and detailed writing of your stay at our Inn. You gave a thorough description off all the aspects of the plus and minus and appreciate for commenting on those issues you mentioned in your review. We are aware of the street noise problems and as you have read in previous reviews it...

Abernethy
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, stayed with a friend in a double room, 2 x double beds. Clean rooms, comfy beds. We had a bay window room at the front. It's a little noisy, bar closes pretty early and that's fine, but traffic and street cleaners etc start very early. We had a car, they offer free parking, so didn't need public transport,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desarae
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This property has a good location with many good restaurants just one block away on Chestnut St. Unfortunately for me the bed was not comfortable, just too firm. Our unit was facing Lombard St so traffic noise was fairly loud until the later hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S E
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my family in room 311 two double beds. Clean and comfortable accommodation. We can also see the Golden Gate Bridge from our room. Free wifi and free parking in SFO! The bathroom was spacious too and had enough towels. The only complaint was that one of the power outlets would stop charging our phones in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We didn't spend much time in the hotel - it was a fair walk from the main attractions in San Fransisco (30 minutes to Fishermans Wharf) but we knew that on booking. Hotel itself was perfectly adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephanie I

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Double Full Room (28)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (28)
Viewed
King Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
958 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
943 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
455 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marina District

Neighbourhood Profile
Marina District
Beautiful homes, beautiful people, and a beautiful backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge welcome visitors to the Marina. Originally the location for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition in 1915 (whose remnants can be seen at the Palace of Fine Arts), much of the land was filled and flattened to accommodate a world’s fair. That ample space has given way to a jogger’s paradise at the northern edge of the city. With the picturesque bay setting as its backdrop, it’s no surprise that the area has hosted numerous movie productions. Daytime activities focus on café culture and boutique shopping, while the evenings turn this neighbourhood into a party-going hotspot.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Price Range: RM605 - RM935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Innisfil, Canada
over a year ago
Bend, Oregon
over a year ago
Greenwood, Indiana
9 months ago
billingham

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double rooms are on the street side, if you are able to get a room on the inside.”
 of 5 bubbles bored72, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor not looking over Lombard”
 of 5 bubbles lisabC3283QV, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget your ear plugs!”
 of 5 bubbles susanlG1532AC, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want quiet, ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles dogwood62, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on back of building away from Lombard Street. So noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill255343, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay